We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mirissa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palm Villa
Save
You added Palm Villa to your Saves list
Matara Road | Banbaramulla, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We very much enjoyed our recent 3 night stay at the Palm Villa. Great location at the quiet end of the beach, but still close enough to walk down the main stretch of sand for food, drinks, and swimming if you feel like exploring. Lovely staff, all were super friendly and helpful. Clean, simple rooms and delicious food: the Sri Lankan breakfasts were FANTASTIC, as was the fresh lobster dinner that we enjoyed. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in #15: A/C, great porch, and beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    117
    22
    10
    1
See reviews for
66
168
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bateman Bay
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Palm villa is at the quieter end of the beach at Mirissa, we stayed in a non A/C room in the main house, it was really clean, bed comfortable and pillow soft. The staff are so lovely and if you are thinking of going to Missisa in my view it is the best place to stay if you want to be in a quiet position. The water is calm enough to swim and we saw turtles bobbing their heads right in front of the hotel. The food is good, VJ got us a lobster, yum. Niko is a great chilled out host. If we go back to Mirissa it is where we will stay and stay longer.

Room Tip: We loved being in the front room in the old house, cheaper and all you need as you spend so much tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nights, extending the stay every day as we loved it so much (one more night!). The rooms are simple but the location and the service and the food extraordinary. The Sri Lankan breakfast was fab. A really nice place to chill out.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I came to Palm Villa after 3 nights at a truly secluded beach cabana. That place was so good it may have tainted our view of Palm Villa but overall Palm Villa was very pleasant.

The location is great and having the nice calm waters to swim in was a nice change to the not-safe-to-swim-in seas we'd been used to. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated but unfortunately the mosquito net didn't close properly at all meaning we had to use my girlfriends hair clips and my engineering degree to keep it closed. Even once that was done it draped over our lower calves and feet once in bed meaning we got some mean bites through the net anyway.

The food I have to say was average...equivalent to decent "pub grub" as we might say in the UK I guess. Perfectly edible but nothing to write home about.

Overall the hotel is clean and well laid out, there were plenty of deckchairs and sunbeds lying around, the open air restaurant was also nice and right next to the sea so you get the cool evening breeze. Compared to other guesthouses, this place felt the most "touristy"...everywhere else consisted of people travelling on tours or backpacking, Palm Villa felt like a place people would stay for a week or two to laze on the beach.

They also organised a whale watching trip for us at a discounted price which was great and very successful! The breakfast included was very basic but it was nice enough and it filled a hole.

The beach just around the headland is also nice and has a few beach bars, restaurants and of course other hotels.

Overall it's nice, but you won't say it's the nicest place you've stayed in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed there for 18 nights and had the most fantastic time. The beach is great, surfing possible straight in front of the guesthouse. We felt like living with a family. Staff was excellent, food was excellent, accommodation was excellent. We are very grateful to all the staff, management and the owner. Thank you very much. We booked already another 4 weeks for our next trip..

Paul and Fern from Byron Bay, Australia

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is very well decorated and not to expensive, still it also has several downsides: it has no stretch of sandbeach. If you want to swim, you can go next door at Giragala hotel (which is a nice place - see my review) or to the beach where fishermen park their boats, and that's à very poluted area. The managing director of the hotel is not friendly at all. We had rescheduled one day of our stay due to changes in our travel plans, we had informed him in advance of this, still upon our arrival he insisted us to pay for the cancelled night what we didn't do. Instead of this, we stayed an extra day in Mirissa at another hotel, ie the hotel Giragala next door (see my review).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and two kids age 7 and 9 spent five days at this lovely place, and we all loved it!

At first we were a bit surprised about the huge waves, as I was sure I'd read numerous reviews stating that the sea in front of Palm Villa was calm and suitable for kids. Well, we were just really glad our children had taken swimming lessons the past year, otherwise we would definitely have had a bit of a problem there. As it turned out, our oldest enjoyed playing in the waves immensely, whereas the youngest had a couple of scarying incidents that made her not-so-keen on spending every minute of the days there.

Fortunately, there were also other acitivities to enjoy, such as playing with kittens, puppies and bunnies, taking a swing in one of the hammocks, playing cards, taking walks along the beaches or going for a tuk-tuk ride in the neighbourhood.

The only negative aspect of our stay here was the fact that every meal took ages to prepare - even a sandwich for lunch would easily take over an hour from ordering to actually getting it. Only thing to keep us from getting really impatient was buying a deck of cards - but that did help a lot :)

Apart from that we had a great stay, very relaxing and a lot of family-fun in the sun. Would recommend Palm Villa to families - just not with younger children...

Room Tip: We stayed in #15 which was in the corner of the garden with great views and very suitable for a fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Villa

Address: Matara Road | Banbaramulla, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm villa Mirissa is situated on the bay of Mirissa between weligama and Matara. Palm Villa Mirissa offers a fantastic view over the Indian Ocean. He(It) contains 20 rooms, 2 bars, a restaurant, terraces and gardens. The access to Internet is free in common areas. Every day in "Tea Time", tea and snack are gracefully offered to the customers. Rooms are spacious, include balcony or a terrace deprived seen on the ocean or the garden. They are equipped for the greater part, of ventilator, air conditioning, strong safes and mini refrigerators. Palm villa Mirissa has the possibility of offering rooms adapted to the comfort of large families. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palm Villa Hotel Mirissa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.