We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Lough Erne Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kesh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lough Erne Hotel
Save
You added The Lough Erne Hotel to your Saves list
Main Street, Kesh BT93 1TF, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kesh
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Needs a visit from the hotel inspector! Grubby from front to back. Decor is at least 20 years old and needs full overhaul. Food was basic however the surroundings ruined it, ripped chairs, broken light fittings disgusting carpets. Groupon deal - 2 nights B & B plus 1 evening meal with wine and chocs. Chocs were mini pack of celebrations, wine was cheap 7.5vol undrinkable and warm, steak was ok but dirty surroundings put you off eating it. Not doing themselves any favours...attracting visitors through false advertising on web site. Had to be offered 3 separate rooms before we found one that we would consider staying in. Such a shame...great location and great pub "the Mayfly" up the street serving fabulous food! Should get together and bring more people to Kesh!

Room Tip: Room 5 was the best on offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    39
    23
    28
    36
See reviews for
22
89
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Oh dear! Groupon deal. Cheap but certainly not interested in a return trip! On arrival Owner was having a row on the phone about Groupon while poor girl at Reception tried to book us in. Room carpet was badly stained, decor cheap but bed and linen ok. Only saw 2 girls who seemed to be there 24 hrs and did everything - reception/ dinner/breakfast and jump between roles. Had fun trying to find our own place settings, sauces, condiments etc. Cut my lip on glass of orange juice. Wine with the Groupon steak dinner was like diluted Ribena. Apple pie was frozen in middle. However steaks were good. The 2 girls were lovely but overworked. Hotel needs a lot of attention to decor and would need to employ more staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALLYCLARE
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed in July, returned in August...small country hotel by the river, pleasant staff, food plentiful and tasty. Good place for visiting around Lough Erne. Rooms vary in size and are very comfortable...room 5 is modern and very nice...room 7 has a four poster and bath etc. A very relaxing quiet hotel in a lovely village by the river...will go back again for sure.

Room Tip: rooms vary in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londonderry northern ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

After booking this hotel through groupon as a wee surprise for my partner, I decided to check out the reviews about it online "the day before my partner and i headed down to it "( wrong way about,I know ) ,and after reading the reports that some people had put up about it, I have to say that I thought I had booked " THE HOTEL FROM HELL"... Dirty rooms, Terrible food, unpleasant staff, the list went on & on. We left LONDONDERRY/DERRY, lol Hugh, on Wednesday 7th August and started our journey to Kesh. From I left home till I arrived there, I was dreading what lay ahead of us for the next two nights. I''ll cut the long story short from here on in. On arrival, we were met at the front desk by Tanya. They say first impressions last and I knew within two minutes we were dealing with a very pleasant and professional lady. She took our details and showed us up to our room. On entering our bedroom I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The room was bright, fresh and Clean. Our food, the steak dinners and the two mornings breakfasts were cooked to our liking,. "THE OUTCOME OF OUR STAY IN THE "LOUGH ERNE HOTEL, KESH".... we really had a great time, the staff , the food , the surroundings and the hotel itself ,I have to say was a pleasure and I would NOT hesitate to go back again (which we shall be doing). A big Thank you to all the staff of this hotel especially Tanya, Hugh, Linda & Julie, we had a great couple of nights and will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 2 and had no issue with it at all, nice room looking on to main street and over the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

went there for breakfast, it was okay nothing fancy. but the taste was breathtaking espeically how it was cooked. it may not look good on a plate but it is brilliant on the taste buds.

the toilets smell of bleach and cleaner, this was good, would eat again

Room Tip: didnt sleep there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Two nights in Kesh...only one meal at The Lough Erne Hotel. Worst meal we had in our eight nights spent exploring in Ireland +Northern Ireland. In relation to size, quality of food and presentation as well as value for the cost of our meals...it failed in all areas.It may be a great place to stay,however on our experience,there are better eating options available in Kesh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

As mentioned on lots of these reviews, this hotel is awful. I wish we done our research before booking this hotel.

Cleanliness is the worst I have ever seen in a hotel. We had a young baby with us and had to check out a day early as we couldn't keep our child there.

Food was average. Although, we asked for two medium cooked steaks and got two burnt steaks. Also heard other tables complain about their food.

Decided to cut our losses and head home to our clean house and comfortable bed rather than stick the hotel for another night.

one positive that i must say is that the staff that we met were all very pleasant (we didnt meet the owner).

Just one piece if advice to avoid disappointment, don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lough Erne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lough Erne Hotel

Address: Main Street, Kesh BT93 1TF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Boa Island > Kesh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kesh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lough Erne townhouse hotel is a little locally run 16 bedroom building with a small but key staff who deal with our guests on a daily level, providing a more personal service that certain guests love time and time again. The Hotel is situated in the heart of Fermanagh's lakeland on the banks of the Glendurragh River 1 mile from Lough Erne itself, a warm and friendly welcome awaits you on your arrival at the Lough Erne Hotel. Our Riverside lounge and Bridgewater restaurant offers an excellent choice of menu. Regular entertainment, weekend and midweek breaks throughout the year. The Lough Erne Hotel began life as a Royal Irish Constabulary barrack in 1862. It was built by the governors of the Vaughan Charity who then owned the village of Kesh. The building cost £650 and the police paid £30 per year for rent. A year after the barrack was built it was burnt down in an accidental fire. Some repairs were done immediately but further work was carried out in 1921. For example stabling for horses that was provided behind the hotel in what is now the Glendurragh Suite. One of the RIC officers stationed in Kesh, Constable McCormick, was a very famous boxer. In fact he once fought the British Heavyweight Champion, Billy Wells. Another local man, Bob Irwin, was also a famous boxer in those days, once beating the Welterweight champion of the Rhine Army. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lough Erne Hotel Kesh, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lough Erne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.