We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-fashioned but pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lough Erne Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kesh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lough Erne Hotel
Save
You added The Lough Erne Hotel to your Saves list
Main Street, Kesh BT93 1TF, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kesh
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old-fashioned but pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two days on a Groupon deal and really enjoyed our visit .
Tanya and Linda did everything to make us feel at home. After 6 months of business trips in anonymous chain hotels, Lough Erne was a breath of fresh Northern air!
A small hotel with a friendly, homely atmosphere, we will be back !
Things to do ?- 30 minutes drive to Belleek for the Pottery Tour - very good. Then lakeside drive to the Jolly Sandwich in Darling St ., Ennoskillen for coffee and cakes- delicious!
Fermanagh is a little - known
gem!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle1972, Manager at The Lough Erne Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi JoemcB_13,

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your comments and are glad you had such a lovely time. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    39
    23
    28
    36
See reviews for
22
89
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed with my partner over the 18th & 19th October, Hotel was wasn't as expected, the girl at the front desk seemed to be in a mood or it might have just been her face I don't know, we felt as if she was raging when we arrived and felt as if we were intruding and were not welcome at all, the bar men and guy serving us our dinner on the stay were brilliant and made us feel welcome I think that may be the only positives we took from the place. Our room was quite small but nice to chill out in for a few hours if your bored and the TV has a good few channels to choose from just like a digital box.

There is not much to do as dinner stops at 8pm, there is only 1 Chinese in the area and the whole place seems dead from 9pm so make sure you get down to dinner before 8pm or you will get a dirty look and told bad luck you aren't getting fed.

Don't let this review put you off going though as half our stay was ruined because of another family whom seemed to be staying the same nights as us, They looked like something out of ''The Hills Have Eyes'' and were very loud throughout the stay. They were 2 lesbian girls, a fat guy and a fat women, we thought at first the guy was their pimp as all they did was talk about sex and just stinking things like mouth fillings and stuff,They almost put us off our breakfast luckily we ate up and went before they were sat for longer than 5 minutes and oh my god I had to hold my face from cringing every time they opened their mouth and their language was just disgusting I am just glad to get out of the air down there which had that family lingering about it..

If you do go down to this hotel, visit the little sizzling steak house across the street, the girls in there are very nice and the food was excellent.

Room Tip: Bring a set of earphones when sleeping as we were woke by 2 old women next door to us each morning a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle1972, Manager at The Lough Erne Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Alan,

We would like to thank you for your review and we appreciate the nice comments made about the barmen and and your room. However, we must disagree with several of your comments.

Your comments on the receptionist being "raging or it might just have been her face" borders on insulting. We try very hard to make every visitor welcome. We show everybody up to their room and ensure that they are satisfied before we leave. If you felt unwelcome all you had to do was simply bring it to the attention of the receptionist in question or any other member of staff. We strive to make everyone feel welcome, like they are at a home away from home and any feedback, whether positive or negative is taken on board.

Also, you said that dinner stops at 8pm which yes it does during the week, but you are made aware of this at check in and we are more than happy to take bookings right up until this time. We have never told anybody "bad luck you aren't getting fed". We will try and work around everyone to ensure that everybody is happy.

Finally, your comments about another family that was staying at the same time as you, are down right appalling! We at the Lough Erne Hotel do not condone or appreciate those kind of comments. If you felt that they were too loud, or too crude all you had to do was simply ask a member of staff to speak to them. We would have quietly taken them aside and asked them to converse is a quieter fashion. To say that they "looked like something out of the Hills have Eyes" is unfair to that family and extremely upsetting to them if they have read this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a lovely time met by Tanya room was great very clean and tidy breakfast was very good and staff were very welcoming and friendly had a meal for wife and me on Tuesday .cant wait to book again lots of places to go

Room Tip: Room4 double bed two bunk beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle1972, Manager at The Lough Erne Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi ColinL,

