We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant - just don't bring the kids” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dunbrody Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dunbrody Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R733, Arthurstown, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant - just don't bring the kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Unfortunately, similar to other reviewers, we felt that we received poor value for money at Dunbrody Country House Hotel. We visited on the 15th of February as a family of four, and while we found the food to be good and the surroundings lovely, we left feeling we were victims of the restaurant trying to extract as much money as possible from us.

When booking the table, I enquired about the arrangements for children, and was told that they could eat off the early Bird menu or the bar food menu which would be charged at half-price for half portions. Before ordering for our 12-year-old from the early Bird menu, I checked again with the restaurant manager about having half portions for our 12-year-old, and he said he would check with the kitchen, but that it wouldn't be a problem. Similarly, when enquiring about the size of the slider Burgers for our 8 year I enquired about the portion size, and was told that it would be perfect for the child.

Our eight-year-old was only able to one of the two slider burgers served and our 12-year-old didn't finish his main course and was too full to order a desert, given the adult portion sizes served.

When we were presented with the bill, we were charged full price for both children.
When I pointed out to the restaurant manager the conversation I had had with both himself and the person advising us as we were booking the table in relation to children's portion sizes, he said that he had misunderstood my enquiry and thought that it related only to the size of the soup portion from the early Bird menu. He did say that he would honour the agreement, but then only took 10 Euro from the €50 charged for the children's food.

It is apparent that Dunbrody doesn't really have a clear policy in relation to children, and in truth the location is probably best suited to couples and adults than family. Ours where the only children in the restaurant that evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    102
    72
    51
    32
See reviews for
64
269
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Beautiful setting, worth the 2.5hr drive from Dublin. House and staff where amazing. We had a package for the 1 night B&B with 7 course tasting menu
Food and wine of a very high standard.
Would go again if the same deal came up more suited for 2 night stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arklow.Eire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Beautiful country home with a lovely receptionist Jenny who was so welcoming. After being shown around the house we were shown our room which was the balcony room. Beautiful with lots of character. We had a drink before dinner which was lovely, althought when we saw the starters we were a bit worried as it was quiet small, nevertheless the rest of the meal made up for it. Breakfast the next morning was again super. We then had a lovely spa treatment. I would certainly recommend this beautiful hotel for a recharge, if I had one quibble is the poor signposting I ended up in ballyhack and had to ask direction, aslo the drive up to the house really need a good upgrade. Many thank to all the lovely friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just back from a visit to Dunbrody Country House Hotel , We spent a Saturday night and Sunday morning at the hotel. We got a great service from very friendly and efficient staff. Our bed room was exceptional , see the photo attached. . The food was very good and the wine list was not over priced. The bar was very relaxing.
It is a bit off the main roads but worth the drive. It was a lovely part of the country to visit. A trip to Waterford is not far and you pass some very nice views. It may not be the easiest place to find , we used google maps then clicked on to street view to get the Garmin co ordinates , it all work out well and we found the hotel without getting lost. We did not use the spa so we can not comment on it, there was also a cookery school which we did not use. However any facitities we used were good. A stay at Dunbrody is highly recommended we hope to go back some time.
Its also a very safe part of the country no worries about your car or your own safety.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

As we were in the area we called to Dunbrody for lunch. Beautiful country home, extremely warm and inviting on a cold January day. Having had a late breakfast it was too soon for a full lunch but told too early for bar food which was not being served until 3 pm. We were informed that only soup and sandwiches were on offer and just as we told the waitress we would go for that another waitress arrived with said soup and sandwiches so we were getting them away - lack of communication I think. The soup although tasty was a fairly small portion and the sandwiches of which there were three each were open on brown bread with more lettuce than anything else. The bill arrived and we were each charged €20. I'm sorry €10 for said sandwiches and another €10 for a small bowl of soup is not what I expected to pay. I love my food and have no problem spending money on it but most of all I expect value for money and don't like the feeling of being ripped off. Was really disappointed with this and was sorry we hadn't spent the extra €20 for a full three course meal in the diningroom which would have been much better value. Staff were lovely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointed with this restaurant . First very poorly signposted and when you do find the entrance you then go up a very poor entrance road with again no signs one must guess direction to take at a junction to get to the car park. On leaving car found all doors locked to the hotel managed to gain access by knocking at door which was locked again after we entered. I had made booking on day prior to arriving but we were told that there was no booking on list for our name on that night and even though they were fully booked they would organise a table for us. We felt at this stage they were doing us a big favour EVEN THOUGH WE HAD MADE THE BOOKING.
Service was prompt and food was reasonable menu was very limited.
Value is very poor compared to superior restaurants in the general area like the tannery la Boheme or Campagne .
On leaving had to unbolt door to get out and the fully booked!!! Restaurant was at this stage quarter full.
Come on you can do much better





  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear FR7032,

Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately on the night you came to dine with us there was very bad weather hence why the doors were closed over as they kept blowing open. I hope you understand now the reasoning and accept our apologies.
I am sorry to read that your booking for dinner had been misplaced; as mistakes are sometimes made I would hope you would not hold this against us, as much as we strive for perfection there is the occasional error!
In relation to the menu we have three menus in the main restaurant and one in the bar. The main restaurant has a Tasting Menu, Seasonal Menu & Early Bird Menu, I am not sure which menu you chose from but there are normally 7 - 9 starters and 8 - 10 main course choices.
On a positive note I am glad that you found the service to be prompt!
I do understand from reading this review you were not satisfied with your experience; I can only hope that you would give us another chance to prove to you that we are better than what you have described.
Once again thank you for your review - hopefully we will have the pleasure of your return.

Best Regards,
Paul Mernagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We arrived on a special offer that included a tasting menu. You expect a tasting menu to be a show case of the restaurant's best dishes. Alas in our case we felt that an accountant had got across the ingredients and what was on offer certainly didn't reflect the excellent reputation the restaurant usually receives in reviews. The fish course was cod with samphire, but there was no samphire that we could find on our plates. The meat course was belly of pork, well cooked but hardly a test of skill for the chef. The dessert was chocolate fondant, which was okay but wasn't any better than on many early bird menus at a fraction of the price.

We opted for the wines chosen by the hotel and again felt that the choice was influenced more by the accountant than the wine waiter.

To finish on a positive note the hotel itself is a lovely building in a very interesting location and the staff were welcoming and attentive. A final quibble, as it was midweek in January the hotel was fairly empty, why then put guests in a bedroom directly over the bar where the noise of other guests could be heard until 2am? We had to go down twice and ask that the noise be kept down.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get room 208 over the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear AlbanyD6,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel; we appreciate your feedback and will take all of your comments on board.

I apologise if the menu did not appeal to you on the evening in question. We have had a lot of good feedback regarding the menu from other guests however I will pass on your comments to the Head Chef. Also I was sorry to read that you were disturbed in your room later in the night with noise from the bar.
Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel itself and our staff, we appreciate the positive feedback in that respect.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of your company in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Paul Mernagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunbrody Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunbrody Country House Hotel

Address: R733, Arthurstown, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Arthurstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunbrody Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury country house hotel built in 1830 and set in extensive gardens and estate. Acclaimed fine dining restaurant and very popular Seafood Bar combined with on-site cookery school make Dunbrody a favourite destination amongst foodies but also for those seeking to experience Irish heritage coupled with traditional hospitality.A small boutique spa offering a range of holistic therapies completes the offering at Dunbrody. Ideal spot for those seeking to get away from it all and chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dunbrody Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunbrody House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunbrody Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.