We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificient view and modern interior.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Silan Mo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Silan Mo to your Saves list
Hotel Silan Mo
Bandaramulla, Mirissa, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 118 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Magnificient view and modern interior.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just had two great days at Silan Mo.

The hotel isn't at the beach, but very close and has its own beach beds and umbrellas. The hotel is 6 storeys high (no elevator) is build into the hill side. The view gets better and better as you move up and the roof top pool is just the icing on the cake.

The rooms are modernised and has very modern use of cement and light colors. Being a Scandinavian I really enjoyed the interior, but some looking for traditional Sri Lankan rooms may be disappointed.

Friendly staff and a decent breakfast.

Finally, had two days at Unawatuna and two at Mirissa. For me Mirissa is the far better.

Room Tip: The view gets better the higher in the building, but there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilanMo, Manager at Hotel Silan Mo, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Sir

Thank you very much for your positive review about our hotel. Your comments will always help us a lot to improve our service. Also nice to see your photo in our tripadvisor page. Have a great day.

Best regards from Silan Mo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    43
    25
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
60
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Sometimes you just meet people that will go so far out of their way to help you out that it is incredible. Vipula (manager) and the staff at the Silan Mo Hotel are absolutely amazing in every way. A big thumbs up to them and the genuine way in which they actually engage and care about their guests.

The hotel is lovely, with big clean simple rooms, huge sea facing balconies (every room!!!) and a fantastic roof top swimming pool and seating area (tip- the sunset views are unreal). You are so far from the road that you barely notice it, apart from a distant line of truck lights and the occasional horn.

We had both lunch and breakfast here, and would highly recommend the local cuisine (we had milk rice, samba, egg hoppers, chicken curries and rottis - some of this was not even on the menu, the staff were just so keen to make our stay everything we wanted it to be).

The beach is a 5 metre walk over the road, and a 5 min walk from the surf (along the beautiful Mirissa Beach). A great location, well priced for the comfort you get, AWESOME staff and i would highly recommend this place to everyone.

I will be back Vipula... :) thanks for everything.

Room Tip: Ask for the Rottis and chicken curry by the pool. Yummmmmy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Silan Mo is a good hotel if you're looking for a "value-for-money" kind of a place to stay which is close to the beach. It gets most of its basics right (except the food) and I would recommend it as long as you know up front what amenities you will get for the price you pay

POSITIVES:
* great location just across the beach. Being situated on a rock-face, all rooms face the ocean and all of them have a big balcony facing the beach which is great

* very friendly and helpful staff. We were having some issues with connecting to the hotel wifi from inside our rooms and the manager helped us with several data dongles and when those did not work either, he helped us with a fixed line connection in their office

* rooms are quite clean with basic amenities (no minibar or tea/coffee). appliances, WCs, showers worked fine. Bedsheets were clean too

* the hotel offers free boarding and food for drivers. We had a driver along with us so this was very helpful

* manager was very sincere and did not charge us for a couple of food items that we found to be extremely below average, even without us asking for it

NEGATIVES:
* we found the food to be very sub-standard. I once ordered a tomato soup which didnt taste like one at all and one other time order fried rice which had a strong pungent smell (manager told us the smell was from the local variety of rice used but we never came across anything like that during the rest of our trip so don't know what was the source of that putrid smell). Even the non-veg food we ordered wasn't well cooked. Breakfast was very basic - breads, omelette, appams, juice, cereal and fruits

* wifi network is not very quick and its difficult to log in from inside the rooms

* there is no elevator so if you are on one of the upper floors, it can be quite a walk, the swimming pool is also located on the top floor

* other than the people at the front desk, its difficult to make yourself understood with the rest of the staff if you don't speak Sinhalese

I booked 2 nights at this hotel through agoda.com and had no issues with my booking. I am especially mentioning this since I have often read traveller reviews where people found out upon turning up at the hotel that the website had not forwarded the voucher to the hotel and there was no room available. I, of course, called and checked with the hotel a week before arrival to confirm they had received my booking from agoda.com

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We ended up at Silan Mo, after we have changed hotel, because we were not satisfied with the one we had booked in advance.

The Silan Mo is a very nice (and newly built) hotel just accross the street from the Mirissa beach. The street does not bother at all; once you're inside, you hardly realize it. The hotel itself is clean and well equipped. Bed was made every day and towels were changed (which we did not experience often in Sri Lanka). Nice breakfast on terrace with view over the sea. There is no elevator, getting to the upper rooms can be quite exhausting... Very friendly staff. Hotel provides towels for the beach and there are complimentary sunbeds (even though they are not too comfortable) and sunsheds (need replacement) on the beach. We also booked a whale watching tour through the hotel, which was also very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the Silon Mo for three nights and I couldn't recommend it enough. We had planned to stay for one or two nights but ended up staying for three thanks to the incredibly friendly and helpful staff, amazing views looking over Mirissa and a 20 second walk to the beach where you can enjoy fresh fish by the bucket load!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabouk, Saudi Arabia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was there in last February with some friends of mine from Saudi Arabia. We were planning to stay only one night but we extended our stay for 4 days in that hotel. Rooms are very large, clean and have a large balcony almost same size of the room. All the rooms are facing the Indian ocean & have a panoramic view of the Mirissa Bay. They serve very nice food in the restaurant. Hotel staff are extremely helpful and very friendly. We had a memorable stay in Silan Mo. I recommend this hotel to anyone who goes to Mirissa. One thing to remember that you have to book very early as hotel is full almost every day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here for 8 days as a base for whale watching in February 2013. The hotel is actually quite new and is a good slighlty cheaper alternative to the Paradise Beach Hotel where I stayed in two previous visits to Mirissa. The staff are extremely helpful and freindly throughout from the manager to the cleaners. They even paid the TV subscription that allowed us to watch the test match between India and Australia! They were happy to organise one of our whale watching trips which included dropping off and picking up at the harbour.

The rooms are clean and tidy with good A/C. The views across the Welligama bay are fabulous. The food is fine although not as good as the Paradise Beach. I think they would benefit from putting on more Sri Lankan fayre in the evening buffets. They serve very cold Lion beer which is always a bonus!

There is a pool on the top of the building and that's great although the sunbeds and parasols need replacing!

I'd certainly stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Silan Mo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silan Mo

Address: Bandaramulla, Mirissa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Silan Mo is one of the best hotels in Mirissa. It is a unique hotel, the only hetel in the area with a roof top swimming pool with a beautiful sea view. All the rooms have a panoramic view of Mirissa bay. It is right by the beautiful Mirissa beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Silan Mo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Silan Mo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.