We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, welcoming place in the heart of cinque terre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Saraceno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Il Saraceno to your Saves list
Il Saraceno
Via Volastra 8, 19010 Volastra, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Volastra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Quiet, welcoming place in the heart of cinque terre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent a couple of nights at Il Saraceno and were very happy with our choice.
The hotel is small and quiet and has a cosy atmosphere. We were given a huge room with balcony and a spacious bathroom. Parking was free of charge in the garage of the hotel. The location is also a bonus. It is situated in Volastra, a village at about 2 km from Manarola, in the heart of the cinque terre national park. There are hiking trails going down to Manarola and to Corniglia. There are hourly buses to/from Manarola but only until about 19.30 -- so might be less practical for those visiting without a car (Volastra is really tiny and has only one restaurant and one take-away). Finally, the staff was very friendly, ready to give loads of advice on restaurants, transport, hiking trails and so on. In all, a very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    43
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
63
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife, 11 year old son, and I stayed two nights at Il Saraceno in June. It was a hot time of year and Italy was progressing nicely through the Euro Cup. Needless to say, Cinque Terre was crowded, so this hotel was a nice little oasis. From the moment we stepped in, Antonella gave us her undivided attention. Our room was large (triple) and very clean, although plain and simple. Breakfast was excellent, with fresh parties to go with the fruit, meats, and cheeses. And good coffee. We did some train riding, some hiking, and some beaching in the Cinque Terre towns, and this hotel made a good base for that. But to others' points, if you plan to take public transportation, make sure you get back up in time (I think the last bus left Manarola at 7:30pm), or it's a long, steep, dark walk. Luckily we had a car, so on the night we went to Manarola to watch the soccer game, we drove down and had no trouble parking. On the night we came back to the hotel early, we ate dinner at Gli Ulivi in Volastra, and it was one of our most memorable meals in all of Italy. So, in summary, Il Saraceno worked out perfectly for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Really nice hotel in the small town of Volastra. We stayed here after hiking there from Monterosso. The room was adequately furnished and really clean. We had a great breakfast in the morning and hit the road again. Like I said we hiked here, it was a really steep workout up from Vernazza to get to Volastra, but well worth it! There is a really nice restaurant in the town, not sure about the name, but I think there is only one - also well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is an interesting alternative to staying in one of the Cinque Terre towns. Volastra is charming and not touristy at all. It is quiet and the weather is cooler on the hill.
Rooms are large but not luxurious.
Antonella was very helpful and friendly.
The only downside is that the last shuttle bus to Volastra from Manarola is at about 8:30 pm. This makes it difficult to do a late night in one of the other towns. The only other alternative to taking the shuttle bus is an arduous walk up to Volastra on a twisty road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Hotel is situated conveniently just outside the Cinque Terre National Park which makes it convenient if travelling with a car (The drive is very scenic and worth doing). The hotel offers a small garage which I managed to park a Form Mondeo in. Be careful if arriving on a Tuesday since the one restaurant in the small town of Volastra will be closed. The lady that takes care of the hotel is quite helpful and speaks good English. There is a very nice walk from the hotel to the nearest town (Manarola) which involves walking downhill through vines and lemon groves.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms available so book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We loved Hotel Il Saraceno for a number of reasons. First, it is in the hills of Volastra, a small picturesque village above the main towns of the Terre. We were driving and the hotel provided secure off street parking in their garage. There was a bus that stopped just up the street from the door which took us to the top of any of the other towns in the Terre (from there you have to walk steeply down to the town center) and ran frequently. The owner was a warm and enthusiastically friendly Italian woman that spoke English very well and was generous with information about the are . The rooms are large and newly remodeled. Although spartan they are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. It is totally quiet at night so any of the 7 rooms will grant you a peaceful nights sleep. Breakfasts are simple but adequate and the coffee is plentiful. There is also an espresso maker and a small bar behind the front desk. There is no restaurant in the town of Volastra so we drove a short way to one of the other towns to eat. Also there are a few small places and a market where you can put together a take out meal and eat it on the terrace or the breakfast room at the hotel. There is free wifi as well all for only 100 euros a night for a double. As an aside, this hotel is very popular with hiking Germans. Watch out for those collapsable poles and big boots and have fun!

Room Tip: You might want a room that doesn't face the walk to the hotel entrance for privacy and quiet dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My son and I stumbled upon this hotel during a recent visit to cinque terre. What a find! Modern, minimalist, wonderfully accommodating hosts. Antonella is a sweetheart, so helpful, friendly, and willing to share her tips for the area. Her restaurant suggestion was fabulous, and we had a delicious dinner that we will not soon forget. Comfortable beds, wonderful views, garage parking...what a wonderful hotel. I hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Saraceno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Saraceno

Address: Via Volastra 8, 19010 Volastra, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > Volastra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Volastra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Il Saraceno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Saraceno Volastra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Saraceno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.