We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location at the break - nice garden - dark little rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Sea Breeze

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Surf Sea Breeze to your Saves list
Surf Sea Breeze
Mirissa, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Sapporo, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great location at the break - nice garden - dark little rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have been travelling with a surf junkie mate who (for the second time) was in raptures because this hotel is right at the break in the corner of the beach.

It is set back from the beach with a lovely garden where you can read eat, even sunbake and relax.

The rooms have nice verandas but the interiors are dark and gloomy. There is no desk or chair inside. The water pressure is variable. There is a great mossie net over the whole bed area - very reassuring !

We were really frustrated when the power kept going off during the day (when air con was vital). The story was "we are doign work" but I suspected some cost cutting. These blackouts continued into the dusk when we needed lights to read.

The little cafe is fine, and the breakfasts (you can easily barter for breakfast to be included) were good.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: go upstairs and turn left - better views and better water pressure !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    13
    13
    10
See reviews for
8
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Tha place is very well located for surfers. Rooms are ok, cleaness and food are ok. The service is not bad, but don't expect nothing special. They don't show any interest for the clients but they don't treat them bad, correct.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwest England
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here six nights and cooks have stayed longer. We had an a/c upstairs room with a good private balcony, large bathroom and big fridge. The bed was super comfortable. The room was smallish, but we were on the beach most of the time. Everything was clean and worked well. We didn't need the a/c at all in March, but used the mosquito net. There were almost no mosquitoes.

Food was excellent, especially Sri Lankan breakfasts and fantastic veggie salads which we ate almost every night...a real variety. We looked at other restaurants, but didn't bother.

Located on the beach, at the quiet end we had no disturbance from the dreaded all night disco music which was drowned by the sounds of the crashing waves that lulled us to sleep every night.

The staff are very helpful and efficient, even when the place is busy.

At Rs 8500 a night with breakfast, the place is not cheap, but the quality of the room and location and efficiency and food merit the price.

The rooms upstairs cost nearly twice the price of more basic downstairs rooms, but. They do not have sea views. The trees in the garden obscure the sea except for Room 204.

The garden is lovely and shady to sit in with lots of lounge chairs provided and a beautiful breezy sea view. Easy to fall asleep or to walk into the water for a dip.

Room Tip: Only Room 204 upstairs has a sea view and that is limited. The very basic downstairs rooms have sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We were originally planning on staying for only a couple of nights, but the stunning beach spellbounded us to stay for a week. The staff was super friendly (especially the hotel manager), and the food was good. Highly recommendable.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

the location is the greatest thing about this place but everything else was just weird: you have to order sri lankan food a day before and even then we did not get it because the orders got lost (this happened twice). we stayed maybe in their cheapest room for 5000 rupies a night, but moved into another hotel after one night. rooms were very very dark and not really clean but luckily no bed bugs as others reported. no towels, no toilet paper, no soap, sheets were not really clean. the owner of the place seemed to be already very fed up by tourists, maybe he should change his job and sell the place? ;-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have been staying in Mirissa quite a long time now and eaten everywhere but this place is my absolute favorite one ON THE BEACH. The food is really good (compared to other places you can also eat Western food here without being disappointed), the service is excellent (the waiters are quick and (most of the time) attentive and the prices are totally ok. You can see that the chef must have worked abroad as the difference to most of the other places is huge. Further I really like the location and the way they put the tables and chairs. Go try it!!

Room Tip: Try the Chicken Souvlaki Sandwich!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

our whale trip guide (geeth) suggested this. though the guide was excellent as my review shows but the food here was really bad. stale sea food and prices expectedly high from a resort. location was fantastic. we had no choice but to eat here as we were tired after a 6 hr boat trip so ended up going to the place suggested by the guide. would never go back here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Sea Breeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Sea Breeze

Address: Mirissa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Surf Sea Breeze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Sea Breeze Hotel Mirissa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Sea Breeze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.