We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnstown House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Johnstown House Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Johnstown House Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Enfield-Johnstown Bridge Road, Enfield, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enfield
Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Myself and husband went stayed her on a package at weekend.. It was great.. the service is very good and mainly Irish staff. When we arrived the man on reception was so nice and friendly.. service in bar and restuarant also good.. Meal included is usually not great in hotels but this was fabulous. got the same menu as everyone. just delicious. We are youngish and they had a bit of crack in the bar. The guy singing was singing modern stuff.. Bar staff served drinks to the table which is also great. We had a lovely relaxing break.. there is nothing around this hotel so it is a winter break ideal as you get to totally chill in the hotel and there are facilities in the hotel.
Bar food is also nice..
so all in all I was impressed by this hotel for a winter break.. I wouldnt be so sure about a summer break here..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odhran l, General Manager at Johnstown House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Irishchic06,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your comments to our team. While the hotel has many facilities in which to chill out it is also the ideal location for a summer break. While the kids are off we have a children's activity club. Equally, the hotel is a great base from which to visit Dublin Zoo, Lullymore Heritage Park, Tayto Park and Newgrange to name but a few.

Once again, I really appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Johnstown House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    206
    99
    84
    53
See reviews for
134
261
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Went here with a group of girls for a relaxing weekend away. Overall the experience was lovely - have no complaints only a few comments.
The spa is amazing, i would definitely recommend the treatments, there seems to be offers on all the time and I couldn't have felt more relaxed after it. The staff were lovely and accommodating, the facilities are top notch. The pool, relaxation facilities and jacuzzi's are all lovely - everyone should experience them.
The hotel itself was lovely. Nothing extraordinary, but very clean and well presented - especially the couches/foyer area where we spent alot of time. There are plenty of couches, and the staff, while a little all over the place at time, were so friendly and always checking us to make sure we had everything we needed.
The rooms were spotless, again, nothing spectacular, but lovely and warm (if a little too warm).
We went on a busy weekend and there was a bit of noise in the corridors at night but nothing to make a fuss over.
The bar food we had on the first night was perfect. Nothing too fancy and a nice big menu.
Our second night we ate in the restaurant which had a much narrower menu (especially if you are a picky menu) but we all found something we liked. The service was a bit lacking, a few orders were wrong, but overall a lovely evening.
Breakfast had a lovely buffet with plenty of healthy options.
We got a great deal (€129 for 2 night B&B and one evening meal) and we were very happy with the overall quality for what we paid.
So close to Dublin so would love to make a return trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odhran l, General Manager at Johnstown House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Lennywithay,

Thank you for taking the time to visit Johnstown House Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and rest assured I have passed on your comments to our team. Our spa is very popular and is particularly busy at weekends. We are equally delighted that you chose to dine in the hotel and found the food to your satisfaction. I would like also to acknowledge your comments regarding the service.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit t Johnstown House Hotel,

Yours sincerely,

Odhran Lawlor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here on the 15th February for the night and had a brilliant time! The staff were lovely and friendly and the bar staff provided us with excellent service and really made us feel at home. The bar food was nice as far as bar food goes and i would eat there again.

Our hotel room was lovely, nice and big and clean with a nice view over the gardens. We headed over to use the leisure facilities and they were excellent, we used the outdoor hot tub that was a total novelty and a nice touch.

We dined in the pavillion restaurant and i had no complaints other than it was quite a limited menu but again my partner says its one of the nicest meals he ever had and i am quite a fussy eater!

I nearly cancelled my booking when i saw the reviews of the hotel on this, while i agree a lick of paint could be done here or there (especially at the outdoor spa) it certainly did not take away from our experience and i found the staff to be fabulous and service to be first class would totally stay again! :)

Room Tip: the breakfast pancakes are fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odhran l, General Manager at Johnstown House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Anniedbd,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding Johnstown House Hotel. We are really delighted you enjoyed your break. Our outdoor hot tub is indeed a novelty and we are one of the few hotels in Ireland to have such a facility. We have started a maintenance programme within the hotel and have recently renovated the restaurant and bar. It is our plan to continue to carry out work throughout the hotel during the year.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Johnstown House Hotel and Spa.

P.S. Delighted to see your partner has good taste in food.


Kind regards,

Odhran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the hotel a number of times, business mostly, my partner and i decided to stay from a pleasure point of view, upgraded room, used the spa, lovely meal, really enjoyed it, the hotel has allways fullfilled its promise as a good place to head to.
Go and experence.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conaatatu, General Manager at Johnstown House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Girvin57,

Thank you for taking the time to contact Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Johnstown House hotel & Spa. We are delighted you and your partner enjoyed your stay. If there is anything we can do to improve your next visit to the hotel, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Yours sincerely,

Odhran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

stayed at this hotel on the 10th of feb for our 10th wedding anniversary. check in was very fast we had lunch in the bar and it was very good.Our room was really lovely the hotel made our stay very special. Dinner in pavillion restaurant was very good quality.My self and my husband love this hotel and we will be visiting again very soon also there was a guy playing guitar on the night and he was brill well done

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conaatatu, General Manager at Johnstown House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Jackie,

Thank you for taking the time to visit Johnstown House Hotel & Spa. We are honoured that you chose the hotel in which to celebrate your 10th wedding anniversary. On behalf of the management and staff at the hotel, congratulations and we wish you many more years of happiness.

Yours truly,

Odhran Lawlor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel has very good facilities and the rooms are comfortable and warm. The location is great - less than an hour from Dublin. My only complaint was that the common areas in the hotel were very very cold - uncomfortable. The staff were very rriendly and the food was ok but they neeed more heat in winter.

Room Tip: The hotel is very spread out and some rooms are a long way from reception - you may want to ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conaatatu, General Manager at Johnstown House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Beahive,

Thank you for taking the time to contact Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Johnstown House Hotel. While we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay may we apologise for any inconvenience caused regarding the heat. We have taken your comments on board and will take the necessary action.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Johnstown House Hotel & Spa.

Kind regards,


Odhran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Was here for a wedding, lovely room set up and great lay out. All the staff seemed very friendly and helpful. Food was ok, soup was a bit tasteless so was disappointed with that. But on the whole a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conaatatu, General Manager at Johnstown House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dubgal101,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the hotel. Yes the hotel set on 120 acres is indeed an ideal location for a wedding. Equally we have some excellent packages available for that special day. While we are delighted you enjoyed the wedding, tasteless soup is just not good enough. Rest assured that I have discussed your comments with the team. Once again thank you for taking the time to contact Trip Advisor.

Kind regards,

Odhran Lawlor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Johnstown House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnstown House Hotel & Spa

Address: Enfield-Johnstown Bridge Road, Enfield, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Enfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Johnstown House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Johnstown House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Johnstown Hotel Enfield
Marriott County Meath
Marriott Enfield
County Meath Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnstown House Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.