We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“marissa gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandara Boutique Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mandara Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Mandara Boutique Resort
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   416 A Pelena Mirissa, Mirissa 81700, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Mirissa
england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“marissa gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Having left Yala to travel south to Marissa we found ourselves booked into Mandara Boutique Resort. Once the safety gates had been drawn back we were surprised to see a welcoming hotel with the sea in the background.
We were welcomed into the hotel and given a cooling drink before being shown to our room overlooking the garden.
The room was comfortable with en-suite shower facilities.
Out in the garden there was a lovely clear blue swimming pool amidst grass with the sea and beach just yards away.
The food was excellent with a good choice. The waiters were attentive and on the second night we had dinner out in the garden.
We felt rested and comfortable before making our way back to Colombo before flying on to the Maldives.

Room Tip: Take a small walk outside the hotel and before long a tuk tuk will stop and ask to go the harbour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandara r, Manager Sales & Marketing at Mandara Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,

We're delighted to receive your compliments and thank you for taking the time to do so.

On behalf of Mandara Hotels, I thank you very much for selecting Mandara Resort for your vacation and look forward for your continuous patronage.

Ruklanthi Jayatissa
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    48
    40
    23
    21
See reviews for
61
86
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Staff is very slow in serving, kitchen takes long time to make food, and the food was terrible. We were charged 2000rs per head for rice and 2 meat and 1 vegetable which was not good at all. Will not recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandara r, Manager Sales & Marketing at Mandara Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Valued customer,

On behalf of Mandara Hotels, I wish to sincerely apologize for the disappointment caused to you.

Your valued comments stated are greatly appreciated and kindly note that necessary action has been taken to fine-tune our service standards.

Thank you

Ruklanthi Jayatissa
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Mediocre rooms combined with sloppy service probably makes this one of the worst places to stay in the vicinity. Highly disappointed by the lack of commitment by the team to detail. Feels cheated and let down.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandara r, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mandara Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Sir,

On behalf of Mandara Hotels, I wish to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment caused to you.
Your valued comments stated are greatly appreciated as it is with such constructive criticism that our facilities would be enriched.

Ruklanthi Jayatissa
Manager /Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I got to the Mandara Resort purely on instinct. I had driven down to the South and was planning to be back by the evening but got too tired and decided to stay the night. Not having been to the area before I decided to take a chance on Mandara. It turned out to be a good choice. The staff was excellent and the acting manager, Kamal Gunasekara, was a very Gracious and kind host. The rooms were large but cosy, well furnished and the ambience was soothing.
I will definitely be coming back for a longer planned stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandara r, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mandara Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you very much for selecting Mandara Resort. Your valuable comments are welcome indeed as it would no doubt assist us in providing an improvised service to all potential guests.
Look forward to your return in the future.
Thank you

Ruklanthi Jayatissa
Manager Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We couldn't wait to get to Mandara, which is marketed as a Mirissa paradise. However our opinion of the hotel went steeply downhill the longer we were there. Where do I start?
Well, given the cost of the holiday my 2 rating comes with that in mind. Sure there are worse places in Mirissa but you don't pay anywhere near the same amount to stay in any of those. If we'd had our honeymoon here I would have been upset.
On a positive note the hotel is situated on a stretch of beautiful and unspoiled beach. It was a little disconcerting to see cows walking up and down, but I became kind of fond of that! The pool too was nice and had lovely lights in the floor that twinkled in the evening.
Our room (105) was nice compared to others we managed to glimpse. We had just two point of complaint- The jacuzzi was more of a large bath tub with a power jet function, so don't be tempted to pay lots more for these. And our 'sea view' was more of a 'palm tree and roof view, with a sea glimpse' sort of view. There was a large roof just below our balcony which had festering rain water on the top.
The rooms are turned down twice a day and he cleaning staff did a nice job. On the final day flowers were scattered in our bath, which was a nice touch. Unfortunately they also turned on the jets so that they sprayed everywhere when we touched the taps...
As is customary in hotels, there was a "facilities and services" leaflet in our room. It is a mystery to me who compiled this leaflet because much of what was advertised the hotel simply didn't offer. Take for example the reference to other trips on the back- the lady at reception had no idea what I was getting at when I referred to other trips. One trip that the hotel do plug however is whale watching. If I'd been asked one more time whether I wanted to book this trip then I would have screamed. We did in fact book this trip. It cost 6000rupees and we were told that this was inclusive of travel, sandwiches and of course the whale watching trip itself. In fact we were later told that we would need to pay for a tuc tuc and the hotel were able to get us one at more than twice the normal price.
This wasn't the only occasion when travel arrangements proved more difficult than you might have hoped. One day we arranged a taxi to mirissa centre, which is about 2km away. We were quoted 800 rupees and then waited for c.30 mins. No taxi had arrived and therefore we asks the desk to check the taxi drivers whereabouts. We were then told that he was going to be a while and that the price would in fact be more like 1600 rupees. We opted out, walked down the dirt track to the road and flagged down a tuc tuc.
How about the food? If it arrives as you have ordered and once it actually gets to you then it is generally "quite nice" (I put it no higher than that). We had two disasters- one with the devilled chicken, which was in fact a plate of devilled bones, and then a rock solid burger. In the first dish the waiter had the decency to get the staff to ask for another small portion, but I had no idea that this was being brought and therefore ploughed on with the rest of it.
The service though was an absolute shambles. I was ready for misunderstandings and things lost in translation, but they could not get the basics right. In almost every meal the items on the menu were not in stock. No meals were brought for us, either as a couple or when two other friends joined us, to enable us all to eat together. Even items which they had run out of but which you said you would really like to try they did not get in. Often there were promises of "we'll get that tomorrow" but they never did. My simple request for a diet coke (on the menu) was met with head shaking.
Breakfasts were good, if not a little overbearing. This was once again a menu rather than a buffet style and unless you wanted everything on the continental, American or Sri Lankan menu then you got the feeling that you were offending someone! I don't know about you but if I have an inactive day planned then I really don't want fruit juice, followed by the fruit platter, followed by the meat platter, followed by the cheese platter, followed by cereal, followed by yoghurt, followed by eggs (fried poached or scrambled), followed by pancakes....!

