We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, secluded beach location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Paradise Beach Resort to your Saves list
Paradise Beach Resort
Galle Road, Thappawttha, Thalarmba, Mirissa, Mirissa, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 88 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quiet, secluded beach location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Great if you want privacy, peace and quiet. The beach front is small but very pretty and good for a bit of paddling around. The hotel is basic but clean and the rooms are large. We walked to Mirissa beach (via beach then road) which took about 30-40 minutes. If you're getting a tuk-tuk, make sure you give the correct address in Thappawthha as there is another hotel with a similar name in the opposite direction. We had fresh fish for dinner both nights and it was delicious - the owner will tell you what he has on offer and you can choose what you like. Breakfast is very generous.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    15
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Though our stay at Mirissa was very brief, the Paradise Beach Resort impressed me, mostly by its location, right on the beach! Clean rooms and friendly staff made it even better. Breakfast was great and served in the room. Clean and neat place with great toilet!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

The PBR's location, which is definitely well away from the Mirissa beach strip was one of the things that attracted us to this place. Given that it sits by itself on a small stretch of nice sand that is protected by a reef about 100 meters off shore it could be a great place to chill out, see the local fisherman work etc.

Sadly, the complete lack of management and what was by far the worst service we had in our two weeks in SL turned what could have been an average stay into a zero star rating.

When we arrived there was barely a word of welcome. A sullen young lady flipped through a book of reservation print outs then motioned to a room a couple of doors down. When we inquired about getting the "safe" in our room to work there was barely an acknowledgement of the request and not surprisingly, no effort to follow up. Asking about getting some laundry done resulted in another non verbal exchange that finally ended with a terse "our washing machine is broken" answer. I turns out the only service star at this place is the ancient old guy who looks after the beach chairs and shuffles your bags to the gate. Like most (all?) of the rest of the staff he didn't speak a word of English but at least he did take his job seriously and looked for ways to help.

Like a lot small places in SL, food seems to be cooked from scratch and a good dose of patience is needed. PBR's food was ok but we would recommend going into town where you had a lot more choices in town and you also have staff who seemed to like there jobs enough to ask what you wanted, answer questions etc.

We arrived on New Years Eve and figured that given how small this place was and that it was literally several miles from the main Mirissa beach area we'd be spared from a lot of the New Years party scene and noise. We're not sure why, but it seems that the local tuk tuk drivers decided to use the driveway right next to the hotel for a ear splitting rave. I suppose we were lucky that there was a power outage that went until 10pm, otherwise we would have had more than the 5 hours of Sri Lankan techno music at full blast that we did get. This was not a party for the hotel guests, nor did it seem to be a neighborhood affair. Instead it seemed to be a couple of dozen drunken men who could have cared less about the guests. Given that these guys were most likely using the hotel's power to run their sound system we can pretty safely conclude that the hotel's management wasn't just ignoring this, but actually supporting it.

When it came time to leave we had another wordless exchange as we settled the bill, which of course was wrong and had charges for 4 beers instead of the one we drank. We were so eager to see the back of this place that we didn't argue and hopefully they will use the extra $5 or $6 to investment in some better management!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Resort is located on the finest part of one of the best beaches in the world. The rooms were solid and the management nice enough to give us 2 extra beds (3 kids). I'm not sure if you have to buy the inclusive food, but we got the half board which included breakfast and dinner. The food was like jail food, but when we had lunch at the other local spots it wasn't much better. Regardless of that I would stay again for the location although I be inclined to check out some of the other options. Overall it's solid, and didn't take away from the majestic beach with killer waves that I look forward to going back too.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Simple accommodation on the beach , clean and functional . Most of the rooms have two double beds . Cleaning is every other day. Bring your own soap and shampoo. Snorkel equipment is available
The sea is full of rock slabs in this area unlike the main Mirissa beach . If you swim to the barrier reef and wish to stand on it watch out for the sea urchins that are not so visible in the turf
Fisherman come at 6 am to sell their product to the staff. Food is good but more expensive that the Mirissa beach restaurants . No cocktails .
Very few of the staff speak English
The beach is lovely with a zen quality that is missing in the main Mirissa beach
Tuck tuck ride is 200 lkr (1,2 euro)to the main beach

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

It is definitely not a hotel, merely a family pension. The service is reduced to the minimum. Bedrooms have a very basic comfort : a king size bed, a plastic chair, and the possibility to hang your clothes. But there is a personal save. The maintenance is poor and the cleaning is every other day (lovely with the sand!)
The location is nice, just by the beach but not necessarily the nicest side. Actually it is rather rocky.
The food is below average and only ONE staff understands/speaks English as such. Terrible.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Booked this place after our original choice, Angel Rest,  turned out to be a bit of a dump and we stayed here for 6 nights.

This is a good budget hotel (approx 6000 rupees per night)and it is actually located about 2 or 3km east of the main tourist area in a small bay.  We were happy with what it offered - a basic, clean room with a nice view of the sea.  There is a small beach in front where some local fishermen keep their boats and it is nice for a swim before breakfast.

I think the hotel has been recently renovated and the room had AC, a modern bathroom and a comfortable bed with mosquito net.

Breakfast was included and was pretty good - nice scrambled egg on toast, fresh pineapple juice and coffee

We hired a moped from a place on the main beach access road called Pradeep's and used it to get back and forward from the beach each day.  We also went a trip as far as tangalle for an overnight stay.  Price was 800 rupees per day.  Don't hire the one from the hotel as they will try to charge you 1500.

I thoroughly recommend this place if you are looking for a good value, clean place to stay in Mirissa.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Beach Resort

Address: Galle Road, Thappawttha, Thalarmba, Mirissa, Mirissa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.