We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachside Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Retreat Beach Houses

Save Saved
You added The Retreat Beach Houses to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Retreat Beach Houses
4.5 of 5 Ranch   |   390 David Low Way, Peregian Beach, Noosa, Queensland 4573, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beachside Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A wonderfully appointed piece of paradise on the QLD coast.
Spacious accommodation just a short walk from the beach over the sand dunes.
From the upstairs balcony see views of the beach as you enjoy a meal, coffee or some light reading.
Rooms were spacious, beds were comfortable and kitchen well appointed.
Large TV in upstairs open plan living area with comfortable lounges.
Heated pool and tennis court were enjoyed in the afternoon after a morning spent on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora and Dan G, Manager at The Retreat Beach Houses, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for the lovely review. What an amazing description our special beach houses. It is so good to hear such a great response to the piece of paradise we have hear. Hope to have you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Very nicely laid out group of chalets, despite the proximity to the road they were very quiet. The House we stayed in was very clean and simply but well furnished and supplied with all we needed for our stay and there was plenty of room for 3 couples. The splendid beach was a short walk from the chalet through some bush, in which one of our party spotted a snake and we all saw the Bush Turkey visits every morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora and Dan G, Manager at The Retreat Beach Houses, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. So pleased that you enjoyed your Beach House holiday. We also have wallabies in the bush - they can give you quiet a fright really when they bound away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We, 3 adults and 3 kids under 10 stayed in one of the villas for 5 nights just before Easter 2014. The unit was spacious, clean and well equipped. We had one or two minor issues. e.g. a lose handrail on the stairs. But these were rapidly and effectively fixed by the on-site team. The units are at the far end of Peregian Beach a 10 minute drive back down the coast to the basic shops and restaurants. The units are also separated from the beach by sand dunes and so the view out of the back of them is straight onto the back of the sand dunes, about 10 feet away from the units. to the other side is the main coast road up to Noosa which is at upstairs window level. As the bedrooms are on the ground floor traffic noise was not a problem as such. Access to the beach is a very short walk along boardwalks or paths through the (light) bush. There is a lifeguard patrolled beach area at the southern end of the complex. There is a small pool which was more than adequate for our three lively and proficient swimmer kids to use. There is also a full sized tennis court. The reception staff are very helpful and pleasant and they have a huge selection of DVDs to borrow (free of charge) along with a good selection of board games. For the beach there is free loan of body boards, umbrellas and buckets and spades. The nearest decent supermarket, Coles, is at Peregian Springs a 20 minute drive away although there is a basic supermarket at Peregian Beach. We ate at the Surf Club in Peregian Beach a couple of times. The food was simple but wholesome and good value.

Overall I thought that the location, facilities and standard of the unit was very good and would definitely consider using it again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora and Dan G, Manager at The Retreat Beach Houses, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Wow, what a massive review - thank you so much for all the feedback and facts about The Retreat Beach Houses and Peregian Beach also! We loved having you here and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our family (2 kids aged 9 & 11) enjoyed a very happy and relaxed 6 nights at The Retreat in April 2014.

Excellent Customer Service:
Great communication from Dan & Nora from our first booking enquiry. They answered our every email regarding facilities and even contacted us to let us know that a cancellation meant they could offer to extend our stay - which we were delighted that we did and only wished it could have been longer!
We arrived from NSW earlier than we anticipated and Mary got our accommodation cleaned and ready so we could check in early - thank you!
We couldn't get the aircon to work on our first night and didn't want to phone Dan & Nora out-of-hours as it wasn't really an emergency so we sent an email for them to pick up at their leisure - Dan came straight over and fixed a fuse on the spot - thank you!

Accommodation & Facilities:
The accommodation was immaculately clean, comfortable and spacious. The bathrooms in our accommodation are really due modernisation but this will be down to the individual owner, and as they were clean and fully functioning it wasn't a drama (and in fairness the laundry equipment and dishwasher looked brand new and they can't be expected to replace/renew everything at once!). All linen - towels and bedding - was immaculately clean, white & fresh and better than some expensive hotels we've stayed in!
The pool and pool area were pristine with large umberellas providing good shade.
From our beachhouse, the sandy beach was accessed via a few minutes walk along a well-maintained boardwalk. As it was school holidays the beach was patrolled which was reassuring - we watched kite surfers being rescued!
Thoughtful touches like beach toys, boards, chairs & umbrellas to borrow, save on luggage or unnecessary purchases. Wifi and DVDs & board games to borrow free are great for long autumn/winter evenings or poor weather (we caught the tail end of Cyclone Ita for our first 2 days but between the entertainment and the comfortable accommodation we were very happy to just cosy in and have family fun).

