We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" left feeling chilled and relaxed"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tollgate Inn Restaurant

The Tollgate Inn Restaurant
Ham Green | Trowbridge, Holt BA14 6PX , England
01225 782326
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Holt
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“" left feeling chilled and relaxed"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from an overnight stay at the Tollgate Inn. We wanted a relaxing weekend and we certainly got one. We stayed in the "Jake", it wasn't the largest of rooms but was ver pretty and so comfortable with every attention paid to the detail, fresh fruit in the room, a good selection of teas and a good supply of fresh coffee.
We booked into the restaurant and wasn't disapointed, the bar is decorated beautifully for Christmas which adds to the charm. The restaurant was very busy with a large party but we were still made to feel very welcome by the staff, We both enjoyed our food, it's good homecooking using local ingredients. Couldn't fault the breakfast either and I just loved the farm shop as well. All in all we had a lovely relaxing weekend!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    32
    14
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Four of us had a great meal last night and we all opted for the rib eye. We all commented that it was the best steak we have had in a while. Everything was cooked to perfection and the wine was also very reasonably priced. All in all a great evening.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cold welcome & cold food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We ate Sunday lunch at the Tollgate Inn yesterday. The new owner made no attempt to make us welcome. He served some of the food without a word, not even a hello. The main course of beef and Yorkshire puddings was cold; the puddings tasted like cardboard. The vegetables were not so much al dente as uncooked. Some of the food was served on slate platters which were difficult for the waitress to handle, unpleasantly severe to look at, and set your teeth on edge when you used your cutlery to cut the food and scraped against the surface.
The room itself (upstairs) was poorly lit and cold despite the radiator being on. A log fire was made up but not lit. After clearing and wiping an adjacent table the bottle of cleaning product and the cloth were left on the bar counter in full view.
Overall just not good enough. We won't be returning.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“A cut above the average pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We recently called in at lunchtime and on a cold day it was not warm and inviting. I do not know if the central heating was not working, or the thermostat had been turned down. The small wood burning stove in the restaurant section next to the bar area gave little or no heat and due to lack of attention it went out.

Lack of attention was to be a theme, with requests by us and other diners being forgotten. This may have been due to there being just two staff to look after the bar and restaurant. To be fair, when you had their attention, they were charming and helpful and perhaps when there are more staff on duty the service improves.

The food offered is a choice between a la carte, daily specials and a set menu. There was a very good choice of main courses on the set menu and the food was well cooked and nicely presented.

The price of the wine was high, but this is to be expected when the food is reasonably priced.

We would certainly visit again – as long as the heating thermostat is turned up!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“GREAT VILLAGE EATERY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have eaten at The Tollgate on many occasions and have never had a bad meal yet. The owners who are their now have been there since August 2012 and we have not eaten their since then. The food and atmosphere was always superb and we used to also enjoy a stroll in the summer up to the pub with the kids and the dog and sit in the lovely garden with a glass of beer, glass of wine and a couple of soft drinks for the kids. The goats are a great attraction and will keep you amused.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tollgate Inn Restaurant also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Tollgate Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tollgate Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.