We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marsh Mere Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arthurstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marsh Mere Lodge
Save
You added Marsh Mere Lodge to your Saves list
Ballyhack, Arthurstown, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Arthurstown B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Claire was an absolutely wonderful host, kitting out some of our party with forgotten wedding items and tying everyone's bow ties. The house is lovely, rooms big. Tea was served to us in our rooms and Claire turned on all our electric blankets for when we came in. Breakfast was also wonderful, I can honestly say it was one of the nicest stays at a guest house I have ever had.
Lucy&Simon

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We chose Marsh Mere at the last minute after reservations fell through elsewhwere. Were we ever lucky & blessed! Claire McNamara enveloped us with her charm, superb service and terrific breakfasts. This is a family business and has all that any traveller could ever want by way cosseting & fun. It's a romantic yet "local" property sitting right on the bay, convenient to Waterford/Wexford sites, and the sitting room with fireplace a welcome respite for the weary tourist.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londonh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We have enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Marshmere Lodge. Overlooking the bay at Arthurstown, it was a beautifully picturesque and tranquil location. Clare was the most fantastic host and her sumptuous breakfast were amazing. Situated on the Hook Peninsula it is ideal for exploring many of the local sights and attractions in the area.
We loved the style and decor of our room and the house in general. We look forward to
our return visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Fantastic couple of nights. Clare was a wonderful host. Great breakfast. Well worth a visit in the SE of Ireland. Within walking distance of Dunbrody House - wonderful bar food. Strongly disagree with Olivias review as 2 out of 5 is no way near a fair reflection of this fabulous B+B.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilkenny
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

This was our second visit to Marshmere and on arrival we were greeted like long lost friends. We were in the area to visit the Tall Ships festival in Waterford and from our previous visit we knew that the front porch of Marshmere would provide a perfect viewpoint over the bay from which to watch the tall ships going to sea. On the morning of the race we were invited to join a private champagne breakfast party being held to celebrate the festival. Warm sunshine, cold champagne, fabulous food and the sight of the ships going to sea under sail made for an unforgettable experience. Cannot speak highly enough of this gem!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Charming b and b. Clean rooms. Nice location. Short walk from Dunbrody Country House. However, I would not stay here again as paying 120 euros for 1 night felt like a complete rip-off compared with similar b&b's throughout Ireland. Poor value for money!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

Fantastic,home from home,lovely clean rooms,hostess with the mostest,claire,couldnt do enough for us,excellent full irish breakfast,everything locally produced ,glorious views across the bay,totally relaxing weeks holiday actually felt we had a holiday,unlike some previously,carnt wait to return to the wonderous delights of beautiful wexford.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marsh Mere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsh Mere Lodge

Address: Ballyhack, Arthurstown, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Arthurstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Arthurstown
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marsh Mere Lodge. Take your ease with Maria, and enjoy afternoon tea while watching the sun set over the idyllic King's Bay. Winter or summer, this delightful view can be enjoyed either from the sunny veranda surrounded by hanging baskets bursting with seasonal blooms or from the cosy gallery sitting room, with its crackling log fires and antique furnishings. Choose from a selection of tastefully designed en-suite bedrooms all offering their own individual character - the romantic Countess Howee room, the tranquil Poor Poet's room, the cosy Passing Glances room or the intimate Peace Maker room. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marsh Mere Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.