We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vastly overpriced but Mekele really lacks choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yordanos Hotel

Yordanos Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mek'ele
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yordanos Hotel
Save
You added Yordanos Hotel to your Saves list
Mek'ele, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Mek'ele B&B and Inns
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Vastly overpriced but Mekele really lacks choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Definitely very overpriced but then Mekele is not blessed with many decent hotels. For the price we were paying the breakfast was pitiful: sparse offerings with nothing hot at all, cheap and nasty bought (as opposed to freshly squeezed) mixed fruit juice.

We stayed one night before and one night after a trip to the Danakil Depression and both rooms has outside windows and a balcony and were bright and clean with clean bathrooms. In the first room the water heater blew a fuse (twice) and they let us shower in another room while waiting for the maintenance guy to come and fix the problem. Second room the shower soaked the entire bathroom floor because of the way it was position over the bath tub.

Rooms had satellite TV which was welcome as there’s nothing to do in town – three English language news channels and one Dubai channel showing (English language) films.

I used the one functioning internet terminal in the lobby and the speed was fine (though I was on it at 5am both times).

Staff were pretty clueless but what's new in Ethiopian hotels?

Hotel looked after some of our luggage while we were in Danakil and this was returned with no problem.

If there was any other reasonable choice in town this place would never get away with charging over 900 birr per night, it's just not worth the money.

Room Tip: Some rooms have inside windows and are dark, look at a few rooms to find one that you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
2
6
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I can support a couple of the previous reviews!!
We were promised broad-band Internet, hot water etc and the (high) rate included breakfast. Well the Internet connection is so slow that it is actually pointless trying to use it. We inquired what time the kitchen closed - but at 9pm we could have very little of what was on the menu - in the end I gave up and declined to eat. And when I got up to shower in the morning - no hot water. The breakfast was cold and congealed - and when we requested fresh eggs etc they wanted to charge extra.......
They charged a very high 930 birr ($55) by Ethiopian standards - real "faranji" gouging - locals are charged 330 birr. We checked out and are now at the immaculate Ezana Pension - 200 birr and tons of washing being done at an additional 100 birr - would have cost 700 birr at Yordanos.
Stay away!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

the Yordanos was the worst place I've stayed in Ethiopia. Sure the food was tasty, but the room stunk of RAID bug spray and my camera was stolen from their "secure'' locker within 20 minutes of my leaving the room.

Room Tip: as far as I can tell, there are no "good" rooms in this place...unless you like sleeping w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The food in the Yordanos hotel was among the best we had in Ethiopia. I tried the fastening buffet and it was excellent. The breakfast also was above average. Our lunchbox with egg sandwich was great. The waitress in the restaurant was very friendly. The rooms were clean. We had an excellent night in the Yordanos.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The hotel is near the town centre, so there is some noise of traffic. It has a small bar area and restaurant at the front. On the evening we were there the restaurant was packed and we had tyo eat in the bar. The food was very pleasant and i would imagine some of the best in town. Breakfast was different. It was rather limited - just rice, injera, etc - and when we asked for eggs we were told there was an extra charge. Some minutes later, scrambled egg was brought to the self-service, but no refund was forthcoming. Service generally was slow. Our room was acceptable, but the bathroom and toilet was dirty. Do Ethiopian hotels ever clean them? As the title says, it was satisfactory for a one night stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012 via mobile

I work for a tour company in Addis, when I reserved this hotel three months ago, they gave me a price of 760 birr for the suite room. When I called two weeks ago to check the rerservation, they told me the price of 760 birr is only for residents. Now, today my guide and our clients are there and they charge 92 dollars for a room. Absolute ridiculous. Even in better hotels anywhere else they don t charge this price. We will never sent any customer anymore !!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

The Yordanos seems like a good choice for a stay in Mekele. Our room was large and clean and we had a nice bathroom with hot water. The staff was friendly and attentive, and we had one meal in the hotel restaurant which was very good (and our server was wonderful). They were able to come up with a good vegetarian option for us, which was very nice. As one other reviewer noted, there are two pigeons who seem to live in the restaurant/lobby area. It is a bit strange, but we didn't encounter any problems or issues with cleanliness. The Yordanos is also within walking distance of the Castle of Emperor Johannes, which is worth a trip.

As another reviewer mentioned though, they do not take credit cards, and they were also unable to change money for us though it was a service they advertised. (There is a bank right down the block though).

Hotel options in Mekele are quite limited (though apparently there's a "five star" hotel being built), so if you go into the Yordanos with realistic expectations, you'll enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yordanos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yordanos Hotel

Address: Mek'ele, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Tigray Region > Mek'ele
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mek'ele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Yordanos Hotel Ethiopia/Tigray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yordanos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.