Outings:
A good half-day outing was the aquarium in Mooloolaba. Mary very kindly booked it on-line for us so that we could take advantage of the on-line ticket discount which required printed tickets on admission. Australia Zoo was a fantastic day out with the highlight being the bird and croc show - highly entertaining.

Dining:
We ate at the Tapas restuarant and The Pitchfork - both had excellent food and very friendly service. We had pizza & pasta at Zachary's (daughters loved the carbonara) and a takeaway from Wahoo (value pack for 4 was tasty & huge - would have fed 6!). We also enjoyed coffees at the Baked Poetry Cafe in Peregian Square where despite being busy the staff waited patiently with a genuine smile while our girls chose their drinks.
An early breakfast at Bistro C on the beachfront in Noosa was totally yummy.

We had a great family holiday at The Retreat and would definitely return and recommend. Many thanx to Dan, Nora & Mary for excellent customer service.

Room Tip: There was some traffic noise as our accommodation was one of two which were closest to the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora and Dan G, Manager at The Retreat Beach Houses, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
That was a spectacular, long and lovely review. Thank you so much. We are so thrilled to hear that people have had a great time, not only at The Retreat but on The Sunshine Coast in general. We love the little quiet town of Peregian Beach and wish that more people new about its hidden beauty. We would be more then happy for you to stay again and I'm sure that Peregian Beach would love to see you venturing around again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our two storey beach house was right next to the beach and had a great view of the sea from the deck. Upstairs lounge is nice and spacious with an 'outside' room feel. Walk to the beach is 5 minutes through the brush and the beach is fantastic. Great value and a great spot.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora and Dan G, Manager at The Retreat Beach Houses, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. I would have to agree that the lovely thing about The Retreat is the distance to the beach and to top it off the beach is quite and fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We enjoyed long weekends in Peregian Beach before but from a location and accommodation perspective the Retreat is difficult to top. A short walk from the beach (without having to cross a road), well equipped, spacious, free-standing beach houses with a lovely holiday feel, a spotless clean and inviting pool & BBQ area and several other nice amenities (incl. good DVD collection, tennis court, free use of boogie boards etc). Special mention for the managers Dan & Nora who went out of their way to ensure everything is set up fine and that we were looked after!

Highly recommended, we will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in beach house #15 which we were very happy with, however there are others with a slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora and Dan G, Manager at The Retreat Beach Houses, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks for the terrific mention and we are more then happy to help make your stay the best it can possible be. We have to agree that The Retreat is an amazing spot and we are so glad that you made the most out of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We have used Trip Advisor for many of our acomodation choices. This time my husband said: "you have out done yourself". A perfect place for us.
We are a couple so two of the downstairs rooms were locked off so that we were not paying for what we did not use - we still had a full bathroom AND ensuite. Upstairs was 3 times the living space we have at home. Bliss! Usually we like to have breakfast out when we are on holiday but our accomodation was so delightful we had it in. Dining out is a 'short' 30 min walk ALONG THE BEACH (hello!!!!!) to plenty of eating options. We walked home on the back streets which was fine but there are taxi options. You have all the Noosa has to offer without the fuss. We will return.
Our hosts Nora and Dan are great but we didn't need them because everything you would want is at your fingertips. We are coming back ... next week???

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora and Dan G, Manager at The Retreat Beach Houses, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you. We are so glad you loved your stay here at The Retreat Beach Houses - Peregian Beach. It is fantastic that you were able to experience Peregian which is a beautiful piece of Australia that we truly love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Retreat Beach Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat Beach Houses

Address: 390 David Low Way, Peregian Beach, Noosa, Queensland 4573, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa > Peregian Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty lodging in Peregian Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Retreat Beach Houses 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique property offering relaxing traditional 2 storey beach house accommodation on 5 acres of beachfront land with direct beach access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Retreat Beach Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Retreat Beach Houses Peregian Beach, Noosa, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Retreat Beach Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.