We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orso Bruno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Orso Bruno to your Saves list
Hotel Orso Bruno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Regina Vecchia, 45, 22010 Carate Urio, Italy (Formerly Piccolo Hotel Orso Bruno)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate Urio
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

If you do not have a car I would not recommend staying at this hotel. There are a very few eateries in the area and the boats/buses stop working by 8pm.

It's a approximately a 40 Euro taxi fare from Como.

The hotel provided us with some misinformation which was a let down.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOrsoBruno, Owner at Hotel Orso Bruno, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Mr Rupal

since our goal is all our customers satisfaction, I am very sorry about you disappointment.

But please let me clarify some points just to let the other potential clients and fellow readers be aware of the area:

This is a very small village on the most romantic and fascinating side of lake Como,
and we are very lucky to have the boat stop and the bus stop right in front of the hotel, many other village on lake Como don’t, that’s why most of our client are enthusiastic when they realize that there are only few steps from the pier and the bus stop.
And if you are organized you can visit all the hightlights of the area with public transportation.
Of course there’s a timetable to respect, and it’s not like the timetable of a metro station of a big city running each minute.
In town you can choose among 5 restaurants, and only 20 minutes walking you reach Moltrasio where you’ll find other bars and restaurants.

Concerning your stay, I remember that our so called “misinformation”, began before your arrival with an e-mail giving all the information and the direction on how to reach us.
Also when you arrived late at the Como Station you phoned us asking help and we have called a taxi for you and then gave to you the number to reserve it.
For all your stay, every day, you asked about timetable of boats and buses and, as usual, we kindly helped you even when it was (and often it was) a repeated question. One day during breakfast I had to solicit you because you were going to miss the bus.
I also would like to remind you that, upon you request, we have upgraded you to one of our best room on top floor and even if not reserved you always got the best table at our restaurant.

However I warmly suggest you to come back one day, rent a car and enjoy this beautiful lake from another point of view.

Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    40
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
53
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed two nights in Como, while en route from Venice to Paris in July. Upon arrival, we found we've mistakenly booked a room for a couple instead of a family. The hostess, Antonia, offered us a second room at a very good price. Antonia and Samuele also generously helped me send some documents to the States using their office facility.

The view from the hotel's restaurant is breathtaking and the food is excellent. The hotel is located at a quiet place away from the crowd. There is both a boat stop and a bus stop in front of it. They also offer a convenient parking space at 10 Euro per night.

Room Tip: Room 203 if a couple or Room 204 if family. Lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Lombardia, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Fantastic small hotel. Lovely family running the hotel. We (family of 5, 3 little kids) stayed here several times. Rooms are nice and clean, with air-conditioning, the views are fantastic. The boat to go out on the lake stops right in front of the hotel, so that is very convenient. Make sure you eat in the hotel's restaurant, great Italian food (fantastic pizza's), gorgeous views and great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
much travelled Canadian
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in the Lakeview room (204) for 5 nights from June 30. It is a comfy room with great views. The boat which travels the lake stops right across the road and there is also a bus stop so you can take the bus up and down the lake. What really makes the hotel even more special are the hosts Antonia and Samuele....they are friendly and accommodating...nothing feels like an imposition. Also make sure you eat at the restaurant...the food is wonderful. We ate there 3 times and it exceeded some of the "fancier" places on the lake.

Room Tip: Room 204 is the lakeview room with French doors to a small balcony and also a window so lots of lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile


I was in Como with my wife and children and we stayed there 2 nights so tour the lake and visit Lugano,
this small hotel is run by a young and professional family, nice rooms, nice food nice view,
Also by surprisenit had rhe best free wifi I had duringnmy 2 weeks tour in Garda and Como

Stelios/Cyprus

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

there is nothing designer about this small hotel. All is genuine: the welcome, the service, the food...and then the views. I had not been to Lago di Como for decades and feared it had all turned into a designer spot. But I was pleasantly surprised. Not far from 'overkill' Bellagio there was a haven of normality, kindness and simplicity. Clean, efficient and full of ambiance. We'll be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We LOVED this Lake View Boutique B&B Hotel and would go again in a heartbeat! What a perfect location and great value. The young couple that own the hotel are very nice, friendly and helpful.

We stayed at the hotel in the lake view room. Great location just minutes drive from the town of Como and across from one of the small boat docks for traveling around the lake. Moderate sized, clean room and comfortable bed. We ate at the restaurant twice during our four night stay. The food here is incredible! The home made gnocci with white cheese sauce? and walnuts is amazing! I want that recipe. Cozy and casual homey feel. If you can't stay at the hotel, definitely visit the restaurant. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Orso Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orso Bruno

Address: via Regina Vecchia, 45, 22010 Carate Urio, Italy (Formerly Piccolo Hotel Orso Bruno)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Carate Urio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate Urio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orso Bruno 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'albergo lo scoprite dopo infinite curve dagli scorci sempre diversi ed emozionanti, arrivate accostando comodamente l’auto sul piazzale di fronte e scendendo vi accorgete dell’incantevole posizione di questo piccolo albergo che si specchia orgogliosamente nel lago ed è avvolto dal rassicurante abbraccio delle montagne. Se arrivate di mattina il colore predominante è azzurro dalle sfumature d’oro, il tramonto invece è rosa.Ad accogliervi troverete sempre noi e sempre un sorriso e dopo un celere check in potrete andare direttamente in camera o rilassarvi un attimo nel nostro bar o nel nostro salottino sbirciando attraverso le vetrate l’animata quotidianità che si svolge al di fuori. Dicono che non ci sia panorama più affascinante del lago visto dal lago e per i nostri clienti più curiosi l’imbarco della navigazione proprio di fronte l’albergo sarà un’ irrinunciabile comodità per una gita in battello. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Orso Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Carate Urio
Hotel Orso Bruno Carate Urio, Lake Como, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Orso Bruno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.