We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As bad as the reviews” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dinu's Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dinu's Resort to your Saves list
Dinu's Resort
Coparamulla, Mirissa, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 88 Mirissa B&B and Inns
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“As bad as the reviews”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Foolishly ignored the reviews thinking they were probably all just picky americans. Only booked one night though as being cautious. Turned up, took one look at the room and walked out. Found somewhere lovely just up the beach and didn't bother asking for a refund. Thing is, I am not being fussy, all you need for a decent room is fresh coat of paint and some clean sheets, its really not hard to provide a simple cheap room. But this was all just so dirty and horrible. Its lazy and insulting and that's why I wrote this review, because these guys should not be taking anyone's money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    8
    13
    30
See reviews for
8
26
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We walk in this place at night.It looks like they have two buildings.One old one new.We stay at the old side for 1 night.
Trust me, the bad reviews before it's true. Hightly no no no recommend! The room really dirty.The bed uncomfortable,cockroachs found in the bathroom.We don't know how the owner thinking about it. Just ignore all these bad reviews? Never try to fix it? It's the worst experience in sri lanka!
But, this place is close to the beach,2 mins walk. And the owner and staff just fine. even the staff bobby told us the price was 5000rupees.but when we check out,the owner try to let us pay 8000rupees.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

After booking & paying in full, we arrived & were shown to our 'bungalow'. The owner 'Dinu' doesn't know what a 'bungalow' is. He calls his rooms 'upstairs' in a run down building - the 'bungalows' - what a joke ! It had been raining and the deck leading to the room was green slime & slippery. We entered the dark, smelly, dirty room in horror. Welcome to our nightmare. The floor was covered in sand, there was dust and cobwebs everywhere. The bed linen was old, crumpled and not clean. The pillows were deteriated, the mosquito net was torn and absolutely filthy, the furniture was old and consisted of a broken towel rack with a nail sticking out of it - which tore my dress when I walked past it, the small cupboard was fit for the dump, the bathroom stunk & was not clean, the room was full of mosquitos, the ashtray on the verandah outside our room was full of stale old smelly cigarette butts. This place was not cheap - we paid AUD $65 per night & booked it for 3 nights - big mistake. We could not believe that 'Dinu' could have the hide to present this place to tourists & charge so much and actually get away with it. Talk about 'false advertising'. It continued to shower so everytime we left our room we had to slush through thick mud. After the first night we complained bitterly. He moved us to the other building closer to the beach - it was far better - but still dark inside & not very clean. We are well travelled & no true value - this place is a 'Dive' - it is disgusting - a total rip off - very run down. Be warned !

Room Tip: Rooms in the building closest to the ocean are better. Ensure you ask to have a good look at the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innerberg, Vorarlberg, Austria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The room has no more than a bed, a mosquito net and a small table. But there is a balcony, where you can hang out, in case the weather is bad and you don t want to stay At the Beach.
Negotiate for a fair price. The guys are likely To sell you everything from rooms to food to surf lesson, Ayurveda, ... .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a great place; close to the beach (you can hear the waves from your room), but reasonably priced, unlike a lot of other beach accommodation close by. Staff member Bobi is so helpful and works so hard, he really makes the place come alive.
I stayed in a great room with a big wooden terrace; very peaceful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Do ignore all bad reviews of this place, the bad reviewers are obviously not in it for the people.
Me and my partner stayed here and made great friends with Dinu and the guys! For the price we were paying for our room we had all we needed, a bed, toilet,shower and mozzy net. What more do you need? Your hardly in your room anyway so theres no need for anything else.
The food here is great, Dinus mum cooks amazing fish and the other boys are cook amazing everything! Its a five second walk to the beach ( the nice end of mirissa beach in my opinion) and the reef break is right there in front of you.
Dinu is extremely helpful and will take you anywhere you want to go and will help you with anything you want to know also. Everyone at Dinus is up for a great time so join in and have a great time, I asure you, you will!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you just started learning how to surf dó not go here. This place is just thinking about money and not its customer.
All the boards are old and ready to break, so be carefull because they Will make you pay for an old worn down board Thats ready to be trown out!!!!
So if you go to this place do not accept the first or second offer, because its Way over priced.
My advise go to welligama Beach and rent a board there.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dinu's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinu's Resort

Address: Coparamulla, Mirissa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dimus Resort is family owned and operated since 2004. They give personal service in a family friendly environment. Located right at the surf point, the guesthouse rents surfboards and snorkel gear. All room have balconies and mosquito nets, and rooms range from budget accommodations to a second floor bungalow. The home cooking here is some of the best in Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dinu's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dinu`s Hotel Mirissa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dinu's Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.