We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Golf Society day laid on by Jonny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mottram Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mottram Hall to your Saves list
Mottram Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wilmslow Road, Mottram St. Andrew SK10 4QT, England (Formerly De Vere Mottram Hall)   |  
Hotel amenities
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb Golf Society day laid on by Jonny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Our Society have played here twice in the last month due to the fantastic course and the first class service given by Jonny and his team.
Can't say enough superlatives about this team and look forward to playing again soon

Kind Regards
Sean Murphy
Moorside Golf Society

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Sean M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. It is always so lovely to hear such positive feedback about the team and I am so pleased that you’re Society continue to enjoy using the golf course here at Mottram Hall.

We look forward to Welcoming you back time and time again.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    138
    92
    46
    20
See reviews for
85
215
11
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Room had been recently refurbished and was clean, stylishly decorated and of a reasonable size. As mentioned by other reviewers the walls are paper thin, however we were not woken by other guests but instead by three or four staff/cleaners shouting along the corridor at each other at 8am. The self service breakfast was good although there wasn't masses of variety. Being an out of town hotel the quality of the restaurant is important as you become a captive market for them as there is nothing else in walking distance. The Claret Jug (which is part of the golf facilities - don't be put off by that, jeans are allowed!) is a lovely place and the food on the bar menu was excellent and well priced. Unfortunately it only seems to be open for evening food on Fridays and Saturdays so on our second night, Sunday, we had to try the 'Carrington Grill' (the main restaurant where breakfast is served). The food was reasonable but overpriced. Our meal came to £100 but you could have had the same standard at a high street chain for £60. For example, desserts are £7.50 (plus a 10% service charge, so actually £8.25). They were really only £5 desserts i.e. nothing special.
It is a nice hotel in a beautiful location but just didn't quite hit the mark.
One more thing - some of the staff in the restaurant were under trained and not right for a good hotel - 'how are your meals guys?' is for Nando's not for a hotel like this.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Stu_StAlbans_UK,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that your experience in the Carrington Grill didn’t meet you expectations. We would like to discuss this further with you and would ask that you contact Jonathan Boycott, Restaurant Manager via email on jonathan.boycott@devere-hotels.com and he will be able to assist you.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had a lovely time. The bar staff were superb, really friendly and helpful in fact I think they made our stay.

The spa was good too and made an effort to make you feel individual and remembered me from earlier in the day. Reception was also good.

The room was clean, comfortable and we slept well.

The evening meal was lovely although the lighting could have been improved to help me read the menu!

The only disappointment was the breakfast, although we had no wait it was rather disappointing and more of the standard of a Premier Inn.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Stephy S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor in regards to your recent stay. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Mottram Hall and that you found all the staff to be helpful and on hand to make your stay so special.

We hope you choose to return to Mottram Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My partner and I recently visited De Vere Mottram Hall, and were absolutely blown away by the level of service. From the moment we checked in through to the spa treatment and the waiting staff, each department added something extra to the trip.

My partner had a back, neck and shoulder massage from Rihanna and it was first class, she was greeted by Hayley who was also brilliant. I headed to the gym and all the equipment was brand new and in excellent condition.

The best bit of the trip had to be the outside spa...

We were lucky and got upgraded to a suite, the room was brilliant and the bed very comfortable.

It was also a simple and easy booking experience through bookaspa... thanks to all!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Knightstuff,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am always so proud to hear such positive comments regarding the whole team at Mottram Hall and I am so pleased they were able to make your stay so special.

We do hope you will choose to return to Mottram Hall in the Future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed here recently and found it difficult to find a positive. We have stayed in many other hotels that are far superior for less cost ! Reception is dull and pokey and anymore than a few people there at the same time causes congestion. Even though we had reserved the room a few months in advance they could not find our reservation and took nearly an hour to allocate us a room which was at the back overlooking the trade entrance and we assume the kitchens. Couldn't leave the window open without having all the associated smells. We requested a room change but told they were fully booked due to a wedding booking. Our evening meal was a long time being served, was nothing special and was warm not hot as though it had been standing for sometime waiting to be table served.
We had a disturbed night from lots of passing noise outside our room door well into the early hours and again from 6.00 am onwards.

Breakfast left a lot to be desired, took ages to get a luke warm cooked breakfast and the staff were otherwise occupied with some employment trauma rather than providing a service !

Overall a terrible experience

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear third-dimension50,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor in regards to your recent stay at Mottram Hall. I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations.

If you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact Matt Townley, Resident Manager via email on matt.townley@devere-hotels.com and he will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has so much going for it, beautiful grounds, impressive building, comfortable, well appointed rooms, great breakfast, friendly staff and impressive spa facilities. Whilst the beds themselves are exceedingly comfortable, what a shame that the hotel falls down on the basic provision of a good nights sleep due to the terrible soundproofing. We stayed in the Lawrence suite and could hear the music from reception through the floor (it was turned down immediately on request by reception staff) and we were then disturbed throughout the night by the constant stream of people passing our bedroom door through which you could hear everything, even whispering. We both wore earplugs as we had seen previous reviews about thin walls (think in our room it was more a case of thin doors) but the soundproofing was so poor, it was as if the passers by were in the room with us. To top this off, I even had to shout out of a window to ask two drunk smokers in a golf buggy to keep it down as they had decided to have a very raucous cigarette directly outside our single glazed bedroom window. For this price, I would expect at the very least to have a decent sleep and unfortunately, this was impossible and not what we have come to expect from our stays at other De Vere hotels.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Spudheed,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations but am pleased that the team here at Mottram Hall were friendly and courteous towards you.

We would like to discuss the sleep disturbance with you and would ask that you contact Matt Townley, Resident Manager via email on matt.townley@devere-hotels.com and he will be able to assist you.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST YORKS
Top Contributor
413 reviews 413 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed here recently and enjoyed a reasonable stay!
The room we had was large and verey comfortable and we enjoyed a very good nights sleep !
We ate at the restaurant and whilst the food was not memorable it was ok.
The service at the restaurant was effficent and we had a pate and a salmon starter which were reasonable.
The chicken for main was ok but a little dry !
The bar areas are a bit drab and breakfast was just ok !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear ANDY K,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear that you had a very comfortable and enjoyable nights sleep.

I hope that you do choose Mottram Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mottram Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mottram Hall

Address: Wilmslow Road, Mottram St. Andrew SK10 4QT, England (Formerly De Vere Mottram Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Mottram St. Andrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mottram St. Andrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mottram Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, Refined, Ready and Waiting.There's nowhere quite like it in Cheshire. The NEW Mottram takes its rightful place as Cheshire's finest golf and leisure resort. Play Championship standard golf all year round and relax in the brand new Claret Jug Clubhouse. Chill-out or work-out in the new state-of-the-art Mottram Hall Club & Spa. Dine on amazing local delicacies and reinventions of fine dining classics courtesy of new Executive Chef Ross Bootland. Finally retire blissfully to the beautifully appointed new style rooms and experience a new level of upgrades with a Chambre Unique bedroom. NEW is very much the order of the day. When it comes to dining, golf or relaxation, you should try something new too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mottram Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Mottram Hall Hotel Mottram St. Andrew
De Vere Collection
Mottram Hall Mottram St. Andrew, Cheshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mottram Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.