We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best roti!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dewmini Roti Shop

Dewmini Roti Shop
Inland, Udupila, Mirissa, Sri Lanka
0715162604
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Mirissa
Price range: $0 - $3
Cuisines: Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best roti!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had lunch at Dewmini's, it is a little hard to find (off main road) - make sure you know the address. The roti was excellent and the best we had in Sri Lanka - worth the visit from Ahangama. You must visit if you're in or passing through Mirissa.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    67
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Roti in Sri Lanka!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had lunch at Dewmini's Roti Shop one day and it was such a treat - you are literally in the garden of her family house and they are all so lovely and sweet. The Rotis - savoury and sweet were the best we had in Sri Lanka and SO cheap!!! A must try for anyone staying in Mirissa Beach.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We ate here a few times, I wouldn't say it's outstanding nor the best we had in Sri Lanka (had better curry in Tangalle and better kottu in Ella)... But definitely a great value for money and maybe the best in Mirissa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good Sri Lankan food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Icecoffee and cold mango drinks were absolutly perfect!!! I am recomding to try roti and kotty!! Great place to eat and nice people runing the restaurant!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Were in and out of here in 20 minutes...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Maybe for Sri Lankan standards we arrived a bit late, around 20 pm. However, 5 minutes after our order was taken our food was served, another 5 minutes later plates were taken away again. Dessert not really an option. While we were eating they were cleaning up tables and stacking chairs around us, switching lights of etc. Food was ok and very reasonably priced but definetely not the best we have had in Sri Lanka.
Fine for a quick meal, but don't go here if you are looking for a nice evening out.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dewmini Roti Shop also viewed

Mirissa, Southern Province
Mirissa, Southern Province
 
Mirissa, Southern Province
Mirissa, Southern Province
 

Been to Dewmini Roti Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dewmini Roti Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.