We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Eat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rose and Crown

The Rose and Crown
Main Street, Sutton on the Forest YO61 1DP, England
+44 1347 811333
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $38
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Here at The Rose & Crown we celebrate local produce in all its glory, from Guest Ales & Cider to twisty carrots and freshly tugged beetroot from down the road. With monthly changing menus and daily specials you can be sure to be satisfied with our selection. Ranging from Wild Seabass to Lobster , Scallops from the Isle of Mull or how about Extra Mature Beef from R & J - Vegetables are from local allotments and Easingwold. Raising the Bar our warming, comfortable bar with a slight hint of a quirk, is the perfect place to sup a pint or two, with Live music on a Friday evening. The Rose & Crown also has the benefit of a large South Facing Garden with comfortable sofa's to relax and unwind on...there is also the benefit of a local playing park at the back of the garden. Perfect for the children!All in all The Rose & Crown is a pub that goes the extra mile we care about the customer experience, we are a small family team, from Sarah (the interior designer and singer and dancer watch out if she has a glass of wine in her hand) & Stuart (the engineer/ex-solider that's been pulled into 'PUB' life) to their four children and the larger merry bunch Richard/Carlos (Bruce Springsteen)/Adam/Brandon/Sophie - Miss Fast/Miss OCD Gayle/Welsh Jade/Alex aka Ronan Keating/Mr Michael/The mums Carol & Laura watch out as they both enjoy a good natter! We can't wait to welcome you! Putting the Treat back into Eating Out! We value your custom - thank you for your views and comments - Awards: AA Rosette 2012/13/14 - Michelin Guide 2012/13/14 - Featured in The Sunday Telegraph's Best Restaurants in the UK and Ireland 2013.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stumbled across this place whilst staying nearby, and I'm so glad we did! The first night we had just a drink and found the place to be so welcoming; locals and staff! The barman was friendly and professional and the atmosphere was relaxed. We therefore ate there the second night, and it was wonderful! My partner said it was the best belly of pork he'd ever had! Even the vegetarian dish I had showed just as much care and thought (and taste!) as the meat dishes, which can be unusual, as often a veggie option is just an afterthought or add on, so thank you! The meal deals at certain times are also a good idea.
The service was very good, the food excellent and the atmosphere relaxing, warm and welcoming; I'm glad I requested you for trip advisor as I can now see this is certainly the view of so many! A great night out; thank you; just a shame we don't live near enough for regular visits!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    327
    54
    14
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Excellent food, good beer and friendly service - all of our party really enjoyed our visit, and we highly recommend it!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, home cooked food, homely pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We enjoyed a meal here on Saturday evening. The staff were friendly, very happy to accommodate dietary requirements and the food very fresh and tasty. Although service was quite slow i think this was due to its popularity and the food being cooked from fresh and their attention to detail and to providing good quality food. Booking recommended. Out of the city centre but well worth the drive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Better than before”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Had cause to visit again ( more special offers) and were even more impressed than before. We both had fish - my hake was delicious and I'm told my husbands monkfish was great too. I had Eton mess for afters and he loved his lumpy bumpy pud. Busier than before. Much cosier atmosphere. Warm despite very cold night. Lovely staff. Will take my sister there this week to impress!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York,England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Reliable as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a place we go to for a special occasion but now they have the £9.99 early bird menus ( including a glass of wine) it is more affordable for a regular night out. Wide variety of dishes ranging from the usual scampi, steak and ale pie, to the specials such as pan fried duck in orange and brandy sauce which was divine. Portion sizes are just right- I leave feeling satisfied but not over stuffed. Friendly staff. The group at the next table were offerred reading glasses for the menu as they were struggling in the low light. A nice idea for those of us still struggling without glasses but really needing them! The house wine is more than acceptable and the waitress made sure we had the cap so that we could take the remains home to finish at leisure. We did not take children but I glanced at the children's menu and was a bit disappointed- when will people learn that not all children and parents want the standard burger, chicken gougons and chips with a fizzy drink option? My 2 year old grandson woud have polished off a slice of the duck with rosemary potatoes no problem. However I am sure the staff would oblige if asked.
Have had Sunday lunch a few times and it is excellent. Planning to try weekday lunch soon. The atmosphere is relaxing and the ablity to curtain off part of he restaurant in the evening when not full makes it cosy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceYork, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks for your comprehensive & very positive review - it is very much appreciated.
I take on board your point regards the Children's menu being stereotypical & somewhat agree with you. This version of the Kiddies menu is about the third version since we took over the restaurant last year & pretty much reflects what people have bought/asked for. We did have more "adulty" options on the original menu but they didn't sell - so we simplified the menu down to its current format. We do offer "smaller portions" of our main meals, but some meals are unsuitable for making smaller. As you correctly said, we'll do our best to oblige with requests from diners for their children.
Look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Thanks again for your great review.
Bruce, Carol & our team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rose and Crown also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
Knapton, North Yorkshire
Sutton on the Forest, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rose and Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.