We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit out off the beaten path, but worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Saraceno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Il Saraceno to your Saves list
Il Saraceno
Via Volastra 8, 19010 Volastra, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Volastra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orland Park, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A bit out off the beaten path, but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We only stayed one night but wished it had been more. The host, Antonella, could not have been friendlier or more helpful. She made us feel very much at home. The hotel location is not in the thick of things, but we liked it that way. Volastra is about a 20 minute downhill walk to Manarola and if you don't feel like walking back up the hill, you can take the shuttle bus that drops you off at the gate to Il Saraceno.

Room Tip: We requested a quadruple room and it was had plenty of room for the four of us. Our particular room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    43
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
63
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

If you are going to Cinque Terre, look up this hotel. It is locate in Volastra, just a few km above Manarola, one of the five towns that comprise CInque Terre. It is in a quiet location away from the busy towns on the ocean. What makes this a great place is the proprietor, Antonella. She is a bundle of energy, helping you with everything---restaurant suggestions, reservations, tips on hiking, giving directions, you name it. There is also a bar inside (and on the terrace) that she runs simultaneously. We were also able to park our car in her indoor garage, which is a big plus as cars are not allowed in Manarola. The only disadvantage is that you need to take a shuttle that runs about every hour to reach it from the train station. In my opinion, it is a minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We drove to Cinque Terre and looked for a place that would allow easy parking and luggage transfer. Hotel Saraceno met both requirements. We were able to keep the car behind the hotel gate and the luggage was not a problem...just up a single flight of stairs. The hotel was spotless and breakfast was a treat with delicious homemade croissants each morning. The owner and host, Antonella, worked from early am to late pm.....constantly helping guests, cleaning, serving coffee/drinks, etc. She was wonderfully helpful in assisting us with a package we needed to mail. The bus down to Manarola was very handy. Train to other towns was efficient. Volastra restaurants were very good.....don't be afraid to try both. Reasonably priced and tasty meals.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs,Ny
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Antonella,the lady who runs this lovely hotel, is quite possibly the hardest working woman in Italy. She never stopped trying to make sure everything was just right for her guests.
The hotel was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The public areas were very welcoming, and you felt like you were at home. The breakfasts were great, and Antonella made dinner reservations for us each night. She also suggested we try the trip to Porto Venere, which, we enjoyed immensely.
We spent time talking to her and playing with dog “Liki”. We’d go back without hesistation, and recommend it highly. The hotel is located above Manarola, and you can hike to Manarola and other towns in Cinque Terre from there, but we found that taking the conveniently located close-by bus was a whole lot better idea for us, especially at the end of the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great little hotel and the lady of the house couldn't be more helpful. Just a pity that the last bus up the hill is 7.45pm, but still wouldn't put anyone off staying in this little gem as the walk down to Corniglia in the morning was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healesville, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We found this cosy little hotel nestled amongst the tiered vines and Olive groves in the little village of Volastra Italy. The perfect location to explore the 5 picturesque fishing villages that make up the Cinque Terre. The host was terrific, speaking good English and giving us all the local knowledge on the best way to get around. The hotel was modern and the rooms spacious. The breakfast spread was also excellent. One tip, leave the hotel with your room key prior to going out to dinner, to prevent yourself from being locked out.This hotel was the best one in our entire visit to Europe and was at a great price. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Situated high on the mountain very close to the Cinquaterra coastal villages, this hotel is nice and quaint, very clean and a good place to stay I the area. The owners are warm and helpful, overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Seven rooms and peaceful place, no noise issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Saraceno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Saraceno

Address: Via Volastra 8, 19010 Volastra, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > Volastra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Volastra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Il Saraceno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Saraceno Volastra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Saraceno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.