We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lough Erne Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kesh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lough Erne Hotel
Save
You added The Lough Erne Hotel to your Saves list
Main Street, Kesh BT93 1TF, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kesh
Portadown, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Had a fantastic stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was absolutely delicious as always. The room was very nice, comfortable and clean. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle1972, Manager at The Lough Erne Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi Kittymcg,

It was lovely to see you again and thank you for another great review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    39
    23
    28
    36
See reviews for
22
89
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Killarney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

I am a bit amazed at some of the reviews. We found the staff very friendly and efficient. I could not call the place dirty. One reviewer called the bar a basement- while it is downstairs this is because it faces on to the river. We only had b&b so I can't account for the restaurant/food. The breakfast was fine: smaller portions than some hotels but on day three of a trip I was happy with this. The breakfast was very well prepared. The supply of cereals was basic and the toaster was a bit erratic but nothing to get upset about. Our rooms were in the nearby studio apartments which meant walking down the street, this did not bother us but could annoy some. The rooms were clean if a bit tired. Bed was very comfortable. Ensuite a bit unloved but clean.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle1972, Manager at The Lough Erne Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear KillarneyWalker,

Thank you for your positive review. We really do appreciate it. We hope that you will join us again soon and maybe try out our Bridgewater Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenavy, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

would not recommend this hotel to anyone,bought the deal via groupon,very disappointed with the room we were given, very small and not very clean.Will never be back in this hotel again,very rundown wouldnt even call it a hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle1972, Manager at The Lough Erne Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Julie,

We apologise that you felt that you had such a terrible experience. However, I must ask did you take your complaints to the staff so that we could rectify the situation?

Also you have not mentioned anything about the staff or the food so we can assume that you found the staff pleasant and the food lovely. If this is the case all you had to do was bring your concerns to the receptionist and we would have done everything possible to ensure that you were happy and that your stay was as pleasant as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county down
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Had the misfortune of staying at this place recently. The hotel was advertised through Groupon. When we phoned the hotel to check on dates the receptionist said that she would take our booking over the phone thus cutting out Groupon. We opted for a two night stay on a bed and breakfast basis which a steak meal on one night. On arrival we were shown to our room. It was nothing like the photograph used to advertise the hotel. It was very small, the shower disn't work properly and the skylight was black with mildue. We chose to eat in the hotel on both nights paying for the first night and having the included steak meal on the second. The food was terrible. Tasted like the cooking oil had not been changed for some time. We were really not looking forward to the meal on the second night but thought what the heck. The steak came with onion rings which were again cooked in the same oil. The steak was very dry and tasteless. I asked the server for some gravy and she went to the kitchen. She returned a short time later and obviously embarrassed saif that gravy would incur an extra charge! Breakfast again was awful, appears that even the eggs were microwaved. Overall terrible experience. Advise paying a little bit more and staying elsewhere. Nightmare!

Room Tip: Heavy traffic outside hotel meaning lots of road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle1972, Manager at The Lough Erne Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Kilnew,

Thank you for your review. However there is a couple of statements that you made that we would like to address. If you're shower did not work correctly did you bring this to the attention if the staff so that we could try and fix the shower or give you a different room more suitable to your requirements.

The cooking oil is changed on a regular basis, especially during the peak season. You also mentioned that the steak was dry and tasteless. Many people have complimented us on our steaks and how delicious and well cooked they are. If you were not satisfied with your steak you simply had to express this to the waitress and we would have rectified it. We strive to ensure that everybody what we serve are happy and well looked after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My mum and I bought the Groupon dral for 2 nights with dinner, bottle of wine and complimentary chocolates. Managed to stay both nights but will never be back. Very old rundown hotel. Very noisy from main road outside. Car park at rear which you have to walk down an alleyway passed the bins to get to the front door. 1 member of staff who seems to be responsible for everything. No chocolates, they'd run out. Food was awful. Overcooked and reheated. The steak was like rubber and when I asked for a salad instead of potatoes or chips I was informed they don't do salad. She reheated some vegetables from previous lunchtime! And to top off the horrendous dinner the complimentary wine was a mini bottle of red! A glassful! Wouldn't recommend to anyone. If it seems to good to be true it definitely is!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle1972, Manager at The Lough Erne Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Pickgurl,

Thank you for your review. There is a couple of statements that you made that we would like to address.

We also have a car park to the front of the hotel that is available to residents so you do not have to park at the back of the hotel.

The noise of the road is not something we can control. To expect us to is a little unfair.

