We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Country Pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Ham Tree Inn

The Old Ham Tree Inn
Ham Green, Holt, Holt BA14 6Py, England
+44 1225 782581
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Holt
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Country Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Visited pub this evening as had Groupon vouchers. Really made to feel welcome and nice atmosphere. Food was lovely. There were 4 adults and a child and we all chose a different main course. All meals were well presented and really tasty. All the sweets were homemade and we weren't disappointed. Would definitely recommend this pub and will be visiting again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Village Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Visited on a Tuesday evening using a Groupon voucher, we received a very warm welcome, the food was very good, we ordered the a steak and chilli, both were very tasty and very good value using the coupon, I think we were forgotton between main and dessert however would definitely return again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Give This Old Village Pub a Try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We recently visited this old coaching inn as part of a deal. This was our first visit and one that impressed us greatly. The Old Ham Tree is situated in the village of Holt in Wiltshire in between Bradford on Avon and Melksham.. It has the look and feel of a village pub . The hospitality was excellent and the food could not be faulted . The locally sourced steaks are great and probably the best we have had for a while and the burgers are also excellent . We decided on puddings also and were not disappointed . We travel through Holt a couple of times a month and will certainly try their excellent food and hospitality again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Mother's Day Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had never been to The Old Ham Tree before but decided on this venue for a family meal for Mother's day. We were totally wowed by the food and the service.
I cannot really pick fault with anything, nice little car park at the back of the pub, friendly welcoming at the bar, shown straight to our table and didnt have to wait long for a waitress to bring us a menu.
Best bits for me? As a vegetarian its quite nice to have a typical pub lunch and this was made possible as they serve Quorn here (happy customers!!) secondly....the chocolate brownie, it is to die for!
Everybody had a great time and it was a very reasonable price, topped off with the mums on our table being given a cake to take away with them.
Top marks Old Ham Tree, we will be back!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“SUPERB STEAK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My partner and I visited The Old Ham Tree twice now and the steaks are really good, presentation excellent and the service was very good. This is one of the best steak meals we have had in recent times. When having a dessert choose the cheese board - excellent best in the west!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Ham Tree Inn also viewed

 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Old Ham Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Ham Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.