We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach, lovely rooms, great location to explore the winery region - but don't go in January” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region to your Saves list
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Bunker Bay Road | Off Cape Naturaliste Road, Bunker Bay, Naturaliste, Western Australia 6281, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booker
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naturaliste
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, lovely rooms, great location to explore the winery region - but don't go in January”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

Stayed for 4 days last week. Just a gorgeous beachfront location. Great big rooms, with kitchenette and glorious bathrooms with a big soaking bath! Have brekky in your room with supplies form the local town 10 mins away or go to the beach cafe 5 mins walk along the beach. Flies were a bit pesky but ok. (Apparently the flies are on their way out after a few weeks of having to wear flynets on your head!!! Locals say Bunker Bay is renowned for them at this time of year.) I will definitely come back - just not in Jan :)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    387
    162
    67
    27
See reviews for
271
561
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

We stayed at the resort as part of our Xmas Holiday. My sister and her husband paid for us as a thnak you for sorting out some issues with their house in the UK. We found the resort a very nice and relaxing place to stay. We had a 2 bedroom villa which was very well appointed and had everything we needed. The no cars is nice and makes for a relaxing stay. The resort is big but not intimidating, the central reception and restaurants is not over sized.

Location to the beach is great, a 3 minute stroll down the private paths and you are on a beach that is just brill. We went to the beach bar ? from other comments thought it was going to be a low key affair, no it is quite upmarket and not what we expected for a lunch.

We had drinks in the bar and visited the restaurant for a meal which was very good.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

This is a wonderful part of Australia to see and the accommodation is a great setting and place to base yourself for a few days to see all that is on offer in the region. We stayed in a Deluxe Lakeside One Bedroom Villa. On route from Perth we heard radio reports about the fly plague over summer in the area but were not prepared for the onslaught on our arrival. Once we had checked in we were transfered by golf cart to our Villa as cars do not proceed into the Villa area. (a good thing which adds to the environment around the resort and quietness)
Our Villa was spacious and well appointed but neded to be a bit cleaner. (cobwebs and dirty windows and floors). The appointments are great for a stay of a week or so, we stayed 7 days. The kitchen has all you need to self cater but the restaurant and bar were also both very good. An excellent wine list is available with many local varieties on offer. A local winery provided tastings each day while we stayed.
A feature of the Villa is the bathroon with lots of space and a great deep spa. The pool is really good although not all of the lounges had comfortable mattresses and were a
premium at busy times as were fly nets! The beach is something to savior and we enjoyed walks and swimming each day.
The staff are mainly travelling from overseas and provided a friendly chat at anytime about their travels and the flies!
Some early morning rain on a couple of the mornings provided a respite for a while from the flies, but we were able to cope and they did not spoil our holiday in anyway. Everyone wore the flynets as a fashion accessory anyway! We found Bunker Bay a wonderful place to visit.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

We booked the most attractive accommodation for our stay to visit the Margaret River Wine region. Unfortunately, the resort was a 15 min drive from Dunsborough, so we had too make the journey in each day to tour the wineries - our mistake, we should have realised. The apartments are owned privately so there were knives missing, a filthy iron and staff told us that the owners were reluctant to replace items as needed. Room service was lousy, the whole place seemed to be run by young back packers. Every day there would be something missing, bathmat, pool towels etc. One day we asked for pool towels at reception, only to be told that there were none - the truck would be arriving that day with supplies. We were there for five days and when I asked about the guests laundry, was told there wasn't one. (The brochure that we had consulted before our trip said that there was a guest laundry) We sat in the restaurant on the first day and it took around 15 mins for a wait staff to acknowledge our presence. Description of the resort was 'absolute beach frontage'. Well if you stood on tip toes on the front deck you could see the sea. Best part, when you could see Bunker Bay, there were whales frolicking constantly and of course the excellent wineries and restaurants that abound in the MR.
Our favourites, Yoyager and Knee Deep for lunch, Laurence Winery for tasing plates and magnificient buildings and gardens. The staff and wines at Fermoy and Swooping Magpie. Wine tour by Cellar D'or and driver Gerry was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

Our annual xmas / new year holiday was just about destroyed by this property. I had such high hopes for it, lazy days on a glistening beach followed by lazy afternoons in a comfortable 5star resort. The beauty of this beach has to be seen to be belived, it is gorgeous. However, QWest is NOT a 5star to follow it up with.

Where shall I start with our 'Fawlty Towers' vacation. Check in was easy. And that's where the positives cease. The room had no toiletries on arrival and it remained that way for most of our stay regardless of the polite letter I left and then two phone calls to housekeeping for, dare I ask, soap. Forget shampoo and conditioner. I just wanted some soap. I know, I'm asking alot! Our room was tidied only every second day and with food waste in our accommodation I am sure you can understand what that lack of cleanliness meant.

Oh, we stayed for 8 nights with all of this. Pre paying meant no early checkout without the $300 per night penalty.

Next, oh yes, it's mid summer in Western Australia and we asked at reception for a beach umbrella (as was noted available in the inroom guide) only to be told "I'm sorry they are all out" with a laughter. Staff went on to say "can you believe that we have 12 umbrella's and they are ALL out" with a smile. Hmmmmm, mid summer, beach, heat, yes dear, I CAN believe they are all out. With sun sense being drummed into us why would a property of over 150 rooms (some being 2 and 3 bedrooms) have only 12 umbrella's. I'm no Nicole Kidman fair skin but hey, how about a bit of sensibility.

The food in the something-about-a-moon restaurant is unbelieeeeeevably ordinary. Absolutely no flavour with a pricetag that does not represent this lack of key ingredient.

Overall, staff have a huge case of NFI syndrome and really, they just don't give a toss about much.

Jack who looked after our check in and check out was the only good asset this property posseses. He'll get swiped up by the Wyndham Vacation or Windmills soon enough I am sure.

What other delights found us at Quay West ???? Oh, internet - $8 per half hour!!! I've just come out of a stay at a Hyatt and even there I was only charged $5 per half hour. Bloody Mary - $19 and I had to instruct on how to make a decent one.

Anyway, I'm sure you are getting the drift. Just don't go there!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
348 helpful votes 348 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights in October in a 1 bedroom Lake View Villa. Our object was to relax, enjoy exploring the Margaret River area and to celebrate our 5th Wedding Anniversary. We don’t usually splash out on such an expensive resort type accommodation but we got a great rate of AUD 225 per night (had to pay on booking and no cancellation allowed) and that along with the good TripAdvisor reviews clinched the deal.

Although not too resort experienced we often stay in ‘self contained apartment’ style accommodation. Our villa was very spacious, tastefully furnished in the minimalistic style, the kitchen had everything we needed to prepare our own meals, the laundry looked good (used this cool spot to store our wine purchases), air conditioning worked well, the deck furniture was generous and our privacy assured. The big bathroom was fabulous and we enjoyed the spa bath and huge shower. Our villa was serviced thoroughly each day.

Reception staff were great (some of the best we have experienced) – always had time for our questions, were very welcoming on arrival and we were driven by buggy to our villa. We enjoyed the heated pool - quite warm enough for us in October. The pool is not suitable for children who cannot swim. There were a lot of young families staying there during our visit. We had dinner one evening at ‘The Other Side of the Moon’ restaurant. The menu was not huge but had a nice selection including local produce. We thought the prices reasonable and the serving size generous. The gardens of the resort are lovely – every changing colors, shapes etc. The design of the resort ensures everyone has privacy and makes for a fascinating walk along the winding paths/mini roadways. Yes there is a slope and it is quite steep too from the sea level (where our lake side villa was located) to the pool, up again to the restaurant/lobby and up again to the car park. Do choose your accommodation location carefully if you do not enjoy walking up a steep slope. We carried our wine purchases down to our villa from the car park most afternoons as the weather was warm. On departure we carried the wine all back up to the car park but I am quite sure a buggy would have been readily available on request.

The beach was a delight, great sand, interesting rocky outcrops and plenty of length to wander. We walked from the resort up to the lighthouse and took a lighthouse tour. This took most of the morning but was a great experience. On our return we lunched at the very casual Bunkers the beach café (a short walk along the beach from the resort). We would have enjoyed a dinner there too but they did not open in the evening. Lunch was expensive, with a very interesting menu including lots of fish dishes, good service and we enjoyed it.

Only negatives were that our villa could have done with some maintenance. The wooden floor was badly scratched (obvious as soon as you entered the front door), the two patios (wooden planked) were both peeling and need refurbishing), a fly screen was missing from one window (an essential requirement as lots of bugs and mozzies by the lake at dusk), our dish washer leaked (only once?) but you could see by the stain on the floor boards that this had happened previously and the cushions on the settee were ‘tired’ and needed replacing.

Yes we would stay again especially if we could get such a good $ deal and hopefully we would get better maintained villa. We loved it by the lake but next time would choose a villa higher up the hill to enjoy a sea view.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

As always in Aus, flies abound, but I could not fault the stay at all!

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region

Address: 42 Bunker Bay Road | Off Cape Naturaliste Road, Bunker Bay, Naturaliste, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Naturaliste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naturaliste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting Pullman Bunker Bay Resort is an idyllic 5-star retreat 3 hours south of Perth in the heart of Western Australia's picturesque, world renowned Margaret River wine region. This luxurious oasis is nestled on the pure white sands and azure waters of tranquil Bunker Bay and spans 35 acres of beautifully landscaped native gardens, bordered by the Cape Naturaliste National Park. The resort offers 150 luxuriously appointed studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom villas in contemporary Australian style; natural local materials have been used wherever possible and internal finishes include sandstone, Jarrah timber floors and limestone feature walls. All villas offer a choice of garden or lake views and private courtyard or deck. Resort facilities and services include 24-hour reception, concierge and room service, complimentary WiFi in common areas, heated infinity-edge swimming pool, tennis court, gymnasium and playground with BBQ picnic area. Other Side of the Moon Restaurant presents distinctly "Modern Australian" menu a choice of alfresco or indoor dining with superb Indian Ocean vistas. Also overlooking the water is Bunker Bay Bistro & Bar, ideal for casual dining and cocktails with friends and family. Both venues are complemented by an impressive wine list showcasing local favourites. The resort's award-winning health and rejuvenation day spa, Vie Spa, offers luxe treatments that echo the relaxed, natural feel of its secluded South-West location. Each of the 6 spa suites features the beauty of natural light with the privacy of your own secluded courtyard and personal shower. Alternatively, 2 'couple's suites' are available, perfect for romantic shared experiences. With recreation in mind, the resort also offers complimentary weekly activities for adults and children, including yoga, wine tastings and arts and crafts. Local attractions abound with 90+ superb wineries and cellar doors just moments away, alongside a plethora of natural attractions and unique activities including art and craft galleries, magical Ngilgi Cave, the Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse and seasonal whale-watching and wildflower tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Resort Bunker Bay Hotel Naturaliste
Quay West Hotel Bunker Bay
Quay West Naturaliste
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region Australia/Western Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.