We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem, fantastic place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apokryfo Traditional Houses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lofou
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apokryfo Traditional Houses
Lofou Village | PO Box 51997, Lofou 3509, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Lofou B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A real gem, fantastic place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Really glad a took my friends advice and stayed here. I had been looking for a smart contemporary place to unwind for a few nights. The 5 star resorts on the north west coast (Polis etc) were very pricey but I thought the rates at Apokryfo were correct for the level of service and quality of the surroundings (the Walnut room overlooking the Pool was fantastic). Excellent hospitality too, I really can't rate this enough. I hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very nice hotel, cozy in the winter. Stayed in a house with a fire place which was very romantic but the smoke gave u a headache. I would not recommend it for more than a 2-day stay since it's really quiet and isolated and it gets a bit boring. The room was clean but I thought it was overpriced. The restaurant wasn't serving dinner in the evening which was a bit odd. Luckily we found a taverna nearby.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apokryfo, Owner at Apokryfo Traditional Houses, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear guest.

We would like to thank you for your comments. In order to improve our service, it would help us greatly to know at what time of the year you stayed and which night of the week it was. If you can contact me personally on the phone of Apokryfo (tel.+35725 813777 or +35796 475530) or by email info@apokryfo.com we would love to hear your comments in detail.

The restaurant is serving dinner every night all year round for our in-house guests upon reservation and to any outside guest, again upon reservation.

Regarding the smoke from the fireplace, this can vary depending on the weather conditions (i.e windy outdoors) or whether there is too much or too little wood in the hearth, also it is not recommended to leave the fire lit after going to bed.

Lofou is isolated and we believe that this is its the charm, most guests find it relaxing.

Regarding the value, the hotel has 13 beautiful designed rooms and the rates ranges from €150b/b for the Pomegranate room for 2 persons to €750b/b for the Schoolmaster’s house, which sleeps 6 people. There is no luxury spared. Special discounts are given for longer stays.

We appreciate your positive ratings on the cleanliness and the design of the rooms and we will do our utmost to improve the other points you mentioned.

best regards
the Apokryfo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

The best mezzeh on the island using seasonal produce. What more can u ask comfortable surroundings by an open fire. Chef is outstanding we have been here several times perfect every time! Always welcomed with friendly greeting and personal service.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicosia, cyprus
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with my husband for an anniversary. Yes it's a beautiful place with lovely food and service, but 200 euros per night and not having a shampoo in the bathroom????!!!!!! For me is outrageous! Yes I am sorry I have to correct myself there was something in a bottle of "head and shoulders"... Some kind of soap I quess... The cheapest in the market!
The staff is just great... But you can tell that the owners are getting the advantage of the 3 people that are running this place... charge 200 per night.
I felt very sad... Such a lovely place..

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apokryfo, Owner at Apokryfo Traditional Houses, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all we thank you for taking the time to write a review of our guesthouse and your comments are much appreciated.
I agree with you that we have 3 excellent people, Eleftheria, Willy and Ei Ei, serving the guests but it will be unfair to forget the others in their totality who made your stay comfortable. Krista is a full time member handling all front office reservations, correspondence and offers to clients, Yianoula is full time handling purchases, personnel, CTO and accounts, Mr. Pambos is our excellent chef, Loukas our part time popular masseur and spa specialist and myself as manager and owner running the day to day business and very often helping in various positions whenever necessary (my souvla is well renowned !). We have 13 rooms and 8 staff, a ratio that most 5 star hotels would be proud of, furthermore 8 very dedicated people passionate about hospitality, this is how Apokryfo earned its good reputation.
The shampoo and soap in the rooms are family size, the type you buy from the market that I admit are more suitable for our family guesthouses where people tend to stay longer than just one night.
Regarding the price, we have 13 very beautifully designed rooms each with individual character and charm, rates range from €150 bb for the Pomegranate Room to €750bb for the Schoolmasters House (230sq.m.) which sleeps 6 people with no luxury spared.
The Apokryfo team is informal and personal and we are more than happy to fulfil any customers wishes on the the spot to make their stay as comfortable as possible.
We thank you again for your positive comments and it will be our pleasure to welcome you again to Apokryfo.



The Apokryfo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

what a wonderful little place, quiet,warm,friendly and amazing food..We were met at the door by Willie, with a big smile and an honest welcome,Willie and his lovely wife looked after us like long lost friends and made our stay very relaxing.we would recommend this place for a quiet tranquil weekend.

Room Tip: olive suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stayed here the end of May for 3 nights, perfect place to stay for peace and quiet, the food is excellent, the decor beautiful and the hosts are a fabulous couple from Burma..
Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souni, Cyprus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We have stayed in the hotel for one night and it was an amazing experience.
From the moment you enter to this unique place, it just disconnecting you from the everyday troubles and you are in their lovely hands of WIlly and his wife which are taking care for any wish or need you have. The place offers rooms and mini-houses which are decorated with such a delightful interior design. You won't need or want to go out of this place, just disconnect yourself from any phone/internet connection lean back and enjoy!
The hotel has also wonderful food to offer and we also visited couple of times the place for breakfast and dinner - Wow, not even once we were disappointed.
To make a long story short - a unick boutique hotel for couples, even families which wants quiet and peaceful atmosphere. (good for Family gathering, small weddings etc.)

Room Tip: The hotel has several rooms and mini houses to offer - need to check which one of them will match th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apokryfo Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apokryfo Traditional Houses

Address: Lofou Village | PO Box 51997, Lofou 3509, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Lofou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lofou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apokryfo is a unique hideaway situated in the foothills of Mount Olympus in the wine growing district of Cyprus. This cluster of old stone houses has been painstakingly renovated by a local architect and his interior designer wife. Just 25 mins from Limassol, Apokryfo provides farmhouse style cuisine, spa, salt water pool, seminar room, luxury rooms, one room studios and three bedroom houses,all equipped with king size beds, c/h, a/c, TV/DVD/WiFi and some even with fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apokryfo Traditional Houses Hotel Lofou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apokryfo Traditional Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Apokryfo Traditional Houses to your Saves list