We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect night...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mottram Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mottram Hall to your Saves list
Mottram Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wilmslow Road, Mottram St. Andrew SK10 4QT, England (Formerly De Vere Mottram Hall)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect night...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Recently visited mottram hall for a romantic night away with my girlfriend I was very impressed!! Check in was very efficient and we where directed to our rooms by friendly staff .
To start the night off we had a few tasty cocktails in the cocktail bar before our evening meal in the carrington grill.
I was very impressed from start to finish with the whole evening meal. Nothing was to much trouble for our waiter danny, who I must say had excellent knowledge of the menu and he suggested a very nice Pinot noir which went very nice with our belly pork and steak. Hats of to the carrington grill staff and manager Jon who made our evening perfect even though it seemed to be very busy !
Will gladly recommend to our friends and family ....

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Havanaman123,

Thank you for taking time to post feedback in regard to your recent stay at Mottram Hall. We are so pleased that your stay was special and the team were on hand to assist you.

We hope to see you back at Mottram Hall in the near future,

Kind Regards,


James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    169
    112
    53
    23
See reviews for
101
261
10
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for our honeymoon at the end of august this year. We had the most horrific experience and consequently left bad feedback. The management contacted us and offered us a complimentary weekend to make up for the poor experience.
we went to the hotel this weekend and we had a much more pleasant experience - the experience which we were hoping for the first time around.
Zara (I think her name was) greeted us warmly and dealt with us very efficiently.
We had a different suite this time which was a better room compared to the tiny suite which we were in the first time.
we also had a lovely welcome card and a bottle of non alcoholic wine (as I'm pregnant), a jar of traditional sweets & a really nice autumnal bouquet of flowers.
All the staff were much more pleasant compared to our experiences the last time and really helped to make our stay more memorable.
Danny in the restaurant was very friendly and efficient.
Thank you Mottram Hall.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear missjheath,

Thank you for your comments in regard to your recent stay. I am so pleased that you were able to return to Mottram Hall and we could restore your faith in the hotel. Thank you for your kind words about the staff that made your stay that extra special.

We hope to see you return to Mottram Hall again soon.


Best Wishes,


James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Surrounded by a golf course, enveloped by Cheshire's golden triangle, Mottram Hall is the epi-centre of Manchester's wealthy southern fringe. WAGs squeal in delight at the sumptuous soft furnishings, mute colour schemes and period details. Their square-jawed beaus appreciate classy, masculine qualities of the on-site pub, and the country-club atmosphere.

The food on the night I dined there was passable - indeed, had my steak and chips cost me £10 in a gastro pub, it would have represented reasonable value. Priced at twice that, and preceded by an unwittingly retro prawn dish, I was left feeling glad that I was not picking up the tab. My room was comfortable, and attractively furnished, but hardly any larger than a Novotel's standard offering.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear timdawsn,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that not all aspects of your stay met your expectations. If you would like to discuss this further please contact Isara Fraser, Front Office Manager via email on isara.fraser@devere-hotels.com and she will be able to assist you.

We hope to hear from you soon.


Kind Regards,


James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Both myself and my friend decided to stay at Mottram Hall for one night as we were going to a friends wedding which was held at another nearby hotel. We could have chosen a premier inn but wanted the experience of something special and enjoy the whole experience.

Unfortunately, this was not the experience we would have expected at somewhere so 'grand'.

On arrival, we were advised of our room number but no other information was offered i.e. where breakfast was, facilities etc.

That evening we went down to reception and booked a taxi to take us to the wedding reception, we were advised that it would be 15 minutes so went and had a drink in the cocktail bar. After half an hour, we asked reception if it would be much longer and were told, we will come and get you when it arrives. We asked again an hour later and the reception then contacted the taxi company and it arrived 10 minutes later.

The next morning we went down for breakfast at 9.30 and there was a queue of approximately 50 people in front all waiting to get a table for breakfast. Nearly half of those queuing decided not to bother with breakfast and turned back. We waited 40 minutes for a table and it would have been much longer if half of the guests decided to stay for breakfast. At no point did any member of management apologise or give an explanation for this catastrophe and we only saw 2 people in 'suits' once everyone was seated!

We had to rush breakfast as we were due to checkout at 11am and wanted to try and use the spa facilities beforehand. When we did go to the desk at 11am to checkout, again there was a very large queue with only 2 staff on reception so we decided to go and use the facilities and come back later to check out when it had quietened down.

The spa faciliites were excellent and this was the only saving grace for this 'average' hotel. I would recommend for anyone staying to make sure they use these facilities as they are excellent.

When we returned to check out, the receptionist took our room number and advised there was nothing else to pay. At no point were we asked if we enjoyed our stay or if everything had been okay. Quite frankly I don't think they could care less.

Our room was very small, basic and dark. The lighting in the room was very poor. There was a large crack in the sink and it appeared to be blocked. There were hairs left in the bathroom. Finding the room was also very confusing due to the layout of the hotel.

I understand that the hotel has recently undergone a major refurbishment and in places this is evident. However, the hotel needs to focus more on their customer service (this doesn't cost anything) and treat their paying guests with a little more respect. This is a hotel that has left a bad taste unfortunately and had spoilt what we thought was going to be something quite special.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Eileen M,

I understand that numerous issues have made you post your comments on Tripadvisor so thank you for bringing this to our attention. I apologise that you did not enjoy your time at Mottram Hall.

We would like to discuss this further with you and encourage you to contact Isara Fraser, Front Office Manager via email on isara.fraser@devere-hotels.com and she would be able to assist you.

We hope to hear from you soon,


Kind Regards,


James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We arrived for a one-night stay (a Saturday night) while on a business trip. We were immediately taken with the location - an impressive building in substantial grounds. The staff were very helpful throughout our stay, despite most of their time being taken up with a large wedding party, suggesting a very nice local restaurant to let us get away from the noise and busy wedding. The following morning my wife used the swimming pool and was very happy with the facilities.

However, we did have some issues:
Firstly, the TV in our room appeared to receive just one channel. We reported this to reception and a staff member appeared, turned the TV off and on again and fiddled about with various cables all to no avail. He then disappeared, leaving the TV in the same state as when he had arrived and we heard nothing more on the subject.
Secondly, we both had trouble sleeping due to an extractor or air conditioner that came on and off outside our window throughout the night, continually waking us up. Given the price for the hotel I would have expected that the most basic feature of a hotel - getting a good night's sleep - not to be an issue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Peter J,


Thank you for your comments in regard to your recent stay at Mottram Hall. I apologise that your television did not work and that you were disturbed during the night. I am however pleased that your wife was able to enjoy our leisure facilities.

If you would like to discuss this further, please contact Isara Fraser, Front Office Manager via email on isara.fraser@devere-hotels.com and she would be able to assist you.

Kind Regards,


James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed at Mottram Hall 2-3 November with friends on a weekend break. Check in was efficient and speedy and we were quickly allocated our rooms. We had lunch in the Claret Jug at the golf club which was quite good. The staff there were very attentive and pleasant and the service was quick. We booked dinner in the Carrington Grill and this was things started to go downhill… my wife ordered a sirloin steak well done and one of our friends ordered a medium rib eye, when the steaks arrived the orders had been mixed up however, when we pointed this out the waiter tried to convince us the fault lied with us and not either himself or the kitchen. That said he did offer to order another steak however, we declined as all the other meals had arrived. To their credit when we pointed this out at check out the young lady handling our check out decided not to charge us for the steak so well done to her for putting this right. My point here is that one particular waiter could learn a thing or two from his colleagues at the Carrington Grill!!!
Breakfast was not that exciting - when we have stayed in similar establishments breakfast is a waiter service and not a buffet - so no poached egg, kippers etc...

Our room was cleaned to a good standard however, we found the bed a bit lumpy - but hotel beds are never perfect... My biggest gripe here is the thinness of the walls between you and your neighbour so we had to listen to next door's hair dryer at 7.00am - it could have been worse….

Overall, it is a very nice hotel in a pristine location but there is some room for improvement.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear mike15Leeds,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that there were aspects of your trip did not meet your expectations but am pleased that during check out we were able to amend your bill.

If you would like to discuss this further, please contact Isara Fraser, Front Office Manager via email on isara.fraser@devere-hotels.com and she would be able to assist you.

We apologise again and hope to hear from you soon,

Kind Regards,


James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We lived in Wilmlsow for 25 years and knew of this hotel by reputation. My wife had used it on business and even stayed there.

Reception could not be bothered to break their telephone conversations to check us in. It instantly showed the importance of "ordinary guests". The room was tiny (even Swedish youth hostels offer larger rooms) - the window (admittedly double-glazed) would not shut properly to keep out the noise. The room had an ironing boar - but no iron. It also lacked a safe and a refrigerator: the sliding wardrobe door was comprehensively non-operable. Even checking in late-ish (at 4.30 pm) housekeeping staff were still making up rooms on our corridor. We requested - at on-line booking - a quiet room on a high floor. We were given a noisy room (overlooking spa, function area and delivery doors) on the lower ground floor, and reception claimed that no instructions had been passed to them about room requests. We were awakened at 1 am by noisy revellers from the wedding party, at 2 am by the band loading its van and at 6 am by staff coming into work.

As with many old British hotels sound-proofing between rooms is poor. We could hear our neighbours' snoring, TV and plumbing quite clearly.

Breakfast was a typical buffet - fairly comprehensive, including fried eggs (a plus point), but with little or no attention to their quality, the need for restocking and the recognition that they had sat for too long on a hot-plate.

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms in the 160 to 190 number series
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Chrisdrew,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Mottram Hall. I am sorry that your recent stay did not meet your expectations and that you were disturbed in the early hours of the morning.

We would like to discuss this further with you and encourage you to contact Isara Fraser, Front Office Manager via email on isara.fraser@devere-hotels.com and she would be able to assist you.

We hope to hear from you soon,

Kind Regards,

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mottram Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mottram Hall

Address: Wilmslow Road, Mottram St. Andrew SK10 4QT, England (Formerly De Vere Mottram Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Mottram St. Andrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mottram St. Andrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mottram Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, Refined, Ready and Waiting.There's nowhere quite like it in Cheshire. The NEW Mottram takes its rightful place as Cheshire's finest golf and leisure resort. Play Championship standard golf all year round and relax in the brand new Claret Jug Clubhouse. Chill-out or work-out in the new state-of-the-art Mottram Hall Club & Spa. Dine on amazing local delicacies and reinventions of fine dining classics courtesy of new Executive Chef Ross Bootland. Finally retire blissfully to the beautifully appointed new style rooms and experience a new level of upgrades with a Chambre Unique bedroom. NEW is very much the order of the day. When it comes to dining, golf or relaxation, you should try something new too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mottram Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Mottram Hall Hotel Mottram St. Andrew
De Vere Collection
Mottram Hall Mottram St. Andrew, Cheshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mottram Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.