We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hutt City Motel

Save Saved
You added Hutt City Motel to your Saves list
Hutt City Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hutt City Motel
250 Grounsell Crescent | Belmont, Lower Hutt 5010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 hotels in Lower Hutt
Rotorua
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very clean and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Friendly Hosts very clean, although close to the motorway which i was worried about the noise did not bother me, I was surprised how quiet it was.
The staff were very helpfull and I would stay again

Room Tip: sorry there was no pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
3
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We needed two bedroom accommodation as my father was visiting for a travel around the North Island so picked this motel due to there being few two bedroom places in Wellington itself. We knew it was 20km outside the City but did not realise it was 10 metres from the motorway.
The road itself is very busy night and day, so ear plugs are a must if you decide to stay here.
The room itself was small but functional with a kitchenette area with fridge, microwave etc. though due to the location we decided to eat out for the two nights we stayed. The room we were in was quite dark but did have a sliding door out to a grassed,area, though this was not practical to use due to the motorway directly behind it.
The bathroom ceiling was very mouldy and wasn't inviting to use but otherwise seemed reasonably clean. There was a TV, DVD and some SKY channels available.
Unfortunately some other guests at the time were divers and had left Paua outside the rooms which made a rotting fish smell the first night, though this wasn't the owners fault and it was disposed of by the next night.
All in all not what we had hoped for and we would not stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were really struggling to find overnight accommodation in Wellington and came across this motel by chance.

It was easy to find and we were welcomed by the lovely hosts. Our room was quite basic and could probably benefit from updating but it was reasonably clean although a little cold, especially the bedroom!!

It really wouldn't have been comfortable for more than an overnight stay but it met our needs and we were more than happy with the service we received.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

I would happily recommend this motel, it was very very clean and tidy and less than a five minute drive to Lower Hutt - It is on the Highway but we could not hear the traffic at all so I certainly wouldnt let that put you off. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hutt City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutt City Motel

Address: 250 Grounsell Crescent | Belmont, Lower Hutt 5010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Lower Hutt
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 hotels in Lower Hutt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hutt City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hutt City Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.