We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Station House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Station House Hotel to your Saves list
The Station House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main St, Kilmessan, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilmessan
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

A group of us recently attended The Station House Hotel for a wedding and I can honestly say each member of staff added to it being a day to remember. Everything has to be complimented: from the attentive service and politeness from staff -to the food -to the perfectly maintained gardens etc etc etc!!! It all made way for the perfect day (and night)! Unfortunatly we did not get to stay in the hotel ( the closest family members did however, and I only heard positive words) but we did indeed stay in the near by holiday homes rented out by the hotel (less than a 5 min walk to the hotel). These were to the highest standard also. The bedroom and ensuite were immaculate and the bed was very comfortable. Overall the experience was more than positive and I would highly recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-StationHH, Front Office Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Hello. Thank you very much for your review and I am so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. I will pass on your kind words to all the management and staff and compliment them on their attentive service which we pride ourselves on. We hope to see you again at the Station House Hotel. Aoife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    56
    27
    30
    19
See reviews for
99
138
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We had our commitment ceremony on the one dry and sunny day in June 2011, in the beautiful grounds of the Station House Hotel. From the moment we and our guests arrived the staff made us feel welcome. Throughout the day they were so friendly, courteous and helpful - all our guests commented on this. Service was fast and efficient and the food and wine went down a storm. The wedding suite in the old signal box was stunning and a great place to retreat for a few quiet minutes and to freshen up during the day. Breakfast was good the next morning and very welcome soakage! The staff even obliged the late rising stragglers! Paul & Joe

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-StationHH, Front Office Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Hello Paul & Joe. Thank you so much for your review of the Station House Hotel. I am so happy that everything from the staff to the wine contributed to making your day as enjoyable as it could be..even the sun contributed!! I will pass on your kind words to all the management and staff and on behalf of us all here, may I wish you both the best of everything in the future. Thank you so much for sharing your special day with us and we look forward to seeing you again at the Station House Hotel. Aoife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meath
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Had a fab day at the station house hotel and the sun was shining down on us too. Sarah the wedding coordinator couldn't have been more helpful. All the staff at the hotel are very friendly and nothing is too much. The venue is just so beautiful and unique.The food was gorgeous, they are well known for their food and that was one of the major deciding factors. We had the best day ever, thanks so much to all the staff x x

Room Tip: stay in signal box, beautiful & intimate
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-StationHH, Front Office Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Hello. Thank you so much for your review of the Station House Hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your special day so much and thank you for sharing it with us. I will pass on your kind comments to Sarah, the Head Chef and all the staff and we look forward to seeing you both again at the Station House Hotel. Best wishes for your future together and we wish you every success. Aoife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We had our wedding here in June 2011.From start to finish you could not have asked for anything more.Sarah and derek were brilliant as were the rest of the staff.The food was superb.The bridal suite is amazing.I would really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-StationHH, Front Office Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Hello. Thank you for your review of the Station House Hotela and I will pass on all your kind words to the management and staff, especially Derek & Sarah who made your day so special. May we wish you the best of everything in the future and we look forward to seeing you again at the Station House Hotel. Aoife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

To Sarah, Henry, Kate and the rest of the Station House team,

We cannot thank you enough for all the friendly help and advice you gave us to make our wedding day such an amazing day. From the moment we went to view your hotel we knew it was the perfect place for us – so we booked it there and then! Organising a wedding can be so stressful but to be honest nothing was stressful when it came to dealing with you guys. You managed to put us as ease with everything and we always left with a smile on our face after our meetings with you.

On the day itself, it could not have gone more perfect. After a rainy start to the day the sun came out when we arrived to the hotel. We got our pictures taken in the beautiful gardens, guests enjoyed their pre dinner drinks outside and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the delicious meal. Uncles, Aunts and friends came up to us during the meal to comment on how great the food and service was and many grabbed a second helping!! Your hotel was also described as a ‘hidden gem’ by a few guests. We were all made feel so welcome.

We would highly recommend your hotel to any brides and grooms-to-be looking for their perfect wedding venue. We only wish we could relive our wedding day there again!

Thank you all again so much,

Best wishes,

Maritta & James Mullins

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-StationHH, Front Office Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Hello Maritta & James. Thank you so much for all your positive words and recommendation of the Station House Hotel. We are so happy that all of your guests and you both in particular enjoyed your special day so much. I will pass on your review to all of the staff that contributed to your brilliant day and thank you so much for sharing it with us. We all wish you the best of everything in the future and we look forward to seeing you both again at the Station House Hotel. Kind Regards, Aoife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letterkenny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We had a delightful 3 days stay at the Station House Hotel.The food was devine ,staff so attentive and friendly.A little bit of heaven was experienced during our stay.Thank you all so much.
Tony and Mary Hannigan

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinvara, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

I was a bridesmaid at my sisters wedding and found the hotel staff unbelievably good. There was nothing they wouldn't do, from arranging cheese to helping with cupcakes to collecting presents. Absolutely the best staff I have ever met. The sun was shining as well and the grounds looked fabulous. Most of the guests commented on how lovely the setting was and how good the food was. What more can you ask for, what more can I say!

Thanks again to everyone at the Station house, we'll hopefully see you all soon!

The bridesmaids of Nora and Jose's wedding, 23rd June 2011

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-StationHH, Front Office Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Hello. I am so happy that you all enjoyed Nora & Jose's wedding as much as we did and you enjoyed the few days you all stayed with us. Thank you for your kind words and I will pass them on to all of our dedicated team that work in the hotel and in our gardens everyday making them too look as amazing as they do. We hope to see all of you back with us in the future at the Station House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Station House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station House Hotel

Address: Main St, Kilmessan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Kilmessan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilmessan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Station House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Station House Hotel is a converted train station located in the quiet country village of Kilmessan, Co. Meath. The hotel is owned and run by the Slattery family who take pride in the satisfaction of their customers, including restaurant, conference and wedding guests. They have kept the magic and charm of its former identity but have added to it, a warm and dedicated service that puts it in a class of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Station House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Station House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.