We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Mauro - CLOSED

Osteria Mauro
Wilmslow Road, Mottram St. Andrew SK10 4QH, England
01625 828111
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $68
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Osteria Mauro is a rustic Italian family restaurant serving modern Italian cuisine in a fabulous country setting.
macclesfield
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

What a gem! We went for a last minute dinner and were so pleasantly surprised. Food was excellent we had calamari followed by the chateaubriand. All was cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. The staff were welcoming and the service was impeccable. We will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    8
    8
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Italian family values”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have regularly dined here over the past year, organised big family and staff parties too. Nothing is too much trouble for them to arrange. They regularly host theme days including a Formula 1 day when the Italian Gran Prix is held. The food is excellent value for money and there is an excellent wine list. You can just call in for a drink if you like, but I bet you can't resist eating!
I thoroughly recommend dining here.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood and Wilmslow
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A wonderful local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Fantastico! Peter, thank you for making us so welcome and for the wonderful attention and food offered. My Mother and I both ordered Veal Milanase which was cooked to perfection. The zucchini frites were out of this world. The desserts were to die for. This is a delightful, local restaurant which never fails to wow. We have been going to Mauro's restaurants for many years, having eaten in Bollington all those years ago and Stock last week, we are now becoming firm regulars. Mum will be visiting on Saturday with her two grandsons for lunch so the kitchen had better watch out! Thank you once again for a delightful evening and looking forward to sharing more with you when I visit Cheshire again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent value for money in a good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have dined at this restaurant last weekend with my sister. We had the fixed price menu at £11.50 for 2 courses. To our surprise, not only that the food was excellent but the portions were very generous indeed. We have passed the restaurant many times before, but thought that would be beyond our price range due to its expensive location.
I enjoyed the large car park and the relaxed environment (no rushing with the drinks like in so many restaurants these days) .
If you like italian food, you will enjoy eating at Osteria Mauro!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantasico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The restaurant, staff and food were fantastic. Good value, quiet and romantic. Would recommened it to every one.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Mauro also viewed

Mottram St. Andrew, Cheshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Mauro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.