We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than I expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunbrody Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dunbrody Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R733, Arthurstown, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
in Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“More than I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

On arriving we were greeted by friendly and very helpful staff all smiling happy and eager to help. we were shown to our more than ample room (#300 on the main floor adjacent to the entrance parlor which is large with incredible furnishings and art.
We were there for 4 nights and quickly became one of the family. Let me say that the food in the main dining room was extremely well prepared very tasty. We found a room 2 away from the bar with a fireplace and it was empty and once we asked for the fireplace to be lit we were able to have this room every night on our own with all the service we needed to complete a very romantic stay.
The Irish breakfast is the best breakfast I have found and this property served it meeting all my expectations. The bar is well stocked with fine Irish whiskeys and Irish single malts and the pricing was agreeable. The food in the bar is wonderful and the service impeccable. We travelled around the country using the hotel as a base and they knew the answers to all my Questions and our shopping and pictures are among the best in Ireland thanks to the directions and tips from the staff.
I would have given this property an excellent rating except the only bad experience we had there was when we left I realized I had left my camera battery charger and battery plugged into a receptacle in our room. We immediately Emailed them, and identified our room # and asked them to forward it to our home and authorized them to charge any charges to our Credit card to expedite the return and alas, their last chance to make this a "for sure place the next time in Ireland" turned into a crappy finish to a wonderful visit.

Room Tip: 300 and I am sure others are nice too
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    108
    74
    52
    33
See reviews for
68
284
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just back from a visit to Dunbrody house, I was very impressed with the standard of accommodation, quality of food (particularly the restaurant menu which is very reasonable), the local pub (a recent addition in the converted barn) and breakfast. The owners have done very well to employ such great staff, who appear to enjoy their work, offer great service and think very highly of their employers. The only complaint I would have is that €10 for soup on the bar menu is a bit pricey and the sandwiches lack some imagination on the bar menu. I will definitely be back however!!!

Room Tip: Arrive hungry as the food is great!!! I would chose to eat in the local pub (on-site) one night and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Lovely stay at Dunbrody House,tranquil place to come to chill out. Warm friendly atmosphere, excellent service. We enjoyed a delicious dinner and breakfast, very high standard of food. We had a walk around the grounds,the daffodils,chickens, herb garden and more to see, all very relaxing. Our room was lovely. You will really enjoy your stay here. I bought Kevin Dundon's Cook Book, Great!! I will come here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden ?. Ours was at front of house but did not soil our stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Daingean, Offaly, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had the pleasure of eating in the main restaurant with our 2 kids. Normally we wouldn't bring the kids 9 and 5 to an expensive restaurant as we thought they wouldn't appreciate it and restaurants like this aren't conducive to smaller children but due to circumstances this time they had to come. It was a huge success, the staff were so nice to us and the kids making them feel very welcome. The waitress, I think Kevin's wife explained the cutlery and showed them where to put their napkin etc, coming from her they listened and obey and now they take great pleasure telling us the correct table manners! They were awed by the food and although they had a burger, gourmet burger and chips, the presentation was so special, we all just loved it. Our food was fabulous and we rally enjoyed wonderful fresh locally sourced food cooked really well. If that wasn't enough we went back again another weekend to visit "the Local" the pub in the yard, another great success. For casual dining, on a budget but different and with a really special atmosphere, it ticked all the right boxes and the Guinness was great as well. I think "The Local" deserves its own review. Thanks to all in Dunbrody I'd love to come back for the cookery school.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

stopped by here again on the way back to the boat lovely late lunch we both had the fish chowder delicious i had the mini beefburgers which i couldent finish and my husband had the fish and chips again both good portions the bar staff were very ayyentive i think his name was sean he said he had worked there for five years on and off what a lovely location every one is very friendly the only complaint we sat outside in the garden which is a lovely setting the cushions on the furniture were dirty time for new ones i think

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a lovely place to escape to. Only a 2 hr drive from Dublin. It is in a beautiful location close to the sea . Great restaurant and a quaint pub on the premises. You can walk over a hill to the next village for a cup of coffee with magnificent views on the way. It is an are steeped in history back to the Norman Invasion.
Hosts cannot do enough to make your stay comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are very quiet .we had a suite which was beautiful. Somewhere to read a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at Dunbrody House for two nights in early August and enjoyed every minute of our time there. The room was spacious and comfortable, the food was just excellent with most of the produce coming from the Dunbrody kitchen garden. The vegetables were the freshest and tastiest I have had since I was a child! Breakfast was equally excellent. The dining room is beautiful and a window table gives you a wonderful view of the gardens.

There is a pub on the grounds which offers a nice change of scenery if you are there for more than a couple of nights. They serve casual food which looked and smelled divine. They also have a lovely outdoor seating area just off the pub.

The staff were all very welcoming and friendly. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time at Dunbrody and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunbrody Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunbrody Country House Hotel

Address: R733, Arthurstown, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Arthurstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunbrody Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury country house hotel built in 1830 and set in extensive gardens and estate. Acclaimed fine dining restaurant and very popular Seafood Bar combined with on-site cookery school make Dunbrody a favourite destination amongst foodies but also for those seeking to experience Irish heritage coupled with traditional hospitality.A small boutique spa offering a range of holistic therapies completes the offering at Dunbrody. Ideal spot for those seeking to get away from it all and chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Dunbrody Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunbrody House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunbrody Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.