We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, but the bed not so good!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Johnstown House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Johnstown House Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Johnstown House Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Enfield-Johnstown Bridge Road, Enfield, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enfield
dublin, ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good value, but the bed not so good!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last week and overall our experience was a good one. We got an overnight with spa treatments. The hotel is reasonably modern and the included meal in the restaurant was very good with a nice selection to choose from. Unfortunately when we got to bed we discovered a bit of a hump in the bed where they had joined the two singles together. We thought it wasn't too bad but by 3am it was a nightmare and made for a most uncomfortable nights sleep. At that stage I thought it was too late to go doing anything about it but realise now that I probably should have called the front desk. We got breakfast in bed in the morning which was nice although they didnt have my first selection available. We filled out a comment card and mentioned our awful nights sleep to the receptionist- but there has been no follow up from the hotel whatsoever (despite being promised otherwise)
Our spa treatments were lovely and the spa is to be recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    225
    113
    90
    55
See reviews for
146
288
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I absolutely love this place ! stayed here last week for 1 night mid week, had dinner in the restaurant which was fabulous ! Got the hot stone massage the following day from a lady called Aileen ,Wow ! I have been in a number of spas around the midlands in the last couple of years and this was the best treatment I have ever had ! I will definitely be going back there soon! would reccomend anyone to try out the spa in Johnstown house , a lovely girly getaway and reasonbly priced to !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstownbridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was treated to a day at the spa last month. This was my 2nd visit to the spa here! I had a therapist called Leanne and I had the most amazing facial ever! She was excellent! I went for the Elemis skin specific facial. Afterwards we chilled out in the relaxation room and spent time in the sauna and steam room! Looking forward to my next visit in a few weeks!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The service was very good - front desk was very helpful with answering our questions and printing out directions for us. A negative for us was the distance to Dublin. The hotel is about 40 minutes outside the city by bus or train. While the commute in was easy, it was that much less time we got to spend in Dublin itself. Another negative was that wireless internet was only available in the lobby area. Parts of the bar didn't have service. There was wired connection in each room but I was traveling with only an iphone so that was of no use to me. That aside, our stay was really nice. Breakfast was good, service was wonderful and the rooms were roomy and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I LOVE this place!! I visit my partner working in Ireland every 2/3 weeks and we won't stay anywhere else but here! When u walk in u can feel the warmth of the place, a beautiful 1750's georgian house. The staff are very welcoming, the food is to die for. We get the 2 night package with full Irish both mornings and an evening meal in the pavillion. The breakfast is always perfect and plenty of choice. Food in the pavillion is really tasty and posh :) The leisure centre has a swimming bath, gym sauna and really nice hot tub outside. Rooms are always clean. You get so much from your stay not to mention an onsite spa treatment at reasonable prices. Only downfall is the prices in the bar but well worth a visit. Would recommend to anyone whether u want to relax and unwind or want to take your kids on a fun weekend. This place has it all 5 *****

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here recently with my family, the room was excellent and the food was quite good. But I found the food to be extremely expensive €7 for a bowl of pasta for a small child and €4 for 1 scoop of ice cream yes 1 scoop.
Most of the staff were pleasant ,bar in the kiddies club , the staff member was not up to scratch on customer service, and its the one area where I thought there should be high emphasis on friendliness.
Overall disappointing due to price of food and let down in kiddies club.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here for a mid week Spa break, bed and breakfast and with dinner included one night in the restaurant!The hotel is lovely and well maintained, the rooms were very clean and a good size.We had asked for bathrobes and extra pillows both of which were not in our room when we checked in, however reception rectified this within ten minutes of being informed. The Spa treatments were fantastic, we also had use of the steam rooms, pool and Jacuzzi and they are definitely recommended. The package we got was very good value, as dinner was included and the food in the restaurant was lovely. Our steak was not quite cooked enough but the waiter was quick to take it back and once cooked, re-plate it with fresh veg and sides without even a sideways glance. All the staff were very attentive and friendly and made our stay even more pleasant!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Johnstown House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnstown House Hotel & Spa

Address: Enfield-Johnstown Bridge Road, Enfield, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Enfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Johnstown House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Johnstown House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Johnstown Hotel Enfield
Marriott County Meath
Marriott Enfield
County Meath Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnstown House Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.