We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem! Best Food in Laos!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muang La Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Muang La Resort to your Saves list
Muang La Resort
District of Muang La, Muang La, Laos   |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem! Best Food in Laos!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a wonderful surprise in the middle of no where but on the River!

I arrived with little expectations and was very happily surprised. Great Rooms, super Manager and Fantastic Cuisine!

The rooms are large and spacious with nice local touches. The bed could however use a mosquito net ! Nice large bathrooms minibar laundry service espresso machine all is there. AND the property is located on top of a hot spring so you can hot tub in 40 degrees mineral water fantastic! There is a great herbal steam room and massages by the river all being served herbal tea....

Rudolph the manager will take care of you from the minute you arrive he has a true sense of hospitality. He can also inform you plenty of the local history.

The 5 course menu yuuummmm ! All with fresh ingredients and local flavors just amazing its a 5 star menu!

Highly recommend this place my only regret is to only have stayed 2 nights ...

Room Tip: With a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
60
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bruges
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you're looking for a 5 star hotel in the strict way you will be disappoin. if you're looking for an authentic place where hospitality comes on the first play, this is the one. Well situated at the border of the river you have an excellent view on the Lao country life.
After a very long and uncomfortable ride crom Luang Prabang we arrived at Muang La Lodge. The long journey was very quickly forgotten as we were received bij Rodolphe, the french manager who speaks english as well. He was, like told by other guests, extremely kind and helpfull. He and his staff, all locals from the village, are giving such a personal service that you really think you're the only guest. The food is indeed excellent and of such a pure taste and quality. For us the best we had in Laos. Breakfast ok but not as dinner. Lao coffee was great! Good choice of wine.
But this are only some positive remarks because the whole place has so much atmosphere that you can hardly describe so just go there!!
We visited with the local guide Don the hilltribes in the mountains which was more than interesting and loved the trekking the next day to the waterfall walking through the countryside. We really appreciated the explination about medical and other plants and about the cultivation of different crops.

We spent 4 days, 3 nights in the resort and loved it!

Room Tip: Take a riverside room. The difference in price is neglectable and the riverside offers you daily sce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Located just a couple of minutes walk from the 'main' road that runs through Muang La, right next to the bubbling river at the back of the resort, which is actually a hot salt water spring. This is used to fill the two hot tubs even evening. So after a day cycling or walking it's great to relax in an elevated hot tub over looking the river. The resort also has plenty of insect repellent lanterns and candles lit in all public areas so no real need to worry about bites either. Didn't use any repellent for the two nights we stayed and no bites.

The welcome is typical of Laos. Warm and friendly, so you soon feel very much at home and relaxed. The manager is also attentive and takes time to speak to all his guests, which is an excellent touch and adds to the welcoming nature of the hotel.

The rooms are spectacular with high beamed ceilings. Very light and airy. Also spotlessly clean and very well furnished and finished. Extremely comfortable nights sleep here. Only have A small number of rooms as well so you need to book this one early.

Food in the evening is simply delicious. A great fusion of French style and Laos flavouring. Evening meal consists of a set menu of five courses. All perfectly presented and prepared. Considering that they have a captive market the price of drinks is probably less than you would expect from an establishment of this qualIty. Only comment I would have is about breakfast - shame this is purely western in nature and a Lao option is not included.

Plenty of trips can be organised through the hotel. Enough to keep you busy for at least a week. If you go on the half day cycling to the local villages, make sure you visit the Big Brother Mouse project in Luang Prabang and buy a school pack of books. The visit the local school is not to be missed and the books are more than gratefully received.

Easy walking around the hotel and surrounding area as well. A trip over the bamboo bridge is interesting! Also a nice tempLe nearby to visit.

Spa is also very good, but make sure you book early.

My only regret was not booking enough nights here. Loved every second of it.

Room Tip: River view overlooking the bridge is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed at Muang La Resort in January 2013. On arrival we had some issues with the location of the rooms but all was resolved the day after. The resort is located in wonderful settings: the river, the small island where to enjoy some peaceful reading with a drink, the buffalos passing by, the morning mist, ... Walking around makes it an interesting experience of village life. There is a temple you can visit (we did). All very peaceful. The sunset is beautiful too. The rooms are big and very well decorated (I would say they have the nice touch you find in Thailand and not (yet) so much in Laos). The food is the best we had in all Laos. Dinners are delicious. Breakfasts could be more abundant, especially given people tend to wake up early and have long walking days ahead. The whole ambiance of the Resort makes you feel good, including the candles lit all over the garden in the evenings, the hot spring baths away from general sight, the fireplace near the restaurant in the evening,... There are plenty of small touches that make this place a very pleasant stay. The staff is good and you can see the manager does all he can to make your stay memorable.
Being back, I can say this was the best place we stayed in during the 20 day trip to Laos and Cambodia. I just wish I had stayed longer to enjoy the resort itself.

Room Tip: When I was there there were some works going on outside the resort. It can be noisy if you are stayi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The resort is beautifully combined with local Laos life and has been designed to embrace and integrate local customs rather than "cut yourself off" from the locals as so many top hotels do. We loved watching locals enjoy the hot springs and Buddhist monks crossing the hotel's footbridge. A real highlight is the food in the restaurant, which is superb, particularly when you consider how remote the location is (a definite French influence here!). The massage session in an open tent on the river was also really unique.... possibly too unique when another guest wandered in and asked whether he could get a massage too! In terms of suggestions & improvements, there really isn't much, but we would have liked to have been able to invite our guide from Luang Prabang onto the hill tribe tour (the local guide wasn't quite as engaged or informative in comparison) and we would have loved a facility to order drinks from the look out (or perhaps a little more in the way of drinks being offered in the gardens and bar area when we come into sit down). But a wonderful place - would highly recommend for a slice for real rural Laos life.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were two couples who stayed four nights in this resort north of Oudomxai in Muang La. Very nice French chateau feeling to the rooms. We were in the rooms right on the river, overlooking the hot springs! Fixed restaurant menus, which at breakfast seems somewhat sparing, but enjoyable and delicious at night with fare from the different areas of Laos. The French manager was nice, helpful but we found somewhat lacking in basic hotel management skills. He unfortunately forgot the English word for "leeches" on the morning of our 5 hour walking tour of nearby the forest/waterfall. The highlight of our stay was visiting the hills tribes with a guide that helped describe their customs, lifestyle, daily chores and perspective on the modern world.

Room Tip: Recommend staying in the rooms overlooking the river, and definitely visit the sala on the island if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
522 helpful votes 522 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The resort sits on the banks of a fast stream and very often you can observe the people from the local village crossing it. We had a fantastic room overlooking the river, and you could sit for hours on the terrace observing life go by. The staff and the french manager, Rodolphe, truly go out of their way to make your stay as memorable as possible. The food in the restauant is simply superb, they have a set 5 course menu that is innovative and really well presented. We spent a great day touring the countryside by bike with a local guide, and the experiece was really memorable. The massage session in an open tent like structure overlooking the river was also really unique.

Room Tip: If possible choose a riverfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Muang La Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muang La Resort

Address: District of Muang La, Muang La, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Oudomxay Province > Muang La
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Muang La
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Muang La Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muang La Hotel Muang La

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muang La Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.