We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa break with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mottram Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mottram Hall to your Saves list
Mottram Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wilmslow Road, Mottram St. Andrew SK10 4QT, England (Formerly De Vere Mottram Hall)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cumbria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Spa break with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night spa break with 5 friends. We got a good deal on a spa break website for 2 nights and 2 treatments, breakfast and one evening meal.
The hotel is obviously golf orientated, but because it is so big you would hardly notice even a large wedding function on both days didn't interfere with our plans . Our rooms were good and on the ground floor in the modern part of the hotel. Only one problem in room 180, it is really hot even with the window open. A fan was provided and problem was solved. The bathroom was standard and clean, but not bright enough to see in the mirror to put make up on. The room was quite dark with only table lamps. There was no BIG light to switch on. Because the room faces a wall, not the best of scenery, more lighting is very much needed. The spa area of the hotel is clean and well maintained with a sauna, 2 Jacuzzis, steam room, and 2 new heat rooms. The outside spa is gorgeous and relaxing. Our treatments were fantastic and delivered professionally by polite beauty therapists. The treatment rooms are very relaxing and warm.
The whole hotel is obviously up market and has some celebrity clientele, as we saw Maria from Corrie in the spa! Also the Bologna football team were there as well. So if your into star spotting, then this is the place. The bar prices were on the hefty side, as well as the bar food, £6.95 for a few sandwiches and 4 crisps was a bit steep. The staff in the hotel are really nice and helpful and made us feel like VIPs for a couple of days. Overall a lovely place to stay if your not short of cash.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear gizzycatCumbria,

Thank you for your very kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us at De Vere Mottram Hall,

Your review is very constructive and I can see that you did thoroughly enjoy yourself, however I can also see that certain aspects of the hotel can be improved. I would therefore like to thank you for bringing these problems to my attention; we can now identify the causes and rectify these problems straight away.

Thank you once again for your great feedback; we would be delighted to welcome you back to Mottram Hall within the near future for some more refreshingly unique moments.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    168
    112
    53
    23
See reviews for
99
261
10
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had wedding reception here on Saturday 20th July 2013. What an amazing day, we wouldn't have changed a thing. The day ran seamlessly. The food was outstanding and our guests have all commented on how much they enjoyed it. The service was excellent, again are guests commented on how fantastic the staff had looked after them. My wife and I could not have been looked after any better. James (who ran the day) was amazing, so a very big thank you to him and his team for making our day so perfect. We had a toastmaster on the day (Ken Hollett) who was superb, he made us both feel at ease and took a lot of the pressure away from us.

The venue is absolutely stunning, the refurbishment they have had is top class. I have seen the place transform over the last year or so. Not only the building, but the staff culture has improved dramatically. I can not believe the transformation, it must have be with the new managing director James Stewart at the hotel.

Thank to Amy and Netty the wedding co-ordinators who also helped our day run so smoothly. A massive thank you again to James who we believe went above and beyond his duties on our special day to make it perfect. I do not think the day would have been the same without him. He is a superb asset to Mottram Hall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear NJH333,

Thank you for your very kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us at De Vere Mottram Hall,

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your wedding day here at Mottram Hall. I am very happy to hear that James who ran your day was amazing I will thank him personally for this. I am also very happy to hear that enjoyed our stunning top class venue, it is the team that have made Mottram Hall fantastic and all credit should go to themselves.

Thank you once again for your great feedback; we would be delighted to welcome you back to Mottram Hall for your 1st year Wedding Anniversary for some more refreshingly unique moments.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I play guitar with Courtney Love as well as singing with my own band, The Wildhearts, and have traveled around the world extensively for the past 20 years. And I can say, without reservation, that the staff at DeVere, Mottram Hall are the most attentive, fun, friendly and generally awesome bunch I've ever had the pleasure of being welcomed by, anywhere in the world.

I can't recommend this wonderful hotel enough. The food is amazing, the bar staff are awesome.

Take it from this well seasoned traveler, you won't find a more pleasant stay anywhere on the planet.

Ginger Wildheart

Room Tip: The suites are a real treat. We stayed in the Lakeside suite, which I'd highly recommend. The su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear SilverGing,

Thank you for your very kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us at De Vere Mottram Hall,

It is a delight to hear that such a well travelled and highly talented musician approves of the New Mottram Hall; your comments are absolutely fantastic and have given the team an invaluable boost.

We would be honoured to welcome you back to Mottram Hall in the future maybe even with the rest of the band. Please do not hesitate to contact Tom within our Guest Relations Team if you require any assistance, tom.starey@devere-hotels.com.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had been booked into a room which was said to be disability friendly, however when we arrived the room was very small only one tiny window to open no air con or fan. The bathroom was unusable for me as the shower was inside the bath which the bottom was 12-18 inches high! All though there were handrails my muscular dystrophy meant that I was unable to pull myself up safely. The management could not offer me anyother room and even seemed confused which rooms had walk in showers. I explained that it was my daughters wedding the following day the only solution they offered was for me to use the leisure centre. The restaurant service was not good we waited 20 mins and no coffee etc was offered at breakfast until we approached a waitress. We we given a reduction on our dinner bill but it was all very poor with staff seeming uninterested and poorly trained. We ordered room service coffee and it took 40mins and three phone calls before it arrived.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not on the delivery side as deliveries start very early and noisy. Check bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Theresa M

Thank you very much for your constructive and insightful feedback following your recent stay with us at De Vere Mottram Hall,

It is quite clear to see that certain aspects of your stay were either not to the correct standards or did not meet your expectations. We would very much like to talk to you regarding these so we can gain a further understanding and ensure that we put actions in place to prevent them from happening within the future.

We would like to request that you contact Thomas Starey within our Guest Relations team at your earliest convenience; you can contact Thomas via email tom.starey@devere-hotels.com
Once again thank you for your feedback,

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I'm with previous reviewers this is a great hotel in a lovely setting. Yes the emphasis on the hotel is on the golf course, which being so close to Manchester and Manchester Airport is very busy. I enjoyed a swim in the pool each morning and could have lingered longer in the sauna or jacuzzi. My only quibble is the poor disability access. Our room was fine but was a long way from reception up and down a number of stairs. We had a visitor join us with considerable walking difficulties, and this hotel proved quite a challenge for them. Stairs everywhere, with the disability toilet 'locked'. Reluctantly the staff provided a golf buggy down to the restaurant the Claret Jug, which has good food and staff, but again it is up a number of steps or a long ramp. So great hotel but only go if you are able bodied.

Room Tip: ground floor close to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Colin55,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us at De Vere Mottram Hall,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the use of our newly refurbished Leisure Club and Spa.

We’d like to discuss your feedback in more detail.

Please contact Thomas Starey within our Guest Relations team at your earliest convenience; you can contact Thomas via email tom.starey@devere-hotels.com

We look forward to speaking to you

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at Mottram Hall for a relaxing break and as a base for visiting the R.H.S Tatton Park Flower Show.Our lakeside room with patio was recently refurbished and had a large comfy bed, lounge area, roll top bath and shower in a spacious bathroom. A proper coffee machine which was a bonus and much needed fan for the heat wave. A small fridge would have been welcome.
The spa was absolutely wonderful with soft lighting on the approach to the pool and very subtle relaxing mood music which set the tone. We both loved the outdoor hot tub and comfy loungers.
Some pleasant walks to a nearby village and a good location for touring some of the National Trust properties and Chester which was beautiful
The staff were friendly and very helpful. We left fairly early for the Tatton Park flower show and the kitchen staff provided us with a very nice picnic hamper to enjoy when we got there. This was very much appreciated as we watched the endless stream of cars arrive.
Hope to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: The lakeside rooms are delightful and probably worth the extra. Very peaceful and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Gail H,

Thank you for your very kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us at De Vere Mottram Hall,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms and again enjoyed use of the Leisure Club and Spa. Your lovely comments about our staff are also very much appreciated - they really are our greatest asset.

Thank you once again for your great feedback; we would be delighted to welcome you back to Mottram Hall within the near future for some more refreshingly unique moments.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had a beautiful night away at Mottram last night. Staff were knowledgeable, polite and friendly. The room was in good condition, clean if not a bit too hot, but a fan was provided in the wardrobe to try to keep us cool. The outside spa is a great addition to an already good leisure area. The only very very slight negative I have is that all the breakfast trays were still outside rooms on the bedroom corridor when we went to bed last night. As I said, a tiny negative but working in hotels I know how hot our staff have to be on things like that and it's an obstruction and a slight h&s issue. Other than that an amazing, relaxing stay. Would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear 903Cheshiretraveller,

Thank you ever so much for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us at De Vere Mottram Hall,

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay and in particular your use of our newly refurbished Spa. Your comments about our staff are also very much appreciated - they will be delighted to hear your kind words.

Thank you once again for your feedback; we would be delighted to welcome you back to Mottram Hall within the near future for some more refreshingly unique moments.

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mottram Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mottram Hall

Address: Wilmslow Road, Mottram St. Andrew SK10 4QT, England (Formerly De Vere Mottram Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Mottram St. Andrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mottram St. Andrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mottram Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, Refined, Ready and Waiting.There's nowhere quite like it in Cheshire. The NEW Mottram takes its rightful place as Cheshire's finest golf and leisure resort. Play Championship standard golf all year round and relax in the brand new Claret Jug Clubhouse. Chill-out or work-out in the new state-of-the-art Mottram Hall Club & Spa. Dine on amazing local delicacies and reinventions of fine dining classics courtesy of new Executive Chef Ross Bootland. Finally retire blissfully to the beautifully appointed new style rooms and experience a new level of upgrades with a Chambre Unique bedroom. NEW is very much the order of the day. When it comes to dining, golf or relaxation, you should try something new too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mottram Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Mottram Hall Hotel Mottram St. Andrew
De Vere Collection
Mottram Hall Mottram St. Andrew, Cheshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mottram Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.