Thank you for the nice review. It was a pleasure having you stay and we're glad you had such a lovely time. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Recently stayed at the Lough Erne in Kesh and have to say it was very pleasant stay with my partner. We booked in on a week night and although relatively quiet the service was very good and room was very nice also. We had a bar snack in the evening and we both enjoyed the food. Will try to return and make it a weekend stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle1972, Manager at The Lough Erne Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Jayne W,

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we're glad we were able to provide such good service. We hope to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

we stayed in the hotel on the 15&16th october taking advantage of one of the hotels midweek breaks on groupon. We arrived on the tuesday at lunchtime. the hotel is slightly dated but don't let that distract you. we were met by Tanya who made us most welcome. the rooms are a bit dated but clean tidy and all you needed. comfortable beds, tv, tea coffee facilities, en-suite, Down in the bar the staff were friendly and courteous. the evening meal which was in the deal "was the main course" we had steak and was excellent.if i am being honest a better wine would have really set it off.We found the bar food good on the wednesday evening.Breakfast was nice -only thing missing was fruit.It was an inexpensive stay and a pleasant break to parts of ireland i normally didnt get to see. question would i go back- answer yes. my daughter is going this weekend.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle1972, Manager at The Lough Erne Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi orchard1232013,

Thank you for such a good review. We are very glad you enjoyed yourself and that the staff made you feel welcome. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kesh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel has a totally delightful atmosphere and everything that could have made our stay a delight was done.
Food was exceptional as was the pleasant service to go with it, had a few drinks and got talking to a total gentleman behind the bar, I'll not divulge his name but he wears spectacles.. So helpful and pleasant, overall we had a brilliant time and would recommend the lough Erne hotel for a very relaxing enjoyable stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle1972, Manager at The Lough Erne Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi cueb,

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate the positive compliments and are glad the barman was able to make you feel so welcome. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a reception we got on arrival! All staff and the owner on hand to reassure and welcome us to the hotel. 18 of us for 2 nights full board. Rooms and apartments clean and tidy. Fresh towels every day. Food absolutely brilliant, from breakfast to evening meal all meals were lovely and cooked to preference. Don't let recent negative reviews put you off. This is great value for money situated on the banks of the Kesh river. Central and handy for all other attractions. Recommend to anyone. Thank you Lough Erne Hotel!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle1972, Manager at The Lough Erne Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Harry,

Thank you very much for such a fantastic review. We really appreciate it.

It was a pleasure having your party stay with us. We're happy that we provided you with such good service and are glad you had such a lovely time.

We are already looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lough Erne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lough Erne Hotel

Address: Main Street, Kesh BT93 1TF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Boa Island > Kesh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kesh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lough Erne townhouse hotel is a little locally run 16 bedroom building with a small but key staff who deal with our guests on a daily level, providing a more personal service that certain guests love time and time again. The Hotel is situated in the heart of Fermanagh's lakeland on the banks of the Glendurragh River 1 mile from Lough Erne itself, a warm and friendly welcome awaits you on your arrival at the Lough Erne Hotel. Our Riverside lounge and Bridgewater restaurant offers an excellent choice of menu. Regular entertainment, weekend and midweek breaks throughout the year. The Lough Erne Hotel began life as a Royal Irish Constabulary barrack in 1862. It was built by the governors of the Vaughan Charity who then owned the village of Kesh. The building cost £650 and the police paid £30 per year for rent. A year after the barrack was built it was burnt down in an accidental fire. Some repairs were done immediately but further work was carried out in 1921. For example stabling for horses that was provided behind the hotel in what is now the Glendurragh Suite. One of the RIC officers stationed in Kesh, Constable McCormick, was a very famous boxer. In fact he once fought the British Heavyweight Champion, Billy Wells. Another local man, Bob Irwin, was also a famous boxer in those days, once beating the Welterweight champion of the Rhine Army. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lough Erne Hotel Kesh, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lough Erne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.