We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kalpitiya was different to what we expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divyaa Lagoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Divyaa Lagoon to your Saves list
Divyaa Lagoon
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Dutch Bay | Kandakuliya, Kalpitiya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Kalpitiya B&B and Inns
Colombo
1 review
“Kalpitiya was different to what we expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Not lush and green like the southern beach areas but desert like. We were glad we picked Divyaa Lagoon hotel. The hotel is located on the lagoon beach and not the sea beach which is in front of the lagoon, we were pleasantly surprised with quality of the rooms. The staff were helpful. The best part was the location which was stunning, it was on the Dutch Bay Lagoon with lovely views across the sand bank and the ocean which was pristine. Watching the sunset on the deck in the water was our favorite moment. We will be back to enjoy the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    10
    4
    18
See reviews for
19
13
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We spent 3 days at Divya lagoon during the school holidays in April 2013. It was one of the best vacation we ever had. The friendly atmosphere & courteous service of staff is commendable. We stayed at the Pavillion villa which has a big nice & clean room & my-self, my wife & two daughters (age 10 & 17 ) stayed comfortably. Although there is no electricity & water supply in the surrounding area, power & water supply was not interrupted at all. A/C was available day & night. Food is delicious, & they served more than adequate quantities. There is no set menu, so we could order anything we want.
Hotel is facing the lagoon, but sea is just few meters away. Staying at Divya is worth for money.

Room Tip: For a small family, pavillion villa is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is located beside a spectacular kalpitiya lagoon. The villas are tastefully designed facing the lovely lagoon. It is so peaceful to be there. But still this property has a long way to go. We did not have water during our stay and food was so very late we had to wait more than one hour to get our food. This food was pre-ordered about 4 hours beforehand. The pool is lovely but needs cleaning. This area is a paradise for kite surfers. So if the management is more alert and maintain this property well, I think this can be a lovely place. In fact can become a paradise right beside the lagoon,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Here is the Deal at the Divyaa Lagoon Resort:

First a disclosure: I am an American who lives in Southeast Asia and an active kitesurfer who has traveled to many resorts and spots in the region. I am also friends with the owner and his management team. We became friendly during my extended stay last July. Beyond friendship, these are awesome people who are striving to give you an excellent experience at their hotel. Second my time there: I spent a few weeks staying that the Divyaa, last August 2012 and most recently a week this past late May 2013. The experience gets better and better. The website is over the top so bring down expectations a bit from the website. This is not the management's fault. The website is their ideal. However, the reality is they are trying to build that ideal in a very remote spot that is just now being developed and is dependent on an unresponsive government to get the infrastructure complete.

That being said, the hotel gives you their best. And when you don't compare with the website, they deliver beyond expectations. The rooms are beautiful, the owner makes furniture and he liberally uses his lovely wood furnishings throughout the complex. Each cottage is well appointed with a large comfortable and super clean bed (And I am a clean freak!) The bathrooms are modern, big and comfortable with lots of large fluffy towels. You have super cool air con and an overhead fan; and, they have finally got the wifi working right. Its all coming together. Okay, the water pressure is low. That is because they are still trucking in the sweet water. But if you remind the management the time you want to take a shower, they will ensure adequate pressure. Yes, the power can go off and it happened a few times during my last stay, but it always went back on fairly quickly and it just became a quaint expectation after a while. (note: The government continues to delay running the power lines adequately but Divyaa keeps its own power source.).

Now the open verandah and bar are just great. And after a day of kiting to chill there at the bar with a frosty beer and the sun setting in your eyes is what it is all about. You forget your cares. It is so good. The pool is now working well and is very clean. And let me tell you, a swim after kiting in the sunset right before that beer is just the thing. Filling that pool had been no easy feat. Divyaa keeps it just great now and I had refreshing swims every afternoon. There are little pools in the back of each cottage; however, they are drained because its hard to maintain the water at this time (but they are there for the future). Anyway, kalpitlya has lots of mosquitos so no need to give them a breeding ground (and you be sure to bring your repellent!). The grounds are dry and sandy and unfortunately the grass they planted died. They are busy re landscaping and planting some more trees and beautifying the grounds. Divyaa is a small place and right near the lagoon beach. Its very cozy and comfortable and everyone gets together in the evenings at the bar and dining verandah. You will like that!

The food is good, fresh and straight forward. Just tell them each day what you want to eat and when you want it and they will prepare it. Its kind of custom made that way, especially with dinner. We had big breakfast each day of omelet, toast and fruits, a shake etc... it was good. And dinner we told them in advance and picked stuff from the menu - crabs, fish, fried chicken, vegetable curry, mostly local stuff. They made it all for us - plenty of food.

