We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A GEM!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Souqueto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Souqueto to your Saves list
La Souqueto
Centre Ville, 11120 Mirepeisset, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 3 Mirepeisset B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WHAT A GEM!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Do yourself a favour and visit the no less than amazing La Souqueto. If you want to experience a wonderful, magical, unique piece of France, then this is the place for you!! Where do I start???

Why did I choose La Souqueto? My partner and I wanted to immerse ourself in the culture of a little, quaint town in France. We didn't want touristy, we wanted simple, rustic, genuine French culture and I wanted to take some cooking lessons. I jumped on Trip Advisor and searched for B&B's in the Languedoc. La Souqueto had nothing but amazing reviews, particularly about its owner Petra and her infectious offsider - the singing, whistling Robert. Since I had found Trip Advisor to be very reliable in the past I emailed Petra and made a booking straight away - it sounded too good to be true and we didn't want to miss out! We weren't disappointed with our week at La Souqueto.

Petra, the owner - what an extraordinarily charming, intelligent, vivacious woman. We instantly fell in love with her. It felt like we were at home and part of the family, but we were also given our privacy too. Petra has such great knowledge of the surrounding area - she was always recommending places to visit and would sit with us to organise our day trips. She had plenty of entertaining stories too!

The B&B - We felt like we were staying at one of those places you see in magazines - picture perfect. Our room was simple, yet so beautifully decorated - quintessentially French! Our room was very spacious and it had an ensuite. Everything was impeccably clean (a huge plus) and each afternoon when we returned from our day out, our room looked brand new again. Another huge plus was the comfort of our bed - a rare find when on holiday! All amenities one could need were all available.

The Food - for a foodie you couldn't find any better than this. Petra and Robert provided the most delicious breakfasts each day. Home made jams, local cheeses and meats, fresh fruit and smoothies. And I can't forget the warm, freshly baked baguettes and croissants that Robert went to collect every morning from the little shop around the corner.
Another reason we chose La Souqueto was for the cooking demonstrations/classes that Petra offers. She is remarkable in the kitchen. We were taught how to make many classic dishes and we always had a glass of local bubbles in our hand. The interactive cooking classes suited all sorts - beginners to wannabe chefs (like me). Petra is a wonderful teacher and we were taught how to be creative in the kitchen and more importantly, how to work with what you've got.

As part of the cooking demonstration package Petra took us shopping for our fresh produce in the markets in nearby Narbonne - I was in heaven. It would have to be one of the best food markets I have ever been too. Another side trip took us to a local goat farm where we were able to watch the goats be milked, including getting to try some warm, fresh goat milk. I scan still taste the sticky sweetness on my lips. We tried many types of goats cheese and were given a thorough explanation of the working's of a goat farm from the lovely owners.

A highlight for me, by far, was our cruise along the Canal du Midi, (which was also included in the cooking demonstration package). The weather was perfect, warm and sunny with a slight breeze. We meandered along the canal, passing under the canopy of the Plane tress and through the canal locks. What topped off this day was the sumptuous picnic that Petra prepared for our group. Once we hopped off the boat, the picnic was awaiting us. The food was to die for and there were bottomless glasses of lovely, local rose, white and red wine for us to enjoy on the bank of the canal. Once again, we were all entertained by Petra and her stories.

Stumbling upon La Souqueto was a blessing and we truly feel enriched by the whole experience. Its very rare to find something that exceeds all your expectations. We booked for 7 nights, begged and managed to stay 8, and wanted to stay another 3 when we heard some of the Gypsy Kings were coming to stay at La Souqueto the day we were leaving. But alas, it was fully booked for weeks to come. Despite being sad when we had to leave, the upside was that we knew we would return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
77
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

La Souqueto is the perfectly placed B&B for our family...1 minute walk to a spring fed river to swim in,15 mins to the coast, 20 mins walk to the beautiful Canal Du Midi, 20 mins to the hills and 3 hours drive to Barcelona!!
We had a wonderful room that felt more like a country house hotel suite than a B&B.
Outstanding!

Room Tip: Amele was a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Absolutely charming! We stayed 3 nights at La Souqueto, and it was the highlight of our trip.
Petra's enthusiasm, knowledge, and delightful personality made our time in the area wonderfully charming. Petra assisted us in planning both walking and driving trips. We easily walked along a beautiful trail to the Le Canal Du Midi, where there was a place to get wine and light plates while sitting and watching the boats in the canal. Petra also directed us to the town of Minerve, where we had an incredible meal at Relais Chantovent. Then the following day she suggested visiting town of Gruissan, its salt flats and another wonderful restaurant, La Cambuse du saunier. All these unique and sensual places were easily reached within half an hour or so from the B & B. Incredible!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a real find. We stayed for 4 nights during a very hot spell in August 2012. La Souqueto is really special. We stayed in the large double room (Emelie) with the wonderful ensuite with a walk in shower. Our teenage children stayed in the twin (Isolde) with a beautiful bathroom across the hall with a curtain to make it a private suite. Petra and Robert are perfect hosts - warm and welcoming. Fantastic breakfasts each morning with lots of freshly made dishes by Petra - home made goats cheese, peach tart, bread and butter pudding. They also spent a lot of time giving us great suggestions for day trips that you will not find in any guide book including booking us into fantasic restaurants for lunch (one at Minerve literally over the Gorge, another literally next to the Canal du Midi at Le Somail before a boat trip) and for dinner (at the lovely Taverne next door). Petra has thought of every possible comfort - fluffy towels, lovely toiletries, an extensive library, beautiful decor. We made much use of the river behind the house, swimming every morning and cooling off in the early evening. It is hard to think of a more idilic place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a lovely three night stay at La Souqueto in August.

Petra and Robert made us feel very welcome and the daily itineraries provided by Petra in her own inimitable style over breakfast were great.

The actual B&B itself was great; we had a lovely room which was both 'traditional and old' but also had enough mod-cons to make it really comfortable. The shower, in particular, was really great and lovely after a long day looking around the region in the hot weather.

It is a real bonus that La Taverne is round the corner as well.

One word of warning - the roads in Mirepeisset are very narrow so be careful when driving through!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had four fantastic days at La Souqueto at the end of July, and think back at our stay with Petra and Robert as the highlight of our trip! They have managed to create a B&B that is exactly what we hoped for: A beautiful room, quiet surroundings, great breakfasts, and a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Guidebooks are needless, as Petra will lead you to local gems not to be missed, and tell you what activities to prioritize. We enjoyed the hospitality, the charming house, and the area close to the canal so much that we will keep coming back!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We whole heartily agree with all positive reviews. Petra is a delight and guided us through our stay in and around the Canal di Midi,we would not have seen or experienced so much without her, in fact we stayed another day and wished it could have been more.Hiring bikes from Mellow Velos and cycling the canal in either direction, taking a one night stay in Villa Limonade are to be recommended. The area, the gem of a house,the super breakfast and the warm welcome by Petra and Robert mean you are guaranteed an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Souqueto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Souqueto

Address: Centre Ville, 11120 Mirepeisset, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Mirepeisset
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mirepeisset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish B&B in an ancient, sensitively restored and renovated village house. Center village, yet only a few minutes walk from river, lake and Canal du Midi. Daily-changing breakfast includes fresh fruit, smoothies, yoghurts with home-made compotes, croissants and fresh bread, home-made preserves and spectacular honeys as well as freshly made ground coffee and tea. At guests' disposal: a large and bright artist studio, library and WiFi (printer attached for printing out boarding passes). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Souqueto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Souqueto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.