We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dewmini Roti Shop

Dewmini Roti Shop
Inland, Udupila, Mirissa, Sri Lanka
0715162604
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Mirissa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $3
Cuisines: Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Dewmini and Gayani are clearly the best hosts in town. They are just amazing, they're really open handed and the fact that they built this place from scratch tells you how powerful good words are spreading. She also opened a small guesthouse with two awesome rooms, also highly recommended. We've been traveling for a while and they are two people we will clearly never forget' the kind of people that make your trip special. We wen't to Mirrisa and ate their 3 times a day, when we choose to try something else we were disappointing and quickly returned to Dewmini's. It's very inspiring to see how Gayani takes care of her daugher and does all she can so she would get the best education. When we left we bought Gayani a pink water bottle for her school. :)
When we continued to Habaraduwa we came back to Mirrisa to see Dewmini, Gayani and eat great food. Pretty hard to leave that place...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    96
    33
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Delicious and flavorful, enjoyable family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had our first Kottu experience at Dewmini and it was absolutely delicious! The rotis are just as tasty and the family that runs the restaurant is a very kind and welcoming group. Our main cook, Gayani, was darling and enjoyable to speak with. We even ordered take-out the next evening, which was also on a day that should have been closed for the family, but Gayani was willing to open for us so we could enjoy their food yet again! Great experiences with real Sri Lankan people and their traditional cuisine :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very taste and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were there tree times and it was really good choice for taste local food. We tasted roti and kotu and it was good both. We tryed different version with eggs, chicken, vegetable and also chocolate, coconut and pineapple. Winner for us was roti with pineapple and chocolate. It was prepared quickly. Price are very reasonable: roti average 150-200 rupies, kotu around 250 rupies, mixed fresh juice 150 rupies. They have also breakfast. This is not romantic place but this is place you have to visit and try this incredible tasty food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Bit of a hunt to find this place (which others had rated and Lonely Planet guide also recommends) but I hoped it would be worth it.

Whilst it's tucked away from the main road and the seating area is small but simple the food just doesn't hit the mark.

Ordered three dishes between two people and didn't finish them. Food was bland and at all good.
Compared to somewhere like 'Downtown Roti Hut' in Ella it just doesn't compare.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Brilliant cooking class and beautiful family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I ate here 3x over our holiday. The rotis are delicious (especially the banana roti), and the company is just as good. The cooking class that Gayani teaches is so much fun, so very tasty and suited for whichever curries you have taken a liking to over your stay in Sri Lanka (from pumpkin to lady fingers to pineapple chutney!). Her instructions as clear (allowing time for us to scribble down notes) and her ever-lasting smile and good humour are a bonus. We would recommend anyone and everyone to visit this shop. A truly home feel, always a friendly smile to greet you topped off with amazing food. A must if in Mirissa!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dewmini Roti Shop also viewed

Mirissa, Southern Province
Mirissa, Southern Province
 
Mirissa, Southern Province
Mirissa, Southern Province
 

Been to Dewmini Roti Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dewmini Roti Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.