We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant on Paxos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nionios Taverna

Nionios Taverna
Lakka, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Lakka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Leyland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The best restaurant on Paxos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have been to Lakka, Paxos a few times now and apart from the odd night we always eat at Nionios.

This is a family run restaurnat with the most amazing owners and food. Yanni cannot do enough for you and will take you into the kitchens to show you all the food on offer that day. The seats are in the village square so you are right at the heart of Lakka while you dine. It is a minutes walk from the harbour which is stunning especially in the evening.

I think we have tried most dishes now and never been disappointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    24
    9
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“nionios fantastic service and amazing food a must...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Food was very good as was the service love it every time we go to lakka we head to nionios and they always remember you which is amazing we eat there at least 10 out of the 14 nights

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, North Wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

You must go there its amazing. Yanni the owner is quite a character. The selection of dishes are amazing and he goes through everything in the kitchen.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Great customer service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were luck enough to eat out most evenings and a few afternoons on our fourteen night stay in Lakka some had great food but with poor service and some vice versa, only the odd occasion we felt had both, this is one...

We visited Nionios this September due to the reviews we read, it truly lived up to expectations.
I watched Yannis greet each and every customer explaining all the various fresh dishes that had been prepared that day with such pride and enthusiasm he is truly remarkable.
The food also is excellent my son and I had the freshly caught Scorpion fish, my wife the Swordfish washed down with a litre of local wine.

Great food and great service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have been going to Paxos since early 1960's and this is always our most favourite restaurant, so central to Lakka, so atmospheric, fabulous food. Yannis welcomes you into the kitchen and his famous patter has been seen all over the world via You Tube.
An experience not to be missed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nionios Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Nionios Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nionios Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.