We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best guesthouse we have stayed in Sri Lanka” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spice House, Mirissa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mirissa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Spice House, Mirissa
Save
You added The Spice House, Mirissa to your Saves list
km 151, Galle Road, Mirissa, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 88 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“Best guesthouse we have stayed in Sri Lanka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed in The Spice House with our 9 month old daughter for four nights. We had wonderful time. Phil, Wathsala and Wathsala's family did everything possible to make us feel at home. They were ready to help us in any information we needed with a big smile and we could feel they were doing their job with love. Wathsala's father who is an ayurvedic doctor boiled some plants to help heal my daughter's heat rash which started since we arrived in Sri Lanka.The place was nicely decorated and clean enough and I could comfortably leave my baby on the floor to crawl. During our stay, there was a problem with the hot water on the second floor so we had to go down to take shower but we were so much feeling at home that we didnot mind that at all. Although there were nets for beds, we thought some nets could be installed on the windows, too. Anyway, the friendliness of the hosts made our stay a great pleasure there. When we were there they were still constructing the swimming pool. When it is finished it shall be a perfect place. So next time in Mirissa we know exactly where to stay and we know we have some good friends over there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Hi Selen,

Many thanks for your review,it was a pleasure having you stay with us.
I know that me,my wife and all of the family fell in love with your daughter and we would love to see you all again sometime? The pool is now finished if you needed somewhere to teach her to swim.Wishing you all the best.
Love,
Phil & Wathsala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    46
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
52
149
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

The spice house is located on the land side of galle road mirissa. Ordinarily I choose the beach side. I am so glad i didn't this time. The spice house has been an experience all round. The extraordinary hospitality of Wathsala and family, the chef who visits in the evening to prepare exceptional Sri Lankan food (using top quality local ingredients), the stunning views, especially from the back verandah; overlooking terrace garden and pool.
Garden wildlife include small iguana and lena, many beautiful birds, plus the beautifully designed house with a range of tastefully decorated rooms: how will I ever leave?? Make the 'spice house' one of your outstanding sri lanka memories.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thespicehouse, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Hi,
Thank you very much for your kind review.
Im sorry that i was not there myself but i am glad to hear that my Wife and her family took such good care of you and i will also pass on your comments to our chef.Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review & hopefully we will see you again sometime.
Best Wishes,
Phil & Wathsala - Owners of The Spice House Mirissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We arrived in Mirissa with no-where to stay and fortunately stumbled across The Spice house.
We were lucky that it was a quieter part of season, so we had a choice of rooms, however all the rooms were lovely and the balconies outside all had a beautiful view, perfect for sipping tea and reading in the evening.
The beds are huge and very comfortable, we only intended to stay for one night, but ended up staying two, and could have stayed much longer. And the bathrooms are spacious, clean and comfortable.
The food here is also excellent, amazing breakfast every morning, which was a real pleasure to wake up to.
Philip & Watsala are a lovely hosting couple, it was a pleasure to meet them both and chat to them, they really did make us feel completely at home and really comfortable, which made our stay even more enjoyable.
The house has been really tastfully furnished and the gardens both back and front are absoloutely stunning, and its great to ask what all the plants are and how they grow, the pool was just being finished when we left and looks amazing. The beach is also just across the road and evenings on Mirissa beach are so lovely, having a few cocktails and eating fresh fish whilst the sun goes down, absoloute bliss.

We would recommend The Spice House to anyone, its perfect for couples and families, and with such good hosts and food you could ask for nothing more, both Philip & Watsala were so kind and helpful, and we will very much look forwards to staying with them again next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thespicehouse, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Thank you so much for such a very positive review.
We never take what we are doing for granted and are always looking to improve.Its great to get such kind feedback and i have passed on your comments to our chef and other helper.
It was a pleasure getting to know you both and we really do hope to see you again next year?
Many thanks,
Phil & Wathsala - Owners of The Spice House Mirissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

My partner and I travelled to Mirissa at the end of April to stay in the Spice House for a week of sun, sand and relaxation - we certainly got this at The Spice House! Phil and Watsala were fantastic hosts, doing everything they could to help us enjoy our holiday. This ranged from helping us hire a moped to getting their chef to prepare a special birthday dinner on our final night. We couldn't have asked for warmer and kinder hosts.

The level of service was excellent and the food was delicious. I'd recommend asking for battered calamari and green prawn curry - it was so tasty. The Spice House can also provide transport for airport runs - you pay slightly more than the going rate but you have the advantage of an excellent/careful driver who knows exactly where he's going.

The rooms were clean and homely with four poster beds and mosquito nets, plus a nice outdoor area on the balcony where you could relax at the end of a hard day lying on the beach. There is no AC in the rooms but after a couple of days with the fan on, you become acclimatised quickly. The wifi was extremely handy to have downstairs. We also used the snorkels to swim in the sea and managed to swim with a turtle in the bay across the road from The Spice House - it was great having the snorkels to hand. Phil also organised for us to go on a boat to see the blue whales, and we weren't disappointed (although I'd recommend going earlier than late April if you want to see more of them - it's a bit difficult when the sea is choppy).

The location of The Spice House is not right on the beach (a 2 min walk across the main road), but I assure you that you can hear the sea at night from your bedrooms - very relaxing! Plus The Spice House is surrounded by palm trees and jungle - we saw monkeys in the garden and also fire flies at night. Phil is very knowledgeable about the plants and trees in the garden, which is very well maintained - I'd recommend grabbing him for a quick tour of the garden as many of the shrubs are plants/trees that we use in cooking back in the UK (eg cinnamon tree, cashew nut tree, cacao plants). The garden will be even better when the pool is finished - we think this will be in the next few days as they were doing the finishing touches when we were there.

