We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Contadour(haunt of artists)

Pool terrace for Le Contadour
Pool terrace for Le Contadour
Pool terrace for Le Contadour
Pool House, bar and BBQ
Villa/apartment Le Contadour
Gattieres village
Romantic bedroom with views south.
Gattieres
|
Condo/Apartment – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lorna B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tranquility, a short drive from Nice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Le Contadour is truly a home from home equipped with absolutely all that is needed. The views from the apartment are stunning at all times of day and the beautifully unspoiled village of Gattieres is a few hundred yards up the road - beautiful! Liz and Quentin were a delight - nothing was any trouble for them. We will most definitely return.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Romany D
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well equipped apartment, very pretty location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We found the accommodation to be of a very high standard and exceptionally well equipped - there was nothing we needed which wasn't readily to hand.
We arrived at the apartment, quite late on a Saturday evening and the weather was absolutely horrendous. The welcome we received however from the owners, Liz and Quentin, could not have been warmer - from Quentin standing out in torrential rain to greet us and guide us to the right place, to Liz supplying some basic essentials to make a meal, thereby not having to venture out again on such a dark, wet evening!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The warmth of our welcome!
Liked least: Sluightly 'hairy' drive up to the property - made worse by thw weather conditions on the night of our arrival.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
susan_m_j...
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wonderful house, perfect hosts and fantastic position”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a month in Liz and Quentin's well located and wonderfully comfortable Le Contadour apartment. We did not want to leave and cannot wait to go back. The village of Gattieres is less than ten minutes walk away and a lovely stroll each morning to get fresh baguettes and locally grown strawberries to take home for breakfast. The big decision for each meal was whether to eat on the balcony or on the terrace - both excellent positions with lovely views down the valley of the Var river to the Mediterranean Sea. There are plenty of options to dine out in the village and nearby villages too. The apartment is twenty minutes from Nice down a good fast road (once you get to the bottom of the mountain) and the airport and shopping centre at St Laurent du Var. Other easily accessible sights include the beaches (our favourite was Antibes) and the snow capped mountains behind St Martin de Vesubie, the scenic drives to Greolieres and the tourist towns of Vence, Grasse and Biot. Italy is about an hours drive away. Liz and Quentin have left some great info for visitors and we worked our way through all their suggested day trips during our month, tho some days we simply stayed at home and enjoyed the beautiful pool and the quiet village life. The apartment was clean, light and airy with a great balcony running along the front and opening off the main bedroom and lounge room. The second bedroom is smaller but would be ideal for children as it is tucked away down a little corridor. The bathroom is large and the kitchen has most things you need to cook up the wonderful produce found in the region. Best of all were our wonderful hosts Liz and Quentin who were on hand to assist with anything we needed but also were unobtrusive during our month long stay. We had some long and interesting discussions over a few drinks and they have a multitude of stories to share about their travels. We were taking a bit of a risk in booking a place for a month, sight unseen in a village we did not know, but it turned out to be one of the best holidays we have had and we really felt at home at Le Contadour. We highly recommend it.

PS If you have children, try and get hold of a copy of Liz's children's book Tabbies and Tigers in Provence (by Elizabeth Brunton and on Amazon) as it provides a great introduction to the Murphy's cats and to Le Contadour and the village and surrounds.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The position of the apartment and village
Liked least: Negotiating narrow windy roads is a necessary part of exploring Provence
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Pirjo P
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Prime spot to discover Nice surroundings and relax in superb premises.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We spent an absolutely lovely week in Le Contadour. The location was excellent to have daily excursions into the surroundings. Weather was hugging us all the week, view from our dinner table was magnificent and early morning swims in the superb pool was a good day starter but the most enjoyable was our lovely host couple, Liz and Quentin. They tend to have the skill to make their guests really feel at home and get the most of their stay - and all with a delicate touch.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
SeanAndCa...
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cannot recommend highly enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
2
people found this review helpful

What can we say? The only things that outshine the apartment are Liz and Quentin themselves. They could not have been more helpful.

The arrangement works very well indeed. The apartment, its balcony and terraces are totally self-contained. We had complete privacy but knew that Quentin and Liz were available for anything we required. It was a delight each morning to open the shutters in the morning and look down the Var valley. We stayed in late July 2011 – when I am informed the weather was unseasonably cool (26 degrees+ Celsius each day) – but the pool was always warm enough for a dip. The availability and exclusivity suited us and the kids (aged 14 and 16) very well.

Le Contadour gave us easy access to lots of places – we visited friends near St. Tropez one day and still managed to reach them in about an hour and a quarter. We drove to San Remo (Italy) another day and came back via DolceAcqua and Monte Carlo. Most of the time, however, we stayed closer to home. Gattieres itself is charming, St. Jeannet is 5 minutes down the road. Vence is just down the road from there with St. Paul de Vence a little further on. Keep going and you’ll land in Cagne-sur-Mer/Antibes. Catherine and I popped into Nice around 9:30pm one evening for a meal in the old town and a quick jaunt down the Route de St. Laurent du Var saw us on the western end of the Promenade des Anglais in Nice in around 15-20 minutes. We walked into Gattieres each morning for fresh bread (took us about 6-7 minutes). We dined as a family at the Hostellerie Provencale in the town one evening and then dandered back in around 10 minutes or so. Spot on.

The fantastic thing about Le Contadour is that it renders the holiday “contract-free”. In other words, you know as soon as you arrive that the bar is set high enough that, if you do nothing else for the remainder of your stay and elect to lounge around the apartment, you’ll still have a great holiday. We were surprised at just how often our kids wanted to do just that. Frankly, everything else after Le Contadour is a bonus.

Personally, I loved the fact that the superb wifi coverage throughout the apartment yielded a fantastically strong reception in the patio and pool areas also. This meant that our iPhones and my laptop had full internet access no matter where we were – indoors or out. For someone like me who wants to stay in touch – even when on hols – this is a great boon indeed. It also allowed the kids to sit poolside and do their Facebook etc.

And what about the dynamic duo? Well, Quentin is a true gentleman with a natural charisma and charm that’s all too rare in this day and age. Liz is just fantastic – a wonderful lady but also a real “dynamo”. They both enjoy a good giggle and their relaxed competence soon sets you at your ease. At the same time, you need only see as much of them as you need. Frankly, I’m not sure we saw enough of them during our stay.

We cannot recommend Le Contadour highly enough. We “lucked out” (as the Americans say) when Liz and Quentin had a cancellation at just the same time as we decided to book our holiday. We’re very happy with that particular piece of serendipity. I’m sure it won’t be the last time we see Quentin and Liz. If you’re lucky enough to stay here, please accept our envy in advance…

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
GFSLondon
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Peace, quiet, sun and terrific hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Everything you want from the South of France. Superbly located to travel around.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,037
/ Week
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Owner
Liz M
Speaks English, French, Italian
listed since : Feb 2014
Response Rate: 55 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 2 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing