We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mottram Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mottram Hall to your Saves list
Mottram Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wilmslow Road, Mottram St. Andrew SK10 4QT, England (Formerly De Vere Mottram Hall)   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just arrived at mottrom hall what a beauty full hotel our room was a suite first class booking in the staff was very friendly food very nice we have stayed her last Christmas when it was der vers but so far it still is the same a lovely touch in the room was a jar of old fashion sweets for us we will be coming back

Room Tip: We was in the Sutherland suite out of this world
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    138
    92
    46
    20
See reviews for
85
215
11
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My company has recently held a two day meeting/dinner event at Mottram Hall and this was a huge success. All the staff were incredibly helpful, friendly and efficient. The whole event ran smoothly and on time with the staff meeting our every need. A big thanks in particular to David McFall. His assistance and attention to detail throughout the planning and preparation and indeed on site during the meeting couldn't be faulted. THANK YOU !

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Spent a Sunday night here for my wife's birthday along with another few friends on a Living Social deal; we all thought it was a very good hotel. Traditional English country hotel in beautiful surroundings, which I believe has had a refurb so everywhere looks fresh & luxurious. We paid a little extra for a 'Chambre Unique' - the room was a bit smaller than we expected, but well appointed with Bose bluetooth speaker, espresso maker, Sky HD TV which presumably you wouldn't get in a standard room. Our room was on the ground floor but had nice views over the grounds. The bar was well stocked and the lounge & library areas were very classy & comfortable. Our friends (also seasoned travelers) used the leisure facilities and said they were excellent. Evening meal was very good, with a good wine list, although the portions were a little on the small side. I'd recommend maybe ordering an additional side dish if you have a big appetite. Cooked breakfast was excellent. Service was good, with all the staff very polite.

Couple of nice touches which we didn't expect - we had a parking space reserved in our name close to reception on arrival, and birthday balloon & sweets in the room. Little things, but they make a difference!

Only word of caution - our friends said they could hear a lot of noise through the wall from the next room. No problem in our room though, maybe they were just unlucky.

I'd definitely stay in this hotel again, very impressed.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolsover, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed here before and enjoyed our stay and I was slightly worried that now it was under new ownership it may not be the same experience but truly it was even better. It was a last minute treat from my husband. We had a chambre unique room(upgrade) it was beautiful. The hotel was full to capacity with weddings and other functions but service was great and the gym and spa facility's were fabulous and not too crowded. We will be returning soon.

Room Tip: I would upgrade its worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Jennywap,

Thank you for posting your feedback in regard to your recent getaway at Mottram Hall. I am pleased that although the hotel was busy you found the staff to be attentive and that you had an enjoyable stay.

I hope that you are able to return to Mottram Hall again in the future.

Kind Regards,

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent my birthday here having a HERO treatment and afternoon tea. HERO treatment comprised of an exfoliation and back massage and a facial. Thanks to Jenny and Nicola our therapists. Having been here numerous times before we both enjoyed the relaxation we both so needed, the highlight being sat in the hot tub outside star gazing (and spotting the ISS fly by!!). I look forward to returning in the near future!!

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Vicki L,

Thank you for your comments about your birthday spa day at Mottram Hall. We are pleased that the therapists were able to ensure that the day was relaxing and enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mottram Hall.

Kind Regards,

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked through Secret Escapes, for a Sunday night break, Had a wander around Prestbury, nice village and then onto Mottram Hall. I had asked for a upgrade if possible and it was nice to find this had been sorted.

We checked into the room and to be honest it was still small but the decor and furnishings were nice and the toys were entertaining (espresso maker, sky, etc). We also had a nice view out onto the golf course. I think it would have been an average rating if we had not been upgraded.

3 course dinner was pretty straight forward, reasonable value as part of the package and the service was very attentive, the hotel is well maintained and the restaurant was nice.

Breakfast was exactly as you would expect, service throughout the stay was good and therefore we had a very enjoyable stay overall. Would be happy to return,

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Surfbum_10,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that we were able to honour the upgrade and to a Chambre Unique Room and that the staff made your stay enjoyable.

I hope that you are able to return to Mottram Hall in the near future.

Kind Regards,

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Mottram Hall recently hosted our daughter's wedding. Everything from the initial meeting; the planning process to the actual event itself was handled with professionalism and minute attention to detail. All the staff could not have been more helpful and polite - their sole objective was to make it an amazing occasion and they delivered this in spades. The food in both the hotel and the Claret Jug was excellent and the accommodation was good with extremely comfortable beds!! Those who used the spa thoroughly enjoyed the facility.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear grenandsue,

Thank you for your comments in regard to the recent wedding at Mottram Hall. It is so lovely to hear that the wedding was a success and the team looked after you throughout the whole experience.

Thank you for choosing to spend this special occasion at Mottram Hall. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mottram Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mottram Hall

Address: Wilmslow Road, Mottram St. Andrew SK10 4QT, England (Formerly De Vere Mottram Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Mottram St. Andrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mottram St. Andrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mottram Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, Refined, Ready and Waiting.There's nowhere quite like it in Cheshire. The NEW Mottram takes its rightful place as Cheshire's finest golf and leisure resort. Play Championship standard golf all year round and relax in the brand new Claret Jug Clubhouse. Chill-out or work-out in the new state-of-the-art Mottram Hall Club & Spa. Dine on amazing local delicacies and reinventions of fine dining classics courtesy of new Executive Chef Ross Bootland. Finally retire blissfully to the beautifully appointed new style rooms and experience a new level of upgrades with a Chambre Unique bedroom. NEW is very much the order of the day. When it comes to dining, golf or relaxation, you should try something new too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mottram Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Mottram Hall Hotel Mottram St. Andrew
De Vere Collection
Mottram Hall Mottram St. Andrew, Cheshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mottram Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.