We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just terrible!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sunbeam Coral Villa Guest House

Sunbeam Coral Villa Guest House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sunbeam Coral Villa Guest House to your Saves list
Sunbeam Coral Villa Guest House
Galle Rd, Bandaramulla, Mirissa, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 88 Mirissa B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just terrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

This place was a disgrace for $90 per night booked through best of Sri Lanka. I gave them some bad feedback - they said they had other recently had other bad reports and they wouldn't be booking them anymore - to late for me.
I was traveling with Oztraveljoy and can confirm her story, they were generally appalling and only attentive when there was a buck to be made.
The classic thing is, they are in the process of building this big white hotel on the beach that you cannot miss and on the sign out the front it outlines they give great service!
We had pre-booked and didn't bother returning for out final night!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    3
    2
    12
See reviews for
5
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I completely agree with the last two reviews. The owners were not only compeletely disinterested in customer service, but very greedy for our cash.

The bathroom had not been cleaned and the mattresses stank of mould for a mere $100 US per night. They also tried to charge $30 US for a bag of washing!

To top it off I was severed a class of beer with cock roach eggs in it and then when I pointed it out was charged for it's replacement!

We had originally booked for four nights and escaped on the third without bothering to ask for our money back.

Don't ever stay here, it was way ovetpriced and extremely unpleasant!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

'The Villa!' was built very cheaply and fitted out without any thought other than 'make it cheap'. I have stayed all over the world in budget and top class hotels depending on my need and budget at the time. I unfortunately paid for two nights in advance. I have never paid and left a hotel without bothering to try to get my money back. This place was so bad I booked into another hotel and just left. There are lots of lovely budget places on Mirissa run by lovely Srilankan people. Put this place at the bottom of your list and only if desperate!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, booked 11 rooms for friends and family (22 Adults+10 kids). Apart from the beautiful beach, nothing else works here. Food, though tasty and fresh, is never served on time, they have no clue about the portions, some people went hungry and had to go out and eat. Toilets don't work, ACs don't work, overall very unclean and unkempt. Most of all, the attitude of the owner and her daughter is shocking. When we pointed out the faults we were barked at and made to feel it was our fault. At the settling of the bill, we were over charged for things we never had, changed the Room rates from what we agreed on at the time of booking. Complaints about the non working ACs were never actioned yet tried to charge us for the luxury of looking at non-functioning ACs, the list is too long. Basically the owners cannot accept a complaint without shouting back at the guests for finding fault with some horrible service. This it was told was a the standard Customer Service here by some other former guests we spoke to. Will avoid this place for years to come despite the best efforts of the 2 overworked boys who were helpless in the face of the two owners tag teaming the guests. Pity, 12 months ago, when it was under a different management it was one of the nicest places in the area.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, take the sea facing rooms, the architect who designed this place was high on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasi_2012, Manager at Sunbeam Coral Villa Guest House, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We are sorry to say that we have never heard a situation like this.
Nevertheless We invite you to stay just a night with us to show what really Sunbeam Coral Villa is like.
We understand a guest come to us for a relaxed holiday and we never even imagine to ruin their Lovely holiday because of us.
Thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I have stayed in this guest house for 1 night in March and found it is up-to-standard. Clean and the air-condition is good. Wi-fi service is provided and the location is near the beach. You can watch beautiful sunset from the guest house. However, the rate is a little bit expenisve like all other hotels in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasi_2012, Manager at Sunbeam Coral Villa Guest House, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We highly appreciate your review, and it's a Pleasure to us to know that our guests have enjoyed their time with us. We will try to give our Best Offer for you next time. Thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at this lovely place just for a night. Nice clean room and just a short walk to the beach. Reasonable rates. Highly recommended for family or couples.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasi_2012, Manager at Sunbeam Coral Villa Guest House, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the stay with us. See you again.
Thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunbeam Coral Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbeam Coral Villa Guest House

Address: Galle Rd, Bandaramulla, Mirissa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sunbeam Coral Villa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunbeam Coral Villa Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.