We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Talaramba Reef

Talaramba Reef is a place to unwind and reconnect with the simpler pleasures in life
Talaramba Reef is a place to unwind and reconnect with the simpler pleasures in life
Talaramba Reef is a place to unwind and reconnect with the simpler pleasures in life
Each villa has it's own swimming pool
All bedrooms are air conditioned, although often the fan is enough to keep you cool
Mosquito nets are there if you choose to sleep with the doors open and the sea breeze cooling you
Work by local Sri Lankan artists is featured throughout Talaramba Reef
Mirissa
|
Rental Home – 
8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 24

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ed F
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unbeatable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Absolutely fantastic couple of weeks at Talaramba Reef. We were two families (4 adults, 4 kids) and the place could not have been more perfect. Ideally located right on the beach, the compound is just perfect for little kids to run around in, while the parents relax, safe in the knowledge that all are safe. The pool is, again, perfect. Long enough for dad to do some laps to try to lose the odd pound or two as well as a great shallow end for the toddlers to splash around in. And then there are Deepani and Ranjit. I would travel miles to eat the food that Deepani serves and Ranjit could not have been more helpful. Nothing was too much for this delightful couple who looked after us as if we were part of the family. We will be back!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Deepanis food
Liked least: The fact we had to leave
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Carmenate...
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Relaxing & Enjoyable Stay - Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Talaramba Reef is a modernised property with colonial highlights set within lush tropical grounds along the beach near Welagama.
The property has 8 large rooms across 2 villas, 2 lovely pools, live in staff and reasonable sized grounds . 6 of the rooms overlooks the sea and is a short drive away from the beach where you can swim.

During November I stayed here with family, we occupied the entire property for 5 days and our stay was enjoyable and relaxing. Staff were friendly and always willing to help – nothing was too much trouble. Activities and site seeing are available to book through the villa manager - Deepani, we enjoyed massages one day and went fishing another day. Food is made to order (both western and eastern meals were available). Each day we had breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner in the villa and on the day of our arrival lunch as well. Each morning we would decide the menu with Deepani, and they even cooked our catch from the day out fishing!

Rooms are modern and spacious (they appear to be recently renovated), with large comfortable 4 poster beds, AC and space for an additional single bed or cot in each room. One point to note with the rooms is that the room and bathroom are open plan/integrated, therefore there are no doors closing off the shower/bath tub which may be tricky if you are sharing the room.

A few other points to note: you need a car to get around as there is not much within walking distance, Deepani can organise a tuk tuk, but going long distance in this is not really comfortable. Although the property has WiFi, the signal strength is not fabulous, it dropped out a couple of times during our stay which made it a little difficult if you need to check in for work. Also if you want specific “western” food you may need to advise management in advance as not all types of ingredients are available. For example, although these are not scarce in the area I needed quite a lot of limes to make G&T’s and there appeared to be a shortage whilst we stayed in the area.

Overall we all had a fabulous stay and I would highly recommend this villa, I have no negative points to share, staying at this villa is a great way to experience Sri Lanka whilst still having some modern comforts from home! Thanks very much to Deepani & her team for a great experience!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
danielfer...
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Villa Sulanga - Beautiful location, great garden and pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

The service was very good and the home-cooked food was amazing! Really enjoyed the home-made cinnamon ice-cream too.

The rooms are excellent and incredibly spacious. Beautiful four-poster beds and comfortable mattresses. One can either sleep with all doors open under the mosquito nets or have the a/c on. The bathrooms are large with an open-floor plan.

Even though I was here for work with colleagues we all agree that it would be an amazing place to organise a party with friends and book out both villas. The swimming pool is also very inviting.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location, privacy and food
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
rachel e
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Best Villa ever....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Organising a holiday for 16 is never easy but we hit the jackpot at Talaramba Reef, the pictures really do not do the place justice, this is a topical paradise with all the perks. Deepani and the team catered to our every need, the food was fabulous and served just the way you asked. Afternoon tea was a real treat, especially with fresh home made cake. We took over both villas and had the place to ourselves, its very rare to find a place with equal sized bedrooms and all on-suite so no one felt short changes. With 2 pools, a beach, garden, TV rooms and large social areas there was plenty of communal space you really could make it your home. Easy to get around and see the true Sri Lanka from drinks on the beach, safari, tea plantations or massages, its all on your doorstep.
I would highly recommend this place to any group of people, its amazing value and you wont be disappointing.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the over all service and the villa was amazing
Liked least: nothing! it was all perfect
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Garbuttj
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We were delighted with the accommodation and the location is fantastic with direct access to the beach. My only regret is that we could not stay longer. The cook and staff were great and made us feel very welcome.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Great location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
SharonMHo...
hong kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

I cannot speak highly enough of the staff at Talaramba Reef:
Deepani, Ranjit, Alex and the other house boys,
They went out of their way to assist us with organizing outside activities, around the house and the cooking was simply wonderful!
Which made the stay even more special. In fact my parents commented it was the best holiday they ever had! We had a wonderful time and will definitely recommend it to our friends!

The house and the facilities (swimming pool/entertainment room) were 5 star -
We even played cricket with the staff! though we lost :-(
a truly memorable holiday! thank you Talarambra Reef!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: everything!
Liked least: Need a sign on the main road.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
SonaliUK
UK
1 review
“Lovely property with great food and staff and good beaches nearby.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Beautiful property, funky art, lovely rooms ( and linen!) and great views. We are group of mixed eaters and everyone was thrilled with Deepani and her crew who put in a massive effort. Lots to do in the surrounding areas with some great beaches to swim in not too far away and a fantastic pool to laze by.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Just gorgeous ! everything !
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,200
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Andrew C
85291225288
Speaks English
Listed since : Dec 2010
Response Rate: 85 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 3 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing