We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just do it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amethyst Mine Lapland

Amethyst Mine Lapland
Ukko-Luostontie, Luosto 99555, Finland
+358-400666820
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 attractions in Luosto
Type: Mines
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: In the middle of Pyhä-Luosto national park on top of Lampivaara fell in Lapland Finland is a sustainable amethyst mine where visitors hear fascinating stories and dig their personal lucky amethyst.
Lapland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just do it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

If staying in Luosto, you simply must visit this place. The views alone from the top of Luosto fell make it worth it. Take your camera. The mine is not undeground, the area the visitors go to is rather covered with a timber roof. It's a large area with lots of rough wooden steps, so not for those that aren't so agile.

You get to dig your own amethysts, and are practically guaranteed to find some. They won't be great quality that you can use in jewellery, though. We enjoyed our visit thoroughly, and the guides (at least in 3 languages) were knowledgeable and provided us with a wealth of info.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    23
    16
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sodankyla, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good views, interesting story and nice amethysts (seasonal)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

During winter, you'll have a nice winter views, similarly summer offers stunning views. But late autumn when there is neither is just not good time.

If you like the idea of digging your own amethyst, summer offers better possibilities (wider selection of areas where to dig).

I've visited place 4-5 times, mostly with business associates. There are not that many places for such occasions, especially in summer in the area. The mine is a must, for such occasions.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fun with stunning views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We got there from Luosto in a sleigh pulled by a snowmobile which was really enjoyable. The views when we got there were absolutely stunning and well worth the trip alone. Wrap up well as it was windy and cold. The shapes of the frozen snow on the trees and bushes were amazing.
We were given a talk while drinking hot berry juice about amethysts and the mine which was interesting and then we were taken down into the mine and given a pick to mine for our own amethysts. You then got to keep the best one you found for yourself - a good bit of fun.
Then another fabulous trip back to Luosto in the sleigh.
It was something completely different to do and we all enjoyed it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“bit of fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The ride to the mine on sledge by snowmobile was stunning. The mine talk was interesting and hammering for our own small bits of amethyst was fun and dusty but not claustrophobic.Nice little shop as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Really not that interesting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The only thing that makes this trip up the fell remotely worth it, is the views when you get to the top. It was a bitterly freezing day when we went, so we could barely even enjoy the views. You get a talk about the mine and then you climb down some stairs to a platform where they allow you to dig for your stones. You are never truly underground, so the air from outside is still biting at you while you dig, which was very uncomfortable.You get this little pick and dig through what is basically dirt to uncover more dirt, and if you are lucky a sliver of something that looks crystal like. This was part of my activities package, but i would not do it again, totally not worth it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amethyst Mine Lapland also viewed

 
Pelkosenniemi, Lapland
 

Been to Amethyst Mine Lapland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amethyst Mine Lapland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amethyst Mine Lapland to your Saves list