We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Cabanas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Cabanas to your Saves list
Riverside Cabanas
No 34, Oya Addara Watta | Udupila, Mirissa, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Quiet place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Placed 200m from the main street and 300 m from the beach, but hidden from all the traffic and rush = very quiet place. Nice garden terrace -you will enjoy it while having breakfast.
One of the few places with hot water in Mirissa. If they add some day a wardrobe in the room and some fruit to the breakfast, it will make the guest even happier.
Very nice and helpful staff- they can give you the advice for some trips.
They arranged for us the TUK-TUK trip to the snake farm (excellent show- MUST SEE)
19 kms from Mirissa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    22
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
18
43
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel is new built and the rooms are cleaned but simple.
We (2 adults & 2 children) stayed here for a week and had a great time!
The staffs are very friendly, good with the kids, helpful and cooked good breakfast!
The roti and dahl is fantastic! Nice atmosphere in the open air restaurant with a green garden.
We highly recommend Riverside Cabanas and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Nice setting, peaceful, quiet (away from beach disco), on the side of the river. In the garden you can see birds, monkeys and chipmunks. The rooms are clean and have A/C. It is only a 5 minute walk to the beach. There is free Wi-Fi. The Manager, Harshana, was very helpful and friendly.
The food was good and they had the ability to arrange lots of tours and trips.
We paid $40 B&B (although our friends booked via Agoda and got a slightly cheaper rate). Please note, they only accept cash not credit cards and do not sell alcohol.
Due to setting on side of the river there are lots of mosquitos in the evening so bring your repellent.
We would return and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I spent a couple of weeks in Mirissa and were so lucky to get a room at Riverside Cabanas. This place is just great and for sure one of the best in Mirissa. It opened only a few month ago and therefore is still very new. The rooms are spacious, very clean, nicely furnished and just really comfortable. Each room has a veranda or balcony with a seating area and hot (!!) water (which is very rare in Mirissa). Furthermore they have free Wifi which is working very well (and trust me, that's very hard to find in Mirissa too). I really liked the location too. It's situated next to a river in a very quiet and safe are with a pretty garden and nice restaurant. It's only a short walk to the beach but a lot more quiet as your sleep won't be disturbed by the loud music coming from the beach bars. Last but not least: the staff is excellent - they are so welcoming and friendly and do not harass you in any way. Try the rice & curry there - it's one of the best I ever ate. I hope Mr. Alahakoon & his family (the owner) and Harshana, Sunil and Uncle (the crew) will read this review too and see again how happy I was staying there! Hello to all of you! Hope to cu soon again! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Big room. short distance walk to beach. has a nice River view, beautiful green garden. it feels very comfortable and relaxing during my stay .nice food. staff are very friendly and helpful. I recommend my friends to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

we are traveling for 2 weeks in sri lanka, and wanted to relax on the beach, we came to mirissia and found 'riverside cabanas' and fell in love with this place. The rooms are amazing, everything is new and very clean with great balcony, the place is quiet and all around is green. It is located 5 minutes walk from the beach, and have a/c & non a/c room at very reasonable price.
The stuff (Harshnan and Sunil) here are amazing, the food is great and if we wanted to cook something that wasn't on the menu they let us in the kitchen to cook.

Bottom line, excellent place to stay!! If you read this and don't know where you want to stay, come to this place!!
We had a great time in mirissia and most of that because of this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed in Double Room with AC and would recommend this place if you are not going to stay on the beach. The most memorable things are great staff and good location near the river.
Pluses:
- very helpful and kind staff
- quiet location
- good view from window/balcony
- spacious room
- clean room and bathroom(not cleaned up daily but immediately on request)
- very good food
Minuses:
- badly designed floor in the bathroom so some water stays on the floor after shower
- no hot water(but owners say it will be connected soon)
- beach is very near but you have to cross the road with noticeable traffic, though it's true for any place outside the beach

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Cabanas

Address: No 34, Oya Addara Watta | Udupila, Mirissa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rinerside Cabanas are situated at Mirissa, southern coastal line of Sri Lanka. It's only 100m (3 minutes walk) away from the beautiful Mirissa beach, yet with nicely landscaped garden and tranquil surroundings, and so you are away from Colombo-Matara road traffic noise and sometimes beach hazel. Riverside Cabanas have both AC and Non AC rooms and its specious restaurant caters both local and western food at an attractive price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Riverside Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.