This is by far the most convenient comfortable spot on the lagoon at Kalpitlya. And by far the most professional caring staff, led by a very cool and hardworking manager. In sum, Divyaa is a lovely place, it has a few hiccups, but you will not get this level of comfort, so close to kiting on the lagoon and with a caring staff. It is by far your best choice.

ALSO IMPORTANT FOR KITERS: Divyaa staff can arrange for you to take a boat to the island to Kite. Sure you can kite at the lagoon and Anwar and his trike will take you there and back (300 rupiah one way) each day (its a few minutes only), but the magic is at the "kiter's island". This island is due North of the lagoon about an 1+ boat ride. Arrange the boat from the Divyaa hotel. They will contact the fishermen association to arrange a boat for you to pick you up right at Divyaa Beach. It is a little more then US $100+ for the boat for the day to take you and your group there. This is better then using Kite Lanka camp who have been over charging everyone at a US $100 per person!!! The kiting experience is magical and the Divyaa management will arrange for you for the right price. This is a benefit for staying at the Divyaa which is a great place for Kiters as well as dolphin watchers, safari park enthusiasts (there is a leopard park not faraway) and so on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

As our holiday at this beautiful setting comes to an end we are going back with happy thoughts of our stay at this lovely resort. Food has been really tasty especially the seafood which was in plenty.

Lister and Crew were so helpful from the moment we stepped out of our vehicles and it’s just been good R&R from there on. Also everybody over there was always with a smile. So it has been a friendly atmosphere that we’re been looked after at Divyaa.
Many Thanks to the Divyaa team.

Room Tip: Pavillian Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This resort has great potential, when the balance 10 rooms in the garden wing is finished. There is much to do, couldn’t go to watch dolphins as the sea was pretty rough. Boat trip up the big lagoon was fun, but the boat owners charge too much. The design is lovely, the exterior can be improved. Grass was dry and more trees in the garden would make it nice and shady and cut out the hot Sun, one or two umbrellas on the pool deck would make the difference.

Dulhari

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My worst hotel experience - and I travel a lot !
There was no welcome, no water in the backyard-pool (we called it "The Swamp" good conditions for mosquitos), no moquito net (about 300 bites after 3 nights),no menu in the restaurant, no staff who had ever worked in a hotel (but they love staring with open mouth at your wife when she is swimming in the nice saltwater-pool).
Citation from Divyaa Lagoon Resort website":....watching the waves crash to the shore with spectacular beach views". Just a big lie - you can't see the ocean from there !!
The food was really a mess: for breakfast only dry toast, always the same red jam and a very small piece of butter, once cold sausages (which I didn't order - but the dogs loved it).
AND IT WAS VERY EXPENSIVE - THATS WHAT I CALL A MAJOR RIPOFF 11

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lankika, Director of Sales at Divyaa Lagoon, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
This guest was booked in to Veranda Room, the lowest category of rooms, he was upgraded free of charge to a Tropical Villa, which is the highest category of Rooms with private plunge pools on the understanding that the private pool was not useable and out of service due a leak.
It is unfair for him to claim that there was no menu, how can we run a resort without a menu? He was on B&B and I cannot see any issue with the toast in the picture, breakfast includes juices, eggs, Sri Lankan food etc. Our apologies for the claim of the staff staring at his wife in the pool. The picture posted by him of the water front deck which is outside hotel boundary that was under repair is most inappropriate and done with deliberate intensions. Divyaa Resort is on the banks of the vast Kalpitiya Lagoon, we have not claimed it is on the sea beach, but the sea is right across the lagoon and clearly visible. Divyaa resort is the ONLY luxury hotel in the entire Kalpitiya peninsula and very reasonably priced. Please compare the pictures and prices with other hotels in Kalpitiya, on the Trip Advisor itself. We invite this guest and his family for a stay at Divyaa as our guest to experience the quality of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Divyaa Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divyaa Lagoon

Address: Dutch Bay | Kandakuliya, Kalpitiya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Kalpitiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpitiya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divyaa Lagoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for an action packed kitesurfing holiday in Sri Lanka then look no further than our beautiful luxury hotel situated on the shores of Dutch Bay, Kalpitiya's premier kitesurfing location. We have a full compliment of amenaties to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible, so after a hard day ripping it up you can relax in style with an ice cold drink as the sun goes down over the Western shores.Stunning orange sunsets, clear aquamarine ocean, secluded beaches that stretch for miles, vast lagoons, pink dolphins, blue whales, untouched coral reefs home to thousands of sea creatures and multi coloured fish.Welcome to Kalpitiya, Sri Lanka’s newest tourist hot spot and Kite Surfing paradise.Located on the edge of the historic Dutch Bay Lagoon, Divyaa hotel offers a welcome change to the discerning traveller looking to taste the tropics and immerse themselves in the flavour of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Divyaa Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divyaa Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.