We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay run by a lovely family....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vellianitatika Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gaios
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vellianitatika Retreat
Save
You added Vellianitatika Retreat to your Saves list
Gaios, Gaios, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Gaios B&B and Inns
Towcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay run by a lovely family....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I have just got back from a 2 week stay at the Vellianitatika Retreat. We had one week in the Olive Press and one week in the guest house. This is defintely one of the best places we have ever stayed in. The accomodation is beautiful, but its really Pam, Keith and Adam, the family who run it, that make the difference. Nothing is too much trouble for them and the breakfasts in the guest house are absolutely lovely! I would highly recommend this place and, of course, Paxos itself is a lovely island. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
55
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and i could not have imagined a better start to our honeymoon. Having been picked up by Keith from the port at Gaios, we arrived at the retreat and instantly new we had stmbled across an absolute gem. The retreat is so much more than a boutique guest house. The rooms are impeccably clean and beautifully styled. We stayed in the venetian room which opens out onto a gorgeous terrace. Pam, Keith and Adam are fantastic hosts, who literally think of everything.. flowers in our room ...the chilled prosecco and meze on arrival....restaurant recommendations....freshly made fruit lollies in the honesty fridge...we really were spoilt rotten!
Adam will arrange boat hire, quad bikes, make restaurant reservations ...the list goes on. We would highly recommend hiring a quad bike, this way you can explore the whole island relatively cheaply. Our favourite spot for a cold beer was a lovely bar in Loggos overlooking the sea..it really is picture postcard.
Pam and Keith's breakfasts are legendary....beautifully presented table decoration which Pam goes out of her way to do something unique each day. There are no set breakfast times here..just sit down whenever you're ready and let the culinary experience begin.
The atmosphere at the retreat is friendly and chilled out.....so much so you might never want to leave!!
We met some lovely people during our week stay and we will definitely return.
Congratulations guys! You have got it absolutley spot on xx

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My friend and I were lucky to find these places through Pam's sister Wendy, via Facebook. I am so pleased we decided to visit after Wendy told me how beautiful it was. We were lucky to have the experience of four nights in The Olive Press first and then three nights at The Retreat. The Olive Press is perfect if you want complete privacy and want to be left alone to totally chill, its beautifully restored and you have everything you need. There are some lovely items in the fridge for your arrival, along with bread and a bottle of Presecco! these tide you over until you want to walk into Gaios. There are some fantastic restaurants, we wanted to try them all, but Pam, Keith and Adam can give you advice if you are stuck where to choose! I really don't think you can have a bad meal on the island, but I would say to try The Paxos Club, which is just at the bottom of the track, from The Olive Press. Their lunches and evening meals are both delicious and the added plus is that they let you use their pool during the day, which is much needed at this time of year. We were a bit concerned when we first went, as we were not staying there, but they were very friendly to us, you will be welcomed! when I first walked into the gate of The Vellianitatika, I must say it took my breath away, it is stunningly beautiful and we felt privaliged to stay there. Everything is perfect and every thought has been put into attention to detail, even the outside toilet is stunning!! there is an 'honesty' fridge in the chill area, this is no ordinary firdge, its a pink SMEG! every time I looked at it, it made me smile! Pam also has ice lollys in there to cool you down, which is great. We were lucky that the three days we stayed there, a lovely couple were also there on honeymoon, they were really friendly so there was no problems sharing this space with them. We were lucky as they also shared our love for Mythos and G&T's, which helped when topping up the fridge! hello to the lovely Helen & Jim if you come on here, we hope the rest of your honeymoon was fantastic and wish you much happiness for the future, sorry we did not get to say goodbye. A mention must go to Colin, the 100 year old tortoise, he is so special and lives at The Retreat, just something else that makes this haven different. We had a fantastic last day, when all we wanted to do was chill and not get grumpy at the prospect of leaving the next day! we just sunbathed and sat a lot in the plunge pool cooling down with a G&T, which was fantastic. Pam then came out with a tray of goodies, which made the last day so special, her baking is amazing! also a mention should go to the effort she makes to do a different theme each morning at breakfast, my mornings since, have not been so exciting! If you are looking to stay somewhere in Greece that you have not experienced before, this is the place! but be warned, you might shed a tear when you leave!!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. Also to let you know you are provided with all towels you need, so don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My wife and I had a great time at this very special place and really appreciated the exceptional level of service that was provided throughout our stay. The house, rooms and grounds are just perfect and the breakfasts unbelievably good. Pam and Keith are great hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Why would you want to stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: All rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We visited velliantitka retreats again this year, as nowhere else quite matches the quality, hospitality & style of this true gem.
On arriving through the gates of this exquisitely restored guesthouse, our shoulders drop, we kicked off our shoes & were handed a nice cold glass of wine & we knew once again we had made the right choice.
I don't want to keep repeating what every other review has said, however i don't think 5 stars on trip advisor even does this place justice. Pam, keith & adam do every single thing from the heart.
They buzz off looking after people. Things just seem to appear without even asking for the, pam seems to know what you are thinking & before you know it a ice lolly appears or a ice cold processco!! I always thought i was capable of opening a guesthouse myself & that i had a eye for detail but i have to say this beautiful place would put me to shame.
There is one gorgeous taverna very close by called vonza , it is a 5 min walk , everything is homemade & the spinach pies are to die for.
The whole of paxos is a beautiful, unspoilt, charming island that seems to capture people. We like to try new places each holiday however nothing quite compares to paxos or v r.
We will hopefully be back in september & already counting the days to return to this oasis.
Another few advantages are the beautiful plunge pool, the hammock to take in the total peace of the village , the very short walk to a cliff to see the sunsets & last but not least being able to put loo paper down the loo due to the english plumbing.... Big bonus!!
Thankyou again to a truly wonderful family

Room Tip: Both rooms are beautiful, it really makes no difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We were very fortunate to fin the Veliantatika Retreat, whilst searching online for a suitable destination for our honeymoon. Run by Pam & Keith, with their son Adam, this is truly a beautiful and relaxing setting.

From the moment we arrived, we knew that we were going to be treated so well by our hosts. Nothing is taken for granted and the attention to detail is just incredible, from the chalkboard greeting to the beautifully laid table for breakfast, which would have a different theme each day!

Pam & Keith couldn't do enough for us, making us feel so welcome throughout our stay, even being invited to Adam's Birthday celebrations! The Villa is beautifully restored, clearly a labour of love, that deserves rich success! Both inside and outside the Villa, are extremely comfortable and sympathetically decorated. Pam clearly has a good eye for interior and exterior design (or is that Keith!)

The Villa is a perfect retreat for anyone looking for a completely relaxing and pampered break in the most idyllic setting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The Olive Press is a beautiful oasis just a stone’s throw from Gaios. We stayed here for our honeymoon and chose it because we had enjoyed an amazing time here in September last year and couldn't wait to come back. The Olive Press is a stunning Summer house which has been restored exquisitely, with exposed beams, old stone and comes complete with a well-stocked kitchen, double bed, sofa beds that sleep four, a wood burning stove for those chillier evenings and a sweet back garden with table, chairs and sun-loungers where you can hear unwind listening to swallows and the occasional sound of a cockerel rustling about next door. The Olive Press is decorated in light tones that make the most of the beautiful Paxos sunshine but it’s the family behind it who make it somewhere unforgettable.

Nothing is too much trouble for Pam, Keith and Adam who quite simply love what they do and add lots of special touches to make your stay something truly special. From cooking us sumptuous breakfasts each morning (with Greek yoghurt, fresh fruit, croissants, scrambled eggs, bacon, tomatoes and mushrooms garnished with fresh sage from the garden), to arranging a cliff top picnic (complete with the best sherry trifle ever and a chilled bottle of champagne) so that we could watch the sun set over Paxos, we left The Olive Press relaxed, soothed and utterly pampered after our wedding.

Every day there were little surprises for us, such as a delicious hamper of Greek goodies on arrival and getting home one chilly evening to a roaring fire with lit candles everywhere! The Olive Press is perfectly located for exploring the island and lots of beautiful beaches can be reached easily on foot or by hiring a car or quad. If you are looking for a home away from home where you can unwind and relax on the beautiful island of Paxos, I’d highly recommend The Olive Press.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vellianitatika Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vellianitatika Retreat

Address: Gaios, Gaios, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Paxos > Gaios
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gaios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Guest House ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vellianitatika Retreat Paxos/Gaios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vellianitatika Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.