All in all, a great holiday - I'd recommend The Spice House to couples wanting to chill out, plus families too. There are only 5 or 6 rooms so the place does not ever feel busy or overcrowded. Thanks Phil and Watsala for a lovely stay in your beautiful house and making us feel so at home.

Room Tip: Cinnamon Room upstairs was the best in terms of layout and size, although if you want a slightly big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thespicehouse, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Hi Mark & Heide,
Thank you very much for your kind & comprehensive comments.
We really enjoyed meeting you both and it was a pleasure having you stay in our home.
Just to let you know the pool is now finally finished so please come back for a dip!
We will pass on your positive comments to chef Champika and are really glad that you enjoyed his cooking so much.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review,it really is appreciated.
All the best,
Phil & Wathsala - Owners of The Spice House Mirissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Thanks to the fast reply to my e-mail, we managed to book 2 rooms and to check in, in less than 24 hrs. The service couldn't have been any better. Considering it was the local New Year, Philip & Watsala handled the shortage of human power with efficiency and were able to arrange lovely meals for the vegetarian family. The kids loved the curries and even asked for more and more ! There are plenty of board games to keep the little ones entertain while the exhausted parents chat the pleasant nights away. By far The Spice House was the number one accommodation for us during our 2 weeks visit to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thespicehouse, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and also for your understanding over our lack of staff over the Sri Lankan New Year.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again sometime so we can continue with that game of cricket!
Many thanks.
Phil & Wathsala - Owners of The Spice House Mirissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Lovely place to stay - the owners are very friendly, the house is gorgious with lovely big rooms and own private balcony. Unfortuantely the swimming pool was still under construction during our stay, but will be a wonderful addition to the property when complete.
Their newly appointed chef, Champika, is a wonderful cook. During our stay we spoke with Phil (the owner) who gladly helped us arrange to have a whole fish cooked for our dinner. We went with the chef to pick out the fresh fish. He covered it in local spices and baked it in a banana leaf. Other guests joined in on the dinner making it a very social and memorable evening sitting at a big family table on the verandah.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms better than down stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thespicehouse, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Thank yo for your kind review.
You will be pleased to hear that the long awaited swimming pool is now finally finished!
Obviously we will pass on your praise to Champika the chef,i remember that dinner and the fish was particularly lovely that night so thanks for all your help in preparing it!
Once again many thanks for your review.
Best Wishes,
Phil & Wathsala - Owners of The Spice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The Spice House seemed to be a nice and quiet place, a lovely house in a charming exotic garden.
But we could not have the pleasure to stay there to sleep...

Because I am pregnant, we had prepared the trip to Sri Lanka with much attention, and we had booked every place where we really wanted to sleep, not to have bad surprises during the stay.
Because we saw lovely comments on The Spice House, we booked in that guesthouse, via Booking.com, and, to secure it, we sent an e-mail to the owner of the Spice House to be sure. First we booked for two nights, and then we changed our minds and we shortened our stay to one night.
We had an answer from The Spice House: "everything is OK for January 14".

When we arrived on january 14, there were no room for us ! A mistake in the reservation made by the owner. Nothing could be done.
Then sent us to another place to sleep. The place was much less charming than The Spice House, it looked like a guesthouse under construction... and it did not worth the price had to pay : the place had not been cleaned up, it was very simple, no charm... It was not a good place to stay. The owner was nice, but a bit awkward. We did not have the time to find another place and we were very disappointed.
The Spice House offered a good breakfast to us to excuse themselves for their mistake. But we were so disappointed that it was not enough for us.

So the last we can say is : warning, in that guesthouse they are no professional people, you can have bad surprises.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thespicehouse, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
We are really sorry over our mistake with your booking which was a genuine mistake on our part.The confusion arose when you altered your booking with us from two days to one,we then only booked you in for the 15th of January instead of the 14th.Our error only came to light on the morning of your arrival when you emailed us,as we were by now already full we immediately phoned round all the hotels & guesthouses but as it was peak season everything was also full.
Once again we are really sorry for the inconvinience that we inadvertently caused you.
I know that it is no consolation to you but thankfully this is the only time that we have experienced this kind of mistake.
Phil & Wathsala - Owners of The Spice House Mirissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Spice House, Mirissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spice House, Mirissa

Address: km 151, Galle Road, Mirissa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spice House, Mirissa is a beautiful Colonial style guesthouse with its own private swimming pool set in a peaceful, landscaped garden full of tropical flowers, fruits, spices, ponds & hammocks. It is ideally situated only one minute from a beautiful, reef protected bay & 1km from the main bustle of Mirissa beach. The guesthouse is English owned by an experienced traveller and his Sri Lankan Wife which allows us to offer our guests the perfect mix of Western comfort & luxury alongside Sri Lankan charm & service - we like our guests to feel like part of the family. The house is shaded by coconut palms & cinnamon trees to the front while the back is terraced which allows wonderful views over the surrounding jungle. Local wildlife is often seen in our garden with daily visits from monkeys, kingfishers, peacocks, woodpeckers & squirrels. We can also help with Airport transfers & booking whale watching trips during the season (November - April). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Spice House Hotel, Mirissa Hotel Mirissa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spice House, Mirissa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.