How about the spa I here you say? Go elsewhere is my response. My husband asked on our first day whether we could book a massage each. "Just come along at any time" we were told. Wrong. We arrived and the spa were busy. Nobody could tell us how long they would be so we went back to our room and reception promised to call. 1 hour later we received a call and were told that the spa had now gone home. "How about tomorrow?" Reluctantly we booked two people for massages at 6pm the following day. Upon turning up however we were told that the spa had not turned up to work today because "He is scared that you are pregnant..." I explained that this is usually not a problem beyond the second trimester but got nowhere. "How about my husband?" I asked. This was met with shrugs and a few phone calls trying to find somewhere else. We didn't hear how they got on and didn't bother with the hassle of a re-book. The hotel were unapologetic.
The standard of service progressively declined by the end of the holiday. By the end we struggled to find a member of staff who would take a drinks order. They all looked busy, but busy with what I don't know because there were hardly any other guests. Which brings me to my final complaint. There was no atmosphere whatsoever in the evening. It was lovely having some peace and quiet in the day time but there was nothing to do in the evening. The hotel leaflet promised music, but there wasn't even a CD playing in the restaurant. The staff were clearing up around you by 9pm, and this was usually in an annoying way which involved clearing one glass/ fork at a time rather than waiting until every one was finished. After dinner there was nowhere to go and nothing to see. There wasn't even a bar area to sit with friends until your food had digested. We took to sitting on our bed with the iPad or playing cards at our coffee table in the room. They have wireless, but you can't get the internet in your room (or we couldn't anyway).

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

First of all the hotel advertised that it is located in mirissa which is the main reason we booked here when it is not, it is actually in welligama which is a fishing village. The rooms are clean however, we did not want to stay here and kept going out because the service was terrible, the food was bad (it took such a long time, and all the bread and croissants at breakfast were really stale), and the staff were really pushy and wouldn't leave us alone. I wouldn't recommend staying here, especially if you are all women. The men serving us lingered around to the point of making us uncomfortable, despite us looking the other way or walking away and would stare at us for long periods of time which made us feel unsafe. One night we had a knock on the door late, at around 10 or 11pm, my friend and I were in bed so our other friend answered the door, a male staff member let himself into the room without permission and said we didn't sign our bill (which could have waited until the morning) when my friend signed it and handed it back he grabbed her hand and wouldn't let go...she had to push him out the door and was terrified. We left the next morning and found another hotel despite already having payed for another two nights. This place has no atmosphere and they do not respect your privacy. It is also really overpriced for what it is. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. There are so many lovely places to stay in mirissa.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandara r, Director of Sales at Mandara Boutique Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of Mandara Hotels, I wish to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment caused to you.

Such incidents are not norm in our hotel and we immediately checked with the hotel whether any complaint has been lodged to that effect during your stay or prior to your departure from the hotel.

On perusal of records, (guest comments card filled by you) and having checked with the staff, there was no such complaint made by you prior to your departure.

However, your valued comments stated are greatly appreciated as it is with such constructive criticism that our facilities would be enriched and please note that necessary action has been taken for further investigation.

Thank you.

Ruklanthi Jayatissa
Sales & Marketing Manager
Mandara Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely weekend at mandara mirissa. The rooms we got were spacious and lovely. The view from the room was amazing.

However the food could improve and the hotel could get more staff to improve the efficiency of the service. The existing staff were wonderful, specially the F & B manager who was so alert and attentive to all the guests.
Overall it was a nice stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandara r, Director of Sales at Mandara Boutique Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Mandara Resort for your vacation. It is inspiring to hear that our existing staff was wonderful. Your valuable comments are welcome indeed as it would no doubt assist us in providing an improvised service to all potential guests.

Look forward to your return in the future.

Thank you.

Ruklanthi Jayatissa
Sales & Marketing Manager
Mandara Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandara Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandara Boutique Resort

Address: 416 A Pelena Mirissa, Mirissa 81700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandara Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest small luxury/boutique hotel - Mandara Resort at Mirissa Weligama. Overlooking famous Read Cliff Mountains and Mirissa Bay with a breathtaking view of the Indian Ocean, Mandara Resort lets you leave all worldly cares behind. The rooms are fully equipped with satellite TV, DVD player and home theater systems, safety lockers, AC, rooms with jacuzzi, rooms with private plunge pools. Swimming pool with fiber optic lighting, restaurant, bar and gymnasium with state of the art equipment to keep you fit, Wi-Fi facility. With its en-suite concept of accommodation, Mandara Resort offers you luxury of delectable food prepared by our chefs to suit your biological cycle with the choice of both international and local cuisine and wines to complement your palate. Our staff would serve your food in the place of your choice(garden, in room, under the shade of Panda muss). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Mandara Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandara Boutique Hotel Mirissa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandara Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.