We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zum Stern

Hotel Zum Stern
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Zum Stern to your Saves list
Hotel Zum Stern
Ausweilerstrasse 2, 55774 Baumholder, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Baumholder
Amarillo, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Read the reviews below, there is really nothing more I can add. this place is wonderful!
Comfy beds, VERY reasonable rates, friendly owners.
Don't hesitate to book here if you find yourself in Baumholder!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baumholder, Germany
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I moved to baumholder to be with my husband, and once we found out that we wouldnt be able to get housing we needed to find an apartment. I ended up staying at this hotel for 3 months. They are wonderful people. Anette is very friendly and always waved and asked me about my day when we came across one another.

The restaraunt downstairs was also a godsend! on the days I didnt feel like going to the commissary I was able to order great quality food and desert right to my room. Im a vegetarian but I still had many options that were all superb, my favorite being the cheese omelette. It was the best I have ever eaten.

The first few nights, (before we found out about housing) we stayed in a double. It was very clean, spacious and overall nice! It had a nice view and came with a dining table as well. after that, I stayed in a single room and though it is modest in size is also quite comfortable. It has a refrigerator, study desk, comfortable lounge chair,decent space and a decent sized bathroom.T-mobile internet is also available for a cheap price. The base is visible from the hotel, the main gate is literally less than a 1/4 mile away. I payed 30 euro a night for the single, which for the quality, is fair.
Honestly I have nothing negative to say about this hotel, the cleaning ladies established a schedule with me so I wouldnt be disturbed daily and honestly I am sad to go. Though we have found a beautiful apartment it was very nice being surrounded by everyone here, they really treated us like family. Id reccommend this hotel to any and everyone!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Would definiately recommend this hotel. Very quiet and close to the US military base. Rooms have all the ammenities needed for traveling. We arrived late in the evening needing a single and a double. The rooms were large,non smoking, very clean and comfortable. The room's have been upgraded and the bath's were immaculate. Our double had a table and chairs, TV, refrigerator, 2 twin beds, hair dryer, soaps/shampoo, shower. Our grandson had a single with bathtub/shower. His room had a desk, TV, refrigerator. We purchased internet through TMobil. This hotel is above a wonderful restaurant that has an outdoor garden for eating and drinking. The food was awesome with large portions to share. We ate in the dining room with real linens, however there is a bar and central area to eat but was filled with smoke. Our rooms were 69,36 euros. Very reasonable. Ample parking on street or on hotel. Large grocery store, McDonalds, lots of specialty shops in the quaint little town. Most all speak English because of the US base there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

Annette and her family do a lovely job at making one feel welcome in this hotel. Her breakfasts were always ample and included eggs, yogurt, and the traditional German breakfast of bread with meat and cheese. The rooms were always clean and 2 of the three rooms in which we stayed had small refrigerators.

There is also a superior restaurant downstairs. Salads are dressed with a house dressing that is light and tasty and the steaks are awesome! The best omelet I have ever eaten was here, and the French onion soup is divine. For those who enjoy venison, the venison steak is tender and beautifully prepared.

Best of all, after staying in this hotel for 3 months we felt like a part of the family. Everyone always made us feel welcome and when several in our party fell ill or needed dental assistance, Annette helped us get to her own dentist and doctor.

Rooms are basic, but the professional and caring attitude of all who work here make it more a home than a hotel.

Not only would we stay here again, but we have recommended it as a place to stay for all who visit.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zum Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zum Stern

Address: Ausweilerstrasse 2, 55774 Baumholder, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Baumholder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Baumholder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Zum Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zum Stern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.