We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place with an excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Baker Lodge

Save Saved
You added Green Baker Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Baker Lodge
Carretera Austral km3, Puerto Bertrand 6050000, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Bertrand
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lovely place with an excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Years ago we travel Patagonia in Argentina and Chile and this is one of the best we've been. The quality of the facilities and the staff were superlative. Here fishermen enjoying themselves and their family. Dinner was exquisite and fabulous attention, its price is very suitable for the service provided. Keep in mind that this place is remote and the roads are gravel.

Room Tip: The cabins were the best I've been in Patagonia
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
17
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Traveling with my wife on a motorbike, covering about 200 km of dusty gravel on a hot, sunny day. We had no reservations anywhere and were desperate for a nice place to stay when we spotted the Green Baker Lodge just before reaching Puerto Bertrand on the Baker River. Great relief as Yvonne at reception told us they had a room for us for two nights. The buildings are all beautifully constructed in timber and quite spacious with wifi and cable TV. Very clean and comfortable. But really makes the lodge special is the location on the Baker River with spacious grounds and a beach with jetty. The views are glorious and the water perfect for a cold swim. The lodge has a nice restaurant with a deck area overlooking the river. Perfect for a drink as the sun sets with the sounds of the river rapids just downstream. We also asked the hotel to organize white water rafting for us the following day. All handled very efficiently. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We would have stayed an extra 2 nights but, unfortunately the lodge was fully booked. Highly recommended and great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

As cycle tourist we were not the cleanest when we arrived in the morning seeking accommodation. We were welcomed and checked into a room before 10.00am. The two storey wooden cabin, complete with fluffy white towels hit the mark after a tough day on the road the day before. The restaurant, waitresses and manages were very friendly. We had two full days there doing little but enjoying the ambience, great wine, food and scenery.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

The lodge is located next to Baker River with a wonderful view to it. We stayed 3 days with 2 kids in a cabin that was clean, comfortable and very spacious. You can either cook in the cabin or eat at the lodge and it was very convenient to have the two options. The meals at the lodge were great, so even though more expensive than cooking they were a good alternative for the days when we returned quite tired after a full day of hiking or just exploring the surrounding.
The roads in the area are not great and it takes some time to travel around, but the lodge is very well located for that purpose and you can explore Bertrand Lake, Tamango Reserve, the marble cathedral in General Carrera Lake, and Estancia Valle Chacabuco from there. Highly recommended place, especially for families as the few other lodges around are mostly oriented for fly fishermen.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coyhaique
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

At five hours south of Coyhaique by road, its not quick to get to, but to translate a Chilean saying " to rush in Patagonia, is to loose" take your time enjoy the scenery and enjoy a quiet, relaxing, hassle free, vacation or holiday. We just stayed the weekend with our two children and friends with their two children. Safe friendly environment set on the banks or the Rio Baker. Not a swimmable or paddling river for Children but ideal for Kayakers.
Maid service in the rooms, changing sheets and towels. Wifi and TV for the children if its raining. Beds so comfy you don´t want to get out of them. Self catering or restaurant on site. The wife and Children went on a well organized horse trip while I had time to go paddling. Great place. Worth recommending.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston tx
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

We were looked after very well. Great food , fishing, cabins and service. We will return!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

This is my 10th year coming down to Chilean Patagonia. I see many surrounding lodges become old with each year.

The Green Baker Lodge get's younger and better each year.

I come to this region with my friend, guide, and master cinematographer Carlos Dinamarca and we were both amazed at the quality of services the GBL provides. The cabins are first rate, the meals were wonderful, the hot tub after a long day outdoors...perfect. The management and ownership of this lodge has done a great job in a very difficult part of the world.

I travel in the US for business and GBL would be rated a 4 to 5 star resort in my estimation.

I am a fan of the Green Baker Lodge and the Peppi's, who manage it. Hmmmmmmmmm...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Baker Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Baker Lodge

Address: Carretera Austral km3, Puerto Bertrand 6050000, Chile
Location: Chile > Aisen Region > Puerto Bertrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Bertrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming lodge in Patagonia, for the best fly fishing in comfortable cabins and with the best care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Green Baker Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Baker Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.