We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, the owners make the difference!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orso Bruno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Orso Bruno to your Saves list
Hotel Orso Bruno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Regina Vecchia, 45, 22010 Carate Urio, Italy (Formerly Piccolo Hotel Orso Bruno)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate Urio
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good hotel, the owners make the difference!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We booked the hotel for 2 nights based on the positive reviews on tripadvisor and the reasonable (almost low) price level.

The hotel itself is a beautiful building in a great location. In a nice small village with the boat stop right on the doorstep. For less than 4 Euro you are in the center of Como and the boat trip is enjoyable as well.

The rooms are pretty basic (small tv, bed was a bit on the hard side, no luxury finish) but clean. There are enough small points that could be improved, like the decoration of the room. Nevertheless the rooms have a nice atmosphere and feel. Next to the stunning view from our window. overlooking Lake Como.

But the best thing are the owners. The speak fluent English and are extremely friendly and enjoyed running the hotel and helping the guests. Personal approach that really works well. And the entrance there is a sign saying something like: "you will come as a guest and leave as a friend". That really expresses how they run the hotel.

Some practical things: dinner was good at a very reasonable price, free WiFi worked very well, parking space can be reserved (we did that) which I would recommend. Breakfast is simple, but had everything we needed.

Doubted between a 4 or a 5 point rating, since the hotel has some improvement points, but to be fair: at this price level on such a location you will not find it any better. And the owners make the difference to get a 5 point rating. They deserve it. We really enjoyed it and will come back. And that is what matters.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room, the view alone is worth the total price of room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    40
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
53
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Extremely friendly staff, good understanding of English. Simple, clean rooms, good bathrooms. Basic but good breakfast, excellent restaurant. As it's a bit off the main road, it's quiet, but you do have do drive 5-10 mins down narrow lanes.

Room Tip: Rooms 205 and 202 have the best views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Originally when searching from my computer, I wanted a room with a view of the lake, little did I know how much more wonderful our stay would have been.
Yes, the view is lovely! we stayed in a room with a balcony, having arrived in the afternoon (October) I sat in the sunshine with a book, then as it got darker, I stared at the beautiful fog rolling down the surrounding mountains, the little lights appearing all around the lakeside towns and inhaled the delightful smells of wood fires from the villages chimneys.
Our room was spacious (and big bathroom), very clean, comfortable with lovely furnishings.
There is a restaurant, sitting area and café all within the hotel so if you choose to, breakfast, lunch and dinner is catered for.
The owners and so, so nice and happy to help any time of the day.
The little village of Carate Urio has a bus stop and a boat stop right outside the hotel although getting a taxi to and from the station is also very easy (20 minute drive).
There is restricted pedestrian access when walking between some villages but very manageable.

If you want a relaxing, fairy tale hideaway, then Orso Bruno and the beautiful surrounding area is for you.
At the same time, as we did, you can travel around the lake, back to Como, Bellagio and the villages in between.

I am planning to return to Orso Bruno as the seasons change and the years roll on; it is a wonderfully delightful part of the Lake and of our current trip

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and i stayed here for our 10th anniversary. The owners of the hotel/restaurant were charming and accommodating. We booked on-line through the hotel's website, so you receive the best price. We tried to book last minute for 3 days in a row at the end of September, but were unable to secure a room for the middle night. The owner contacted me the day before our flight to let me know that there had been a cancellation, so that we would have the chance to stay for all three nights. We did not take her up on it because of cancellation fees at another hotel. However, when we returned for the final night, she offered us a lake-view room at no extra charge. My husband and I are serious pizza aficionados, and the restaurant has some of the best pizza that we have ever had, including our many trips to Italy. The prices at the restaurant and hotel are both reasonable, as well. While Carate Urio is not one of the major villages, there is a boat ramp for the ferry right across from the hotel. In addition, it is not far from the Villas Serbionello and Carlotta. It is quiet at night, but perfect for touring the major sights in Lake Como. Finally, the continental breakfast was quite nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stay one night Hotel Orso Bruno on my way to Lugano-lake. Room was clean and nice. View was wonderful ! Hotel have excellent restaurant, so it is good idea to eat at the hotel. Near is small beach and ferry landing. It was easy to get trip to Como.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was traveling from the US to Milan for business and had a weekend to explore by myself. I decided to get out of the city and Lake Como seemed like an appropriate weekend excursion due to its proximity to Milan. After searching where to stay on the lake, I found a reference to the Hotel Orso Bruno in a NY Times travel article from 2006 (link at bottom of review).

I was looking for a quiet, affordable, and accessible hotel where I could relax and also explore the lake. The Hotel Orso Bruno exceeded all of my expectations from the point that I reached out about a reservation, through check out. I first reached out to inquire about a reservation through the Hotel's website. I wanted to know which room to reserve for a single person and the recommended way to get there and back to Milan. Antonia responded the same day with a full outline of room options and travel information. The information was extremely useful as I had no familiarity with traveling in this part of Europe.

Traveling to the hotel from Milan was very easy: train from Milano Centrale to Como, and then took a bus up to Carate Urio. All-in-all, it took about 1.5 hours to get from Milano Centrale to the hotel on the lake.

My room at the hotel was very nice, and had an unobstructed view of the lake. The hotel has a nice restaurant, bar and cafe, and its location on the lake was great too. Walking south less than 5 minutes will get you to a small beach, and walking 15 minutes north or south will get you to the quiet neighboring villages.

One of the other big perks of the hotel was that it is directly across the street from a ferry landing. The ferry picks up there and will take you to any of the many beautiful sights on the lake, including Bellagio and Como.

I highly recommend the Hotel Orso Bruno to anyone looking for a good value in a beautiful setting!

New York Times article referencing hotel: http://travel.nytimes.com/2006/06/25/travel/25goingto.html?_r=0

Room Tip: Highly recommend reserving a lake view room. Small lake view room is perfect for a single person, or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way to Bellagio. The hosts were incredibly sweet and cooked us a quick meal even when the kitchen was closed. Small accommodations, but the view was wonderful. The location is right in front of a ferry stop and the walking paths around the hotel gave us more exposure to the sleep little village. Not much to do at night except eat and sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Orso Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orso Bruno

Address: via Regina Vecchia, 45, 22010 Carate Urio, Italy (Formerly Piccolo Hotel Orso Bruno)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Carate Urio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate Urio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orso Bruno 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'albergo lo scoprite dopo infinite curve dagli scorci sempre diversi ed emozionanti, arrivate accostando comodamente l’auto sul piazzale di fronte e scendendo vi accorgete dell’incantevole posizione di questo piccolo albergo che si specchia orgogliosamente nel lago ed è avvolto dal rassicurante abbraccio delle montagne. Se arrivate di mattina il colore predominante è azzurro dalle sfumature d’oro, il tramonto invece è rosa.Ad accogliervi troverete sempre noi e sempre un sorriso e dopo un celere check in potrete andare direttamente in camera o rilassarvi un attimo nel nostro bar o nel nostro salottino sbirciando attraverso le vetrate l’animata quotidianità che si svolge al di fuori. Dicono che non ci sia panorama più affascinante del lago visto dal lago e per i nostri clienti più curiosi l’imbarco della navigazione proprio di fronte l’albergo sarà un’ irrinunciabile comodità per una gita in battello. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Orso Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Carate Urio
Hotel Orso Bruno Carate Urio, Lake Como, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Orso Bruno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.