We also have more than one member of staff. There are several behind the scenes staff such as chefs, kitchen porters and house keepers. You may not see them but the one member of staff that you do see is not responsible for their departments. There is also barmen that come in and stay until late.

If you had an issue with the food did you bring this up with the waitress? We would have tried to rectify the situation and ensure that you were happy. You're complimentary wine would have been two bottles not just the one quarter bottle. If you were unhappy with this as well, you should have let us know so that we could try and fix the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Bought deal via group on, very disappointed in room we were given. Very basic facilities. Box of chocolates on arrival was a box of maltesers! Noise at night was horrendous, with fighting at the rear of the hotel, right under our window, once this ended, the banging and thuds from the kitchen below continued until 4am. At 3am went down to complain, however could not find anyone there, main door was locked, no key. Thank goodness there wasn't a fire! Room 11, no bedside lights, bathroom freezing, very noisy. Unable to use shower as only a trickle of water came out, no water pressure at all. No hairdryer in room. Left after one night, although had paid for two. Car park accessed by very dark alley, have to pass bins to get to front of hotel, ground uneven and as there is no lighting this is dangerous in the dark. Two words of advice, stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go to a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle1972, Manager at The Lough Erne Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi 120Bill,

Thank you for your review. However there is a couple of statements that you have mentioned that we wish to address.

You mentioned fighting at the rear of the hotel. While we understand this was upsetting and noisy it was not a situation that was created by the hotel. The fighting was between two members of the public and once our bar staff became aware of what was going on they got the situation under control and everyone quietened down. We can only apologise for this, which we did several times the following morning at breakfast once the morning staff was made aware of what had happened.

The banging underneath your room was the night porter doing some work in the kitchen. We were unaware that he would make so much noise and when you told the receptionist the following morning she apologised several times and promised that it would not happen again.

You did bring the lack of a hair dryer and the shower to the attention of the receptionist and we appreciate this She promised to try her best to get it fixed for you. However, you stated that you would not be staying the second night. This did not give us the opportunity to rectify everything and ensure that your happiness.

There is also a car park at the front of the hotel so parking at the back is not always necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Donegal, Ireland
2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Spent two nights in the Lough Erne hotel with a friend. The lady at the front desk on arrival was polite. At first glance the hotel was very dated however it was clean. On the first night we had to leave our key at the desk if we wished to venture out, which we did and we were told the night porter would be there to let us in when we came back. We arrived back and there was no nightporter on duty and a note on the door to say who to contact in the case of an emergency. So we rang and rang and it keep going to the voice mail. Only for a local taxi driver had the number of the barman,to come let us in.. 2+ hours we spent out in the freezing cold trying to get in to the Lough Erne. God forbid what would the residents do if there was a fire and locked inside?? Next morning we went down for breakfast and what we thought was going to be a full Irish. Haa a sausage,slice of bacon, an egg and a hash brown all deep fried. Needless to say we didn't eat in the hotel again. Our complaint in the morning went unheard. I could go on but in closing the Lough Erne Hotel is Faulty Towers at its worst.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lough Erne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lough Erne Hotel

Address: Main Street, Kesh BT93 1TF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Boa Island > Kesh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kesh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lough Erne townhouse hotel is a little locally run 16 bedroom building with a small but key staff who deal with our guests on a daily level, providing a more personal service that certain guests love time and time again. The Hotel is situated in the heart of Fermanagh's lakeland on the banks of the Glendurragh River 1 mile from Lough Erne itself, a warm and friendly welcome awaits you on your arrival at the Lough Erne Hotel. Our Riverside lounge and Bridgewater restaurant offers an excellent choice of menu. Regular entertainment, weekend and midweek breaks throughout the year. The Lough Erne Hotel began life as a Royal Irish Constabulary barrack in 1862. It was built by the governors of the Vaughan Charity who then owned the village of Kesh. The building cost £650 and the police paid £30 per year for rent. A year after the barrack was built it was burnt down in an accidental fire. Some repairs were done immediately but further work was carried out in 1921. For example stabling for horses that was provided behind the hotel in what is now the Glendurragh Suite. One of the RIC officers stationed in Kesh, Constable McCormick, was a very famous boxer. In fact he once fought the British Heavyweight Champion, Billy Wells. Another local man, Bob Irwin, was also a famous boxer in those days, once beating the Welterweight champion of the Rhine Army. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lough Erne Hotel Kesh, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lough Erne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.