We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Heaven A Must See” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilmokea Gardens

Kilmokea Gardens
Great Island, Campile, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 attractions in Campile
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Originally started in 1947 these gardens host a wide selection of rare and tender trees and shrubs. With over 130 different species the garden is a delight to both the keen amateur and the more serious horticulturist. Presently Kilmokea Gardens holds an Irish Heritage Garden certificate which is a justifiable reward for 65 years of creation and dedication.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Garden Heaven A Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We enjoyed a quick trip to these beautiful gardens on a recent weekend trip to Dunbrody House Hotel, a must see for all garden enthusiasts and everyone else too. We enjoyed a cup of coffee in the coffee shop and the owner kindly gave us his time to explain what else we should see n the local area. Had we known how much there was to see in the great outdoors, and given that we were a bit pushed for time to make it back in Dunbrody for a wedding, we might have skipped the coffee. The gardens are magnificent and beautifully kept. We enjoyed a chat with the gardener and got a bit of advice for our own garden as we talked about the beautiful redwoods we were fortunate to explore in California. We will definitely be back to this beautiful spot, a hidden gem and we will make sure we have time to see all of the gardens.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    3
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“abeautiful garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I thought the gardens were beautifully kept.We had a long chat with the gardener and got some useful tips from him also the coffee and cakes wre lovely.Well worth a visit

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Total rip off!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011 via mobile

Myself & my partner visited here for lunch one day en route to Wexford. Upon arrival to the Cafe we could not see any menus/pricelists and when we enquired we were swiftly told:- sandwiches paninis soup and sweet things' no more detail! We ordered paninis which arrived soon after and were just average:- processed ham and grated cheese (barely melted). Once finished we went to pay the bill... €19.50!!! This was for just two paninis small side salad garnish & two tap waters. We were very shocked and paid nonetheless. We left very disappointed and definitly won't be back again. Very expensive for below average food and poor unhelpful service... Don't waste your time!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens, a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Visit in the Spring when the rhododendrons are blooming and the garden is at its most colourful, with a variety of songbirds to entertain you, peacocks wandering around the formal part of the garden and ducks quacking in the pond. The magnolias, azaleas and camellias are beautiful and there is an air of peace and quiet. Kilmokea is quite off the beaten track but well worth discovering. There is a tea room, I believe, but I can't speak for it as I didn't go there. Quite expensive if you bring a family but not bad for a couple, and better suited to adults than kids at any rate.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do not go here for lunch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

My husband and I visited the Pink Tea Cup Cafe on Monday 8th August 2011, what a disappointment. It had been about 4 years since we were last there and as earlier this year we had moved to Wexford to live we were delighted to go back to have lunch and use the Cafe as a place to go on a regular basis. This will not be happening, The service was blunt to put it midly, we both ordered Turkey pannin's and tea, the pannin's eventually arrived, looking very unedible on a plate with very tired, stale lettuce leaves. The turkey if that's what it was in the pannin, was slimy and processed, the cheese being indescrible. Of course no napkins. The tea arrived about 5 mins later and then the cutlery arrived. The cost of this so called lunch was just under €25 - a total rip off. As we had already been to the gardens a couple of time and found them expensive (children under 2 go free - big deal) we did not go again as our finances would not stretch that far. We will not eat here again and this is a pity as I have two sisters staying with me next week and I could not afford to bring them and get such bad value for our hard earned money.
Rita and Seamus
Wexford

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilmokea Gardens also viewed

Campile, County Wexford
 
County Wexford, Province of Leinster
Hook Head, County Wexford
 

Been to Kilmokea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilmokea Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kilmokea Gardens to your Saves list