We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Demy Hotel

Demy Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Demy Hotel to your Saves list
Demy Hotel
Via Resistenza, Aulla, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aulla
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good base hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We came upon this hotel by accident as my husband was frustrated with La Spezia traffic & signage. We arrived with no reservation, lovely clean, spacious room was allocated at a reasonable rate ( euro 85.00 incl breakfast). Staff helpful. I think it would be a cheaper/nicer base for trips to Cinque Terra, Pisa, Lucca and even Florence. Our stay 13 Sept 2013.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
8
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I began my walking tour here on a Sunday. There was a wedding reception in full swing when I arrived, and I guess that this is the hotels main line of business. My room was pretty basic and there was absolutely no information provided about the hotel facilities or the town. The restaurant was not open and the only alternative I could find was a fast food joint where I had a very poor meal.

Breakfast was very basic and served in the function room whilst staff were moving tables around and sorting things out after the previous days wedding.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights in a very large room with queen bed, couch, fridge and large bathroom. The furnishings were spare and moderately comfortable; definitely a basic room. The food at the restaurant was also average, with some dishes better than others. One thing of note was our waiter; we were with our two-year-old son, and spoke next to no Italian, and the man could not have been more welcoming, patient and accommodating. This was the first place we stayed on our first trip to Italy (we had business in Aulla), and this kind man really made a difference. We came from just outside of Boston, and the marathon bombing happened on our first night there, so while we were disoriented from the travel and stressed out trying to reach all of our loved-ones, so I can't overstate how much that meant.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

On arrival at the hotel, was not impressed by the location and even less by the smile of the receptionist at the time!
Rooms are basic and breakfast poor!
When booking the rooms it was agreed to have free WiFi but 2 days later the hotel decided to charge! In this modern days to charge €10/day for the use of Internet is terrible! Just had to change hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

We stayed here for a wedding while in Italy. Not much to do here but the town is lovely and little english is spoken. They have the best Pizza (focaccia) in this town. The hotel is really the only one I know of but the rooms were fine (although the walls were a bit thin) but the food at the hotel was very good and the staff very nice. If you are in Aulla, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Demy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demy Hotel

Address: Via Resistenza, Aulla, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Massa Carrara > Aulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Demy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Demy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.