We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region

Save Saved
You added Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Bunker Bay Road | Off Cape Naturaliste Road, Bunker Bay, Naturaliste, Western Australia 6281, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naturaliste
perth
1 review
“Birthday getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were happy with the room and specially the beach is spectacular! To use my complimentary nite is worth the membership. Only one little confusion that during the check out process the staff mentioned that there was a note for an adjustment fees but they couldnt find what they were. It makes us feeling a bit worry that my card would be charged for something that we didn't use. Overall, we would go back to stay in this hotel again but will ensure about the fees.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRBB1, General Manager at Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Accor888,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Pullman Resort Bunker Bay. Please accept my apologies in regards to the confusion on fees during your stay. I will investigate further to ensure this does not happen in the future.

Kind regards,
Bronwyn Bulpitt
General Manager
Pullman Resort Bunker Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    319
    126
    54
    22
See reviews for
229
450
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We booked for a Friday and Saturday night, and I took my wife, son and daughter and their respective partners, and our grandaughter (5mths). We had booked a 2 bedroom villa and a studio villa and our accommodation was side by side with an inter connecting door which was great. The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms are very nice and the 6 of us plus baby had plenty of room. The 2 bedroom villa sleeps four and has 2 bathrooms, but is actually set up for six people-it has a dining table with 6 chairs and cutlery and crockery for 6 so we were able to share meals in the villa. The bedrooms were very quiet with blackout curtains so no problems with sleep quality-even the baby slept well!
Our rooms included breakfast which was very good, although the restaurant can be busy at peak times. Didn't have any other meals there as it was fully booked both evenings. Ate at Clancy's fish pub in Dunsborough one evening, very good, realistic prices and family friendly.
Went for long walks along the pristine beach, and also at the end of Cape Naturaliste road there is a series of signed bush walks that offer superb views. A visit to the lighthouse is recommended.
The only drawback for our stay was that we could not get a later checkout (checkout is 11.00am). As a gold Accor member I thought a 12.00 checkout would be reasonable but no go. I understand that a later checkout is subject to availability, but I simply ended up with a crowd of people all trying to checkout at 11.00am, and had to wait 20 mins to do so. (If I had been given a later checkout this would have been avoided, doesn't make much sense to me).

This was my first stay here and while it is not cheap, I would have no hesitation in staying again, we all enjoyed the weekend and as it is only less than 3 hours drive from Perth we'll be back!

Room Tip: The villas with interconnecting doors are good for a larger family group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This place is fantastic. The staff,location and service are very good overall. The only negative I would say is the service at breakfast time can be a little slow and having to pay extra for non filtered coffee is a bit much . Can't wait to go there again !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our last stay was October 2012 just before we were due to have our first baby. We stayed in a studio garden view villa and was the last treat to ourselves before the impending life changer.

Location: 10 minute drive from Dunsborough. As it is out of town and surrounded by bush and ocean it really sets the scene of seclusion and escape from the daily grind.

Reception: First impressions count and the grand entrance with stunning view from the lobby do not disappoint. The checkin staff seem to be from all around the world and are very pleasant. We were then offered a buggy ride with our luggage to our villa which was a nice touch especially if you have alot of gear.

Villa: The studio villa we were in was perfect. The bed is large (king size) and comfortable with nice pillows. There is a kitchenette with a microwave and fridge. Great for making a quick breakfast. The bathroom is the best part, there is a very deep bath with a spacious open shower and a lovely sink area. The amenities are of the luxurious Roger & Gallet range and smell very fitting for the environment. There are also reverse cycle aircon units in each villa, iron and ironing board, in room safe. We had breakfast every morning on the outside balcony area which was lovely with the native birds singing away.

Food: We ate in the restaurant for one of our nights and although we have had "finer" food there is certainly nothing wrong with the quality or standard of food offered and in my opinion not as bad as some of the reviews I have read here on TA. We also had room service one night which is basically a pizza menu / cut down bar menu which was also pleasant enough. It's a good idea to book the restaurant before your stay though. There is also Bunkers Beach Cafe next door which does awesome breakfast and coffee also with a great view and literally a short walk up the beach front.

Pool & Beach: The pool and pool area are absolutely stunning. The infinity pool with the view over the gardens down to the ocean is something else. We were blessed with nice weather so had an early morning dip each day followed by lounging on the deck chairs. We actually decided on our babies name by this pool. The beach is beautiful and stretches in an arc with clean sand, clear water and big blue sky.

We loved our stay here so much and vowed to return after our child was born so we are going back in April for our first "family" holiday. This time we are staying in a 2 bedroom villa which I will review down the track. This trip I have booked a surprise spa treatment for my wife at mii spa which should earn me some brownie points!.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Loved this place and will definitely be returning.
Stayed in a studio, which was fantastic as it had everything we could have needed and was modern / very comfortable.
Awesome beach and lovely pool - although it didn't feel like it was heated to 26 degrees.
Only thing that stopped us from giving it 5 stars was the restaurant food. Breakfast was ok, but evening dinner wasn't as good as what you would expect for a 5 star hotel.....yet was 5 star pricing!
Would definitely recommend the hotel for couples wanting a relaxing few nights get away, but would also recommend you eat in Dunsborough itself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRBB1, General Manager at Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear kevgiggs,
Thank you for your review on Pullman Resort Bunker Bay, please accept my apologies in regards your experience in Other Side of the Moon Restaurant. Please be assured we will take this feedback on board to assist in reducing future occurrences. We are currently reviewing the menus which will be launched in the coming months.
Kind regards,
Bronwyn Bulpitt
General Manager
Pullman Resort Bunker Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Absolutely the most stunningly lovely place, beautiful Studio villa, polished wooden floors, views to the ocean, lie in the bath and look at the sky. Fantastic!. Lovely and quite no cars parked near the Villas, just a quite walk along pathways through beautiful native landscaped gardens to your room. Private Beach not far. We couldn't fault the place and wished we could have stayed longer, had to drive back to Perth to fly home to Brisbane. I felt it was a real priviledge to be sharing such a gracious place to stay with Cape Naturaliste. Thankyou! World Class!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently stayed in a two bedroom apartment for three nights. What a beautiful location. We were there for my brothers wedding, and the beach and gardens were well used by us all. They have BBQ's that guests can use so as a large group of travellers was a good social point for us all.
That staff at the resort were so lovley to deal with, very pleasent attitudes etc. Checkin and out very quick and easy, and view from reception one of the best ever.
My oly complaint was with the apartments . Very dusty inside and out, I know its a beach location but it really is long overdue. Maintience really needs to be looked at also.Light bulbs out in both bathrooms, out door lights not working front or backdoor. We did put arequest in for them to fixed,but still not done by the time we left,no fresh milk or cutting boards. Just little things i know ,but when you keep finding them for this sort of money, little frustrating.
Having said that the wedding was so beautifully done and was a credit to all involved in the day,staff best ever at a function i have been to,food great and once again LOCATION.Enjoy

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRBB1, General Manager at Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Tania G,
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Pullman Resort Bunker Bay and I am pleased you enjoyed your brothers wedding.
Thank you for your comments regarding the villa cleanliness and maintenance, these comments will be reviewed by the relevant departments and processes put in place to reduce future occurrences.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Resort Bunker Bay.
Kind regards,
Bronwyn Bulpitt
General Manager
Pullman Resort Bunker Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region

Address: 42 Bunker Bay Road | Off Cape Naturaliste Road, Bunker Bay, Naturaliste, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Naturaliste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naturaliste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting Pullman Bunker Bay Resort is an idyllic 5-star retreat 3 hours south of Perth in the heart of Western Australia's picturesque, world renowned Margaret River wine region. This luxurious oasis is nestled on the pure white sands and azure waters of tranquil Bunker Bay and spans 35 acres of beautifully landscaped native gardens, bordered by the Cape Naturaliste National Park. The resort offers 150 luxuriously appointed studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom villas in contemporary Australian style; natural local materials have been used wherever possible and internal finishes include sandstone, Jarrah timber floors and limestone feature walls. All villas offer a choice of garden or lake views and private courtyard or deck. Resort facilities and services include 24-hour reception, concierge and room service, complimentary WiFi in common areas, heated infinity-edge swimming pool, tennis court, gymnasium and playground with BBQ picnic area. Other Side of the Moon Restaurant presents distinctly "Modern Australian" menu a choice of alfresco or indoor dining with superb Indian Ocean vistas. Also overlooking the water is Bunker Bay Bistro & Bar, ideal for casual dining and cocktails with friends and family. Both venues are complemented by an impressive wine list showcasing local favourites. The resort's award-winning health and rejuvenation day spa, Vie Spa, offers luxe treatments that echo the relaxed, natural feel of its secluded South-West location. Each of the 6 spa suites features the beauty of natural light with the privacy of your own secluded courtyard and personal shower. Alternatively, 2 'couple's suites' are available, perfect for romantic shared experiences. With recreation in mind, the resort also offers complimentary weekly activities for adults and children, including yoga, wine tastings and arts and crafts. Local attractions abound with 90+ superb wineries and cellar doors just moments away, alongside a plethora of natural attractions and unique activities including art and craft galleries, magical Ngilgi Cave, the Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse and seasonal whale-watching and wildflower tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Resort Bunker Bay Hotel Naturaliste
Quay West Hotel Bunker Bay
Quay West Naturaliste
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region Australia